DSEM Drew Seminar General Resources

General Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) -- the canonical use-based dictionary of the English language and the most authoritative.

Collins English Dictionary
A good, basic dictionary of contemporary English.

Britannica Online The most up-to-date online version of the venerable Encyclopedia Britannica.

More Encyclopedias and Dictionaries can be found through Credo Reference , a collection of online reference books.
 
General Information Search Engines

Everyone's encountered bad information, like bad fish or other products, once in a while. But you can protect yourself by looking for information in more reputable sources (just like shopping at the most reputable retailers!).
Here are some resources for finding information available to you through Drew's library:


The library tries to provide access to the best books, journal articles, newspapers and other sources. Scholar Search is a tool for searching across almost all those resources. You can exclude newspaper articles or restrict just to scholarly journal articles or books. Selecting descriptions of sources and emailing them to yourself also gives you the option to get a citation* for each one to put in your bibliography. It's on the top of the Research Resources page.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a database that lets you look for information in a subset of journals and newspapers, including some that Drew doesn't own directly-- to get full text of those, you can use Interlibrary Loan. It doesn't use Google-type searching; you'll need to connect terms with AND:

Yuo can restrict your search to scholarly articles, and email yourself the citation.
Look under List of Resources by Title -> A or List of Resources by Subject -> General to find this one.

Drew Library Catalog
To find books and other material - DVDs, government documents, etc. - owned by Drew University, search the Library Catalog.
 
Finding full text of articles
If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.
Some articles will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan; but for many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:



When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:


The first time you request an article or book via InterLibraryLoan, you  will  be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan;  books can take longer.

If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search.  Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.
Drew's New York Times Subscription
Your instructor may ask you to read specific articles in the online New York times.
You can sign up for free online access to the New York Times through Drew Library's subscription:
http://nytimes.com/pass using your Drew email address.
Personal Librarians

What is the Personal Librarian Program?

The Personal Librarian Program is designed to introduce students entering Drew University to information literacy skills and the collections and services of the Drew Libraries. As a first year student, you will be matched with a Librarian based on your college seminar group, a relationship that will continue through your first year. When you declare a major, you will graduate to the reference librarian for your department/major, who will help you with the research you do for your major.

First Year students: check your college seminar name to find your librarian.

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.