- Michael Almereyda's Hamlet (2000) with Ethan Hawke
- Kenneth Branaugh's Hamlet (1996)
- Laurence Olivier's Hamlet (1948)
- Tony Richardson's Hamlet with Nicol Williamson (1969)
- Franco Zeffirelli's Hamlet with Mel Gibson and Glenn Close (1990)
BBC Shakespeare in Video
Theatre in Video
- Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead (Tom Stoppard, 1990) on Swank Video
- Hamlet; directed by Kevin Kline and Kirk Browning.
Media Library : VIDEO S527th 2001 on reserve at the circ desk
- Hamlet / an Illuminations/Royal Shakespeare Company production for BBC in association with Thirteen for WNET.org and NHK ; producers, John Wyver, Sebastian Grant ; director, Gregory Doran.
Media Library : VIDEO S527th 2009 on reserve at the circ desk
- Hamlet ; produced & directed by Laurence Olivier.
Media Library : VIDEO S527th 2006 on reserve at the circ desk
- Hamlet / Miramax Films ; producers, Andrew Fierberg, Amy Hobby ; screenplay adaptation and directed by Michael Almereyda.(With Ethan Hawke)
Media Library : VIDEO S527th 2000 on reserve at the circ desk
- Brook by Brook, an intimate portrait ; The tragedy of Hamlet.
Media Library : VIDEO B871b on reserve at the circ desk
- All Things Shakespeare Reference PR2892 .O56 2002
Looking for background material on elements mentioned in, or key to, Shakespeare's plays? This two-volume work covers everything from Weddings to Death, Beds to Jewelry.
- Shakespeare A to Z Reference PR2892 .B69 1990
A single-volume encyclopedia of plays, characters and persons connected with Shakespeare
- MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
- Literature Resource Center
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.
- International Index to the Performing Arts
IIPA covers all aspects of the performing arts from 1864 onward; some full text is available.
Go to the Drew Library Catalog
and search "Hamlet" but pull down the search option for subjects:
Book records in the catalog will either show you the library floor and call number to find the book on, or a link to the book if it's an electronic book:
Not sure where to search?
Try Scholar Search , which does a search across most of the articles and books the library owns, but is not as precise as MLA, or other databases.
For instance, when searching for sources for an academic paper, you're usually looking for:
- Works by scholars or experts (authorities)-- for instance, for a literature paper, writers who are have advanced degrees in literature.
- Works that have been carefully vetted, for instance, in a peer reviewed journal (you can limit your search to 'peer reviewed/scholarly journals')
- The type of publication the source appears in matters. Newspapers and Magazines are less likely to be accepted; scholarly books, however, are often acceptable. Reference books such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are generally used only to verify facts or background information.
- Works that are current with the scholarship in the field -- are they up to date, and factually, do they line up with other scholarly works on the topic? (As Daniel Patrick Moynihan said, 'Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts.')
- Works that cite the sources where they got their own information: if there's no bibliography or references, view it with extreme suspicion.
- Works that do analysis rather than expressing an opinion, and which are objective in their approach. ("Comparing the depiction of Hamlet in the Gesta Danorum and in Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead" would likely be an analysis; "Tom Stoppard improves on Shakespeare's Hamlet" is more likely to be an opinion.) Some book reviews may be scholarly, but even scholarly ones are also to be used sparingly and with care.
- And most importantly, works which are relevant to the topic you're working on. Even if it has all the right keywords and is scholarly, if the book or article has nothing to do with your topic, it's not going to help you. If it's an article in the Journal of the American Medical Association or Chemical and Engineering News on Ophelia, it's likely off-topic.
- There are other factors to consider as well.
Tel: 973-408- 3675