ANTH 312 Human Osteology

Locating Background Information
Encyclopedias and dictionaries often provide useful introductions or quick definitions, along with recommended bibliographies.  Some possibilities include:

Handbook of Forensic Anthropology and Archaeology, 2009 Reference GN 69.8.H34 2009
Overview chapters, with bibliographies of trusted sources.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Paleopathology, 2011
Reference work for exploring the identification of disease in human remains. Source is divided into sections by subject, e.g. Part Seven: Infectious diseases.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology, 2008.

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
Broad articles, with extensive bibliographies.

Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.


 
Locating Journal Articles
There are a number of ways to find publications in anthropology, but unfortunately, no single way will collect all the material available.  Try a combination of tools.

Index within Anthropology:
Anthropology Plus
Articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.

Full text from individual publishers:
Anthrosource
  Full text of 33 anthropological journals published by the American Anthropological Association.

ScienceDirect
This includes some of the major journals identified by your professor that are NOT indexed in Anthropology Plus.  Contains Journal of Forensic Sciences, Forensic Science International and Journal of Paleopathology.

Full text searching:
Scholar Search
A discovery tool for most of what Drew owns or has access to, but without the refinements of Anthropology Plus.  Also check the Proquest widget on the right side.

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
 
Locating Books
To find a specific item:

To find a specific book that has been recommended, check the Drew Library Catalog , using Advanced search, and enter the title of the book.  If it does not show up in the Drew Catalog, check Worldcat .  If you locate the book through WorldCat, and it does not indicate that Drew owns it, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

To find books on a specific subject:

Use either the Drew Library Catalog or WorldCat, and enter your topic.  Check the subject headings assigned to relevant material, and add those headings to your search.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results: