Hist 210 Research Methods

Finding Primary Sources at Drew
Source Books
Drew has a large collection of re-published primary sources. Originally published centuries ago, these materials have been recompiled and reprinted for ease of access. Though many of these "source books" have been printed recently, the materials within are Primary Sources.

To find these, go to the library catalog.
In the first bar, type History and Sources. In the drop-down box labeled "Anywhere", select "in Subject"
In the second bar, type in the country of interest.
In the Third bar, type in the topic.
For example: A search for History and Sources (in Subject), and Great Britian (anywhere) and women (anywhere) give you 13 books of primary sources about women in Great Britain!

Newspapers and Magazine
There are a few ways to find historical newspapers and magazine at Drew.

Magazines in Print are can be found by consulting our periodical lists in Drew UKnow. These are organized by time period:
PERIODICALS 1700-1799 (English Only)
PERIODICALS 1800-1849 (English Only)
PERIODICALS 1850-1900 (English Only)
The library catalog can also be used to find journals and magazines by setting a time period (eg. A search limited to "1700 to 1800" and "Periodicals" yields five magazines from the 18th century)

Drew also has a large collection of Historical Newspaper Databases, found Here. Another excellent resource is the Library of Congress Chronicling America project.

Images
For images, check out ARTstor:
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates. ( For advanced functionality, register and login. )
Finding Secondary Sources at Drew
ARTICLES
In History, there are two "Core" databases. The first is America: History and Life. AHL specializes in US and Canadian History. The next is Historical Abstracts, which contains articles on everything except American History. Every entry is indexed and contains an abstract; this should be every historian's first stop!

Books at Drew
For books at Drew, check the Library Catalog

Books Beyond Drew
Drew is a member of OCLC's WorldCat, a massive database of billions of books, may of which can be ordered (free of charge!) through Interlibrary Loan. 

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480