Identifying primary sources in the sciences
A detailed guide for use in identifying primary literature in the sciences, including discussions about peer review, abstracts, and review articles. ~from Drew University Library
- Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
- Merck Index, 14th edition Reference RS51 .M4 2006
Information on 12,000+ chemical compounds including organic chemicals, botanicals, cosmeceuticals, nutriceuticals, pharmaceuticals, natural products, dyes, traditional medicines. Shows chemical and common names, empirical formula, structures for 8500 compounds, CAS registry numbers and citations to patent and chemical literature (usually first identification or synthesis info). Indexes by CAS registry number, empirical formula, common name, chemical name. Print.
Chemical Constituents of Natural Ingredients in Personal Care Products
- Handbook of Clinically Tested Herbal Remedies
Reference RM666 .H33 H363 2004
A comprehensive handbook (two volumes of 700+ pages each) that offers information about 160 herbal products that have been thoroughly tested in clinical trials. Details of the products and the clinical trials are provided (Amazon.com). Print.
- Evidence-Based Herbal Medicine Reference RM666 .H33 E95 2002
"This reference affords the clinician an evidence-based evaluation of 65 common herbal remedies.Each entry provides a history of the herb's use;an explanation of its pharmacology;an overview of the clinical trial evidence with respect to effiacy,adverse effects,and interactions;and dosage information." (Ziment,Rotblatt M.) Print.
- Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Substances
Detailed information on the latest uses, actions, dosages, contraindications, side effects/adverse reactions, interactions, pharmacology, alerts, and references for more than 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements (Amazon.com). Electronic.
- Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements, and Herbs Reference RM671 .A1 P48 2012
Complete descriptions of the most commonly used OTC medications, with comprehensive information about ingredients, indications, and interactions of hundreds of OTC drugs. Print.
Access to journals published by the American Chemical Society.
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
Students have access to a core group of journals to which Drew University subscribes. For unsubscribed content, students may request articles outside of our subscriptions through either the Library CHAT function when staffed (fall semester hours: M-Fri 9-5PM; Sun-Thurs 6-10PM) and found on this and the Library Home page, or by requesting copies through the Interlibrary Loan system (illiad.drew.edu). Either way, students will be supplied with an electronic copy of the journal article. Go HERE for more information about obtaining ScienceDirect articles.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes)
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it. Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
Web of Science
Topic searching searches title, abstract. To limit further, try limiting to title.
Within searches you can limit within topic (as decided by journal title), author, affiliation, year.
Can analyze results, get related (articles with citations in common with the source article). Biological Abstracts
NOTES: Selecting All Databases searches Science Citation Index, Biological Abstracts and Medline. The result will indicate the database from which it was retrieved.Citations can be saved directly to EndNote Web from these databases.
ChemBioDraw is a drawing tool for chemists and biologists to use to create chemical compound drawings and for searching chemical databases like SciFinder. Drew students may download software as part of Drew's site license.
- Detailed instructions for installing ChemBioDraw may be found in your Lab, link ChemDrawTutorial.pdf
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483
One of a group of TOXNET databases offered by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) as part of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Information about chemicals and drugs, including chemical properties, toxicology, and more.
- Go to this LINK for a guide to abbreviations used in ChemIDPlus.
- Got to this LINK for ChemIDPlus Toxicity Terms
- Go to this LINK for an alphabetical list of locators used in ChemIDplus.
A free chemical structure database, searchable by chemical name or structure, providing access to 25 million+ structures, properties and associated information from RSC–the Royal Society of Chemistry. Search millions of chemical structures on ChemSpider Search for FREE below by systematic name, synonym, trade name, or registry number (or go direct for free structure searching).
- PubChem Project
PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. Integrated with Entrez, which is NCBI’s primary search engine, PubChem also provides compound substance data.
- Cosmeticsinfo.org "What's in my products?"
Cosmeticsinfo.org is an information Web site that includes factual, scientific information on ingredients most commonly used in cosmetics and personal care products in the United States. The Personal Care Products Council, an industry trade group, sponsor this Web site. Good for ingredient uses and properties -- not so much for toxicity information.
- EWG's Skin Deep (TM). Cosmetics database
Launched in 2004, EWG's Skin Deep was designed to create online safety profiles for cosmetics and personal care products. The aim is to provide information to consumers that the cosmetics industry and the U.S. government do not. To produce their data, EWG's scientists compare the ingredients on personal care product labels and websites to information provided in toxicity and regulatory databases. This resource offers easy-to-navigate safety ratings for a wide range of products and ingredients on the market.
- Household products database
From National Institutes of Health and National Library of Medicine, includes a section on Personal Care that lists ingredients of brand name products with CAS registry numbers. It is also searchable by ingredient and includes links to other National Library of Medicine databases.
A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA.
- NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
"The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards is intended as a source of general industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes for workers, employers, and occupational health professionals. The NIOSH Pocket Guide does not contain an analysis of all pertinent data, rather it presents key information and data in abbreviated or tabular form for chemicals or substance groupings (e.g. cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in the work environment. The information found in the NIOSH Pocket Guide should help users recognize and control occupational chemical hazards." - from the Centers for Disease Control website. Published by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH).
- TOXLINE -Toxicology Literature Online
TOXLINE is a bibliographic database with an assortment of citations from specialized journals and other sources. It provides references covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most of TOXLINE's bibliographic citations contain abstracts and/or indexing terms and Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers. ~ from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
- From UC-Davis ChemWiki Examples_of_common_functional_groups_in_organic_chemistry
SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties. (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.)
First time users of SciFinder need to register for an account. Use a Drew networked computer and follow the directions for registering.
- Indexes all of Chemical Abstracts and Medline. (Duplicate Medline references are removed by default.)
- Search using natural language, molecular formula, or substance. Searches can be refined.
- Go HERE for video tutorials and tips for using SciFinder effectively.
- Links to:
- citing and cited articles (useful for finding related articles)
- reactions substances Patents are interesting, but not always helpful. To limit to Journals only, choose the Refine tab, then select Refine by Document type, and finally check Journal.
- View the video below for details about searching for a specific topic.
Click directly to the full text if available in a database, or click on to find the full text in another database.The Article Linker guide provides additional instructions for finding full text, either online or in print/microfilm format within the library.
Full text not available
Don't give up! There are other ways to get the information you are seeking.
Request a book, article or other resource from a library other than Drew University's by logging on and completing request form. Registration required.
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information, 3rd Ed.
Reference QD8.5 .A25 2006
Guide provides information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts to conform to ACS standards. Detailed examples of citations are included.
ACS Style Guide (electronic version)
Electronic version of ACS Style Guide provides information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts to conform to ACS standards. Detailed examples of citations and references are provided.
Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide
A handy reference sheet to check your Council of Science Editors (CSE) citation style for accuracy. (8th Edition)
Electronic citation managment
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project, sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
(Beware: No citation software is perfect--check your work!)
Instructions for EndNote Web
Other free or open source citation software include Mendeley, Zotero, and ReadCube.
Lipson, Charles. Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Print .PN171 .F56 L56 2004
Contact Margery Ashmun or the Reference Librarian at the Library's Research Help Desk for assistance with formatting citations.
Drew University's plagiarism policy
Take time to familiarize yourself with Drew's policy on plagiarism. CLICK HERE for a link to the "Academic Integrity" section of Drew's Student Handbook which contains a description of the plagiarism policy.
Research Help Desk
Make an appointment with Margery Ashmun or come to the Research Help desk in the Library when desk is staffed.
Research Help Hours:
9:00AM- 5:00PM, Monday-Friday;
Use the chat message box on the
Research Resources page when the Research Help Desk is staffed.
when the Research Help Desk is staffed.