Art

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
( For advanced functionality, register and login. )

Background

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource
Reference work for art; includes Grove Art Online; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and others.

Finding Articles

AATA Online: Abstracts of Conservation Literature
A specialized database focusing on Archaeology, art, material culture, technology and artifacts, and conservation. (Free website; Requires free registration.)
ARTBibliographies Modern Restricted Resource
Abstracts of a wide variety of sources on modern and contemporary art (19th onwards).
Bibliography of the History of Art
Covers western art from late antiquity (4th c. AD) to 2009. CEASED PUBLICATION IN 2010. Indexes books, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs and articles. Go to International Bibliography of Art for recent materials.
Design and Applied Arts Index Restricted Resource
Index covering advertising, packaging and product design, architecture, crafts, ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, graphic design, fashion and textiles, sustainable design, furniture and interior design, fiber arts.
International Bibliography of Art Restricted Resource
Continues the Bibliography of the History of Art, 2009 to current.Covers western art from late antiquity (4th c. AD) to present. Indexes books, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs and articles
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
 

Indexes to magazines and books of the 19th century (1800-1899), with some full text.


Full Text Articles

Arts & Humanities Full Text Restricted Resource
Full text resources covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
SAGE online journals Restricted Resource
Online journal source.

Books

Getty Publications Virtual Library
Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives; the J. Paul Getty Trust is dedicated to artistic collection and preservation.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Encyclopedias

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reference on decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
“Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe; spans over a thousand years of history. Historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments… Illustrations.”
Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Locate reliable information on Medieval art and architecture, and develop connections between different styles, periods, and locales.
Oxford African American Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, Africana, content from the African American National Biography project, Encyclopedia of African American Art & Architecture, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, articles from other reference works, bibliographies, timelines, maps, images, primary source documents, links to Internet resources.
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource
Reference work for art; includes Grove Art Online; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and others.

Handbooks & Guides

Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of art technique/material reference.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
( For advanced functionality, register and login. )

Web Sites

Archives of American Art
From the Smithsonian, an extensive collection of images and background material on American art.
Art Links on the World Wide Web
Art-related web pages recommended by an art history professor at Boston College.
Art Project, Powered by Google
Visit selected museums via virtual panorama shots and view “featured artworks at high resolution” and “zoom into paintings.”
Art Renewal Center Museum
Anti-modernist collection of representational art and artists online. Useful for images of older representational art
ArtBabble
A site intended to showcase video art content in high quality format from a variety of sources and perspectives. Includes video of extant art, of artists, and for art teaching.
Artcyclopedia
Links to online collections of museums, searchable by artist and specific works.
ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI)
ATLA hosts collections of religion-related art pieces, manuscripts and letters, photographs, even postcards and shape-note music. Digital images from the libraries and special collections of ATLA member libraries, including: photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, sermons, art…
Center for Creative Photography
The University of Arizona’s Center for Creative Photography houses the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great twentieth-century photographers. Thousands of photographs are available for online study.
Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art
Access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States; from the International Center for the Arts of the Americas, Museum of Fine Arts/Houston.
Fashion Museum, Bath UK
Fashion history, modern and historical, as covered in the Fashion Museum and in the Victoria and Albert.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Metropolitan Museum of Art – Collections
Descriptive database covering large sections of the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. For each item, may include photos and information such as Gallery label, additional views, provenance, exhibition history, references.
Metropolitan Museum of Art — Publications Portal
MetPublications is a portal to the Met’s publishing program. This resource will eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum, including online publications. Current titles may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of out of print titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.
Modernist Journals Project
 A joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa to  make "primary source material from 1890 to 1922 freely available for scholars and students of modernism."
Mother of All Art & Art History Links Page
Sponsored by the School of Art and Design at the University of Michigan.
Museum Directory
List of museums with online presences.
National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
Repository of digital images from the collections of the National Gallery of Art.
NYPL Digital Collections
Worldwide collection of digitized images from NYPL. Medieval Manuscripts, Scientific/Botanical/Engineering, Africana and Black History, Americana, the Middle East, Cars & Trucks, Native American portraiture, Postcards, Theatre, Sports, Hebrew manuscripts, Interior Design, Baseball, early photos of Asia and the Pacific Rim, Maps, Civil War Medical care and many more
Royal Society Picture Library
Online database of digital images of paintings, drawings and prints held in the collections of the Royal Society, UK. “Drawings, sketches and paintings from the Royal Society’s archive collections, including botanical studies, microscopical observations, anatomical drawings, engineering plans, travel documentary photography…Images of rare published plates from the16th to 19th century, hand-picked from our extensive library of printed books and journals.”
Smarthistory, a multimedia web-book about art and art history
Smarthistory.org is a free multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook. Started by Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker. a multi-media survey of art history web-book. Audios and videos about works of art found in standard art history survey texts, organized the files stylistically and chronologically, and text and still images.
Wellesley College Digital Images Collections Wiki Resource contains images
"The Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes."
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: