BST 111 Corporations in Context

Background
For overviews and recommended readings, check:

A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility, 2007.
Provides brief definitions

Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society, 2008. Reference HF 5387.E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, 2011.

Encyclopedia of Social Problems, 2008. Reference HN28.E55 2008

Encyclopedia of Sustainability, 2010. Reference GE10.C65 2010
Broad articles, with brief bibliographies.

Key Concepts in Public Relations

 
Articles
General indexes:

Academic Search Premier
If you need substantive articles from popular magazines, limit your search to "cover story" on the first search page of the database. The index also includes academic journal articles.  Narrow your search using "Subjects" in the left column of the results page.

ProQuest Research Library
For substantive articles from popular magazines, limit to "feature" under "Document type" on the first search page.  Also has a range of academic journal articles.  Narrow your search using "Subjects" in the right column of the results page.

Specialized indexes:
These have a discipline focus, and probide deeper subject access to trade, professional and academic journals.

ABI-Inform
Massive business and industry database, including full text of the Wall Street Journal.

Business Source Elite
Indexes  important business journals, with full text for many of them.

EconLit
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.

GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )

Get full text:
Click directly to the full text if available within the database, or click on Find it at Drew to find the full text in another database.  If it is not available, request it through Interlibrary Loan on the Search for Article results page.


 
Books
Books and essays in books can be useful.  Search WorldCat, the combined catalog of 10,000 libraries, using "Advanced Search"."  Request items we don't own through Interlibrary Loan within WorldCat:  

If you don't have time to wait for an item (turn-around varies between 2 days and 2 weeks), restrict your results to "Items in my library."
Government Reports
Open CRS
Provides access to those publications of the Congressional ResearchService that are publicly available.  Site sponsored by the Federation of American Scientists.

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)

Google
Search for your subject, and add site:.gov - this will pick up general documents, statements from members of Congress, and sources from state governments as well.  (To specify a state, add its postal abbreviation:  site:.nj.gov)
Organizations and Think Tanks
Finding organizations or think tanks on a specific topic is usually fairly easy, often just a matter of doing a Google subject search and adding site:.org.  Evaluating whether they are trustworth is not!  Some possbile ways to assess:
  • Are they or their publications cited by reputable sources?  Check Google Scholar.
  • Do they show up on any lists of recommended think tanks?  (These lists generally only list the very big organizations.)  The Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search is one such list.  Another possibility is Sourcewatch, maintained by the Center for Media and Democracy.
  • Is there a discernible skew to their website?  Do they appear to acknowledge that perspective?
  • Is the organization recommended by experts in the field (like your professor)?
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.