DSEM: Global Peacebuilding and Leadership

Using Scholar Search
Because Global Peacebuilding is such an interdisciplinary field, you may want to start your search with Drew's Scholar Search, a tool that searches across multiple subject databases as well as the catalog.

Searching for "peacebuilding" in Scholar Search will bring up a variety of resources:


You'll need to evaluate those sources for currency, relevance, authority, and point of view

You can limit your search to specific types of resources, such as peer reviewed journals, or books, or by date of publication, or by a specific subject term, using the Limits in the left-hand menu:

You can also add additional subject terms in your search by just typing them into the search box.
All Items by Source

Background

Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations
Print Location: Reference HM 716 .E53
Social science related disciplines use specific definitions for terminology. If you are struggling to parse terms like "Collective Self," "Distributive Justice," "Social Dominance Theory," etc. you may want to look them up here.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.
EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
“Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.”
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on national and international topics in Political Science.

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Leadership, 2004
Print Location: Reference HD57.7.E53 2004
Long articles on the psychology, sociology and history of leadership situations.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Lengthy articles on theories and studies of peace and conflict, with glossaries preceding each article.
Oxford Handbook of Religion, Conflict, and Peacebuilding
Print Location: Reference BL65 .P4 O94 2015

Organizations

Berkley Center for Religion, Peace & World Affairs
Provides overviews of major religious tradtions and their role in politics and society.  Sponsored by Georgetown University
Interfaith Youth Core (IFYC)
Under "Campuses as Models," find additional materials in "Resources"
Peaceful Societies
Describes a number of societies that are recongnized as peaceful, such as the Amish or Tahitians.
United States Institute of Peace
A U.S. quasi-governmental organization whose mission is "to prevent, mitigate and resolve violent conflicts around the world by engaging directly in conflict zones and providing analysis, education and resources to those working for peace. "
Their publications can be browsed by country or by issue on this site; they also have Study Guides for topics such as Women and Peace, Governance, Corruption, and Conflict, etc. under Education & Training/Teaching Resources.

Statistics/Data

Global Peace Index
From the Institute for Economics and Peace, a measure of the peacefullness of different countries/regions and the world at large. Includes measures of militarization, society, and domestic conflict. Use the interactive map to find country or indicator data.
Finding full text
If you are searching in Scholar Search or some other databases, you will see both books and articles.

Some articles will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan; but for many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:



When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:
Find it @Drew

Books will show you either the link to the ebook or the call number for the printed book:
Evaluating Your Sources
Before you use a source, you should check to see if it seems credible and relevant to your topic. Use the title, abstract, publication and author information to see if a source looks promising, then read the text carefully, considering whether it is appropriate for your paper.

For instance, when searching for sources for an academic paper, you're usually looking for:
  • Works by scholars or experts (authorities)-- for instance, for a economics paper, scholars who are researchers in economics. For a paper on interfaith peacebuilding, you might be looking for acknowledged experts in interfaith cooperation. If you're looking for current news on a situation, such  as Boko Haram in Nigeria, you may be looking for a well-respected journalist source.
  • Works that have been carefully vetted, for instance, in a peer reviewed journal (you can limit your search to 'peer reviewed/scholarly journals')
    • The type of publication the source appears in matters. Only the most credible and renowned newspapers and magazines are likely to be accepted; Scholarly books, however, are often acceptable. In the case of current news, it may be difficulty to find journal articles-- journal publishing and the peer review process take time.  Reference books such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are generally used only to verify facts or background information. 
  • Works that are current with the facts/scholarship in the field -- are they up to date, and factually, do they line up with other scholarly works on the topic? (As Daniel Patrick Moynihan said, 'Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts.')
  • Works that cite the sources where they got their own information: if there's no bibliography, references, or sources identified view it with extreme suspicion.
  • Works that do analysis rather than expressing an opinion, and which are objective in their approach. ("Social media and in person peacebuilding efforts: a study of interfaith efforts" would likely be an analysis; "Why #BringBackOurGirls is dangerously naive" is more likely to be an opinion.) Some book reviews may be scholarly, but even scholarly ones are also to be used sparingly and with care. 
  • And most importantly, works which are relevant to the topic you're working on. Even if it has all the right keywords and is scholarly, if the book or article has nothing to do with your topic, it's not going to help you. If it's an article in Art History Today on community development, it's likely off topic!
  • There are other factors to consider as well; your instructor will likely suggest some.
It's up to you to decide whether a source is useful; but your professor and the librarians can help you.
Journals to Browse
The Library has access to a number of journals that focus on peace and conflict, which may be useful to browse:
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results:
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Drew's New York Times Subscription
Your instructor may ask you to read specific articles in the online New York times.
You can sign up for free online access to the New York Times through Drew Library's subscription:
http://nytimes.com/pass using your Drew email address.
Drew's New York Times Subscription
Your instructor may ask you to read specific articles in the online New York times.
You can sign up for free online access to the New York Times through Drew Library's subscription:
http://nytimes.com/pass using your Drew email address.