CHEM 360L Biochemistry Lab

Databases
Below are links to database that may be helpful to you as you do your research. Many are familiar to you from earlier science classes. 
American Chemical Society Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. 

Click HERE for tips and tricks to searching PubMed.

Search help:
For more detailed instructions with screen shots, see: https://uknow.drew.edu/confluence/x/SYFUAQ
PubMed Basics http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/pmtri.pdf 
Searching with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/meshtri.pdf 


ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.

Students have ready access to a core group of journals to which Drew University subscribes. For unsubscribed content, students may request articles through Library Chat  (Mon-Fri 9-5PM, Sun - Thurs 6-10PM) and/or  use the Interlibrary Loan system (illiad.drew.edu). Students will receive articles electronically; via email from Library Chat and/or through ILLiad from InterLibrary Loan.  
  • Go to link for detailed instructions about obtaining articles from ScienceDirect. LINK HERE.
  • Searching tip:
Limit to Journals. In the dropdown to the right of your search term, focus your search by limiting to Title, Abstract, Keyword.

SciFinder Restricted Resource
  SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties.  (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 
  • First time users of SciFinder need to register for an account. Use a Drew networked computer and follow the directions for registering HERE.
  • Indexes all of Chemical Abstracts and Medline. More information HERE. Search using natural language, molecular formula, or substance. Searches can be refined.
  • Tips and tricks for searching SciFinder HERE. Lots of good info through video instruction.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it. Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
  • NOTES:
    Selecting All Databases searches Science Citation Index, Biological Abstracts and Medline. The result will indicate the database from which it was retrieved.Citations can be saved directly to EndNote Web from these databases.
  •  
Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource
The non-profit Wikipedia foundation provides this free online reference source which contains over 4.5 million articles. Content is edited by users and is rapidly changing - which can lead to inaccurate and/or outright wrong information.  Use with caution and utilize "talk" feature to assess validity. 
  • " Talk" feature is one tool that helps user to assess information

 
  • The "talk" page provides one tool for assessing quality of Wikipedia article. The category of the article tells the user the accuracy of the information.
  • Go to this LINK for Wikipedia Quality Scale for articles. Go here to see what the rating means.    

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Get full text
Full text available 
Click directly to the full text if available in a database, or click on      to find the full text in another database.The Article Linker guide provides additional instructions for finding full text, either online or in print/microfilm format within the library.

Full text not available
Don't give up!  There are other ways to get the information you are seeking. 

InterLibrary Loan Unrestricted Resource
Request a book, article or other resource from a library other than Drew University's by logging on and completing request form. Registration required.
Citation help
Electronic citation managment
EndnoteWeb Unrestricted Resource
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
(Beware: No citation software is perfect--check your work!)  Instructions for EndNote Web

Reference Books
(Located on C Level of library)
  • Lipson, Charles. Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Print .PN171 .F56 L56 2004
(Shelved near Research Help Desk.)
  • ACS Style Guide (electronic version) Restricted Resource
    Electronic version of ACS Style Guide provides information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts to conform to ACS standards. Detailed examples of citations and references are provided.
Web resources for citation help
+ ACS Style Guides
  • for Biochemistry 
+ Click HERE for ACS Publications' guidelines for Biochemistry

+ACS Style Guide Excerpt Chap 14: References  
  • CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool Unrestricted Resource
    The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is a free online resource for identifying or confirming journal titles and abbreviations of publications indexed by Chemical Abstract Service since 1907.  Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN (information from CAS website).

Drew University's plagiarism policy
Take time to familiarize yourself with Drew's policy on plagiarism.  CLICK HERE for a link to the "Academic Integrity" section of Drew's Student Handbook which contains a description of the plagiarism policy.

 
Questions?
Just ask!
 

Call

Email

Visit

Chat

Text

Margery Ashmun,

973-408-3483

 

Research Help Desk

973-408-3588

mashmun@drew.edu

 

reference@drew.edu

Make an appointment with Margery Ashmun or come to the Research Help desk in the Library when desk is staffed.

 

Research Help Hours:

9:00AM- 5:00PM, Monday-Friday;

6:00PM-10:00PM, Sunday-Thursday.

Use the chat message box on the

Research Resources page when the Research Help Desk is staffed.

Text:

973-241-5275 (973-241-5ASK)

when the Research Help Desk is staffed.