DSEM: Community Service

All Items by Source

Background

Encyclopedia of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World
Print Location: Reference HM 756 .E53 2003
What is "community"? How do humans experience community, and how do they negotitate the communities in which they live? What are the types of community?
This encyclopedia tackles those questions. Bear in mind, though, that its ideas about virtual community date back to 2002.
Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations
Print Location: Reference HM 716 .E53
Social science related disciplines use specific definitions for terminology. If you are struggling to parse terms like "Collective Self," "Distributive Justice," "Social Dominance Theory," etc. you may want to look them up here.
Key Concepts in Community Studies Restricted Resource
What does "community" mean in academic social science? What are the elements of community studies? How do we define "communities"? This work sets out to define and explicate them.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Supplements Business Source Elite, providing full text access to more than 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications)
Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource
Abstracts and indexes “current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.”
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
“Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.”
General Information Search Engines
Everyone's encountered bad information, like bad fish or other products, once in a while. But you can protect yourself by looking for information in more reputable sources (just like shopping at the most reputable retailers!).
Here are some resources for finding information available to you through Drew's library:

Scholar Search

The library tries to provide access to the best books, journal articles, newspapers and other sources. Scholar Search is a took for searching across almost all those resources. You can exclude newspaper articles or restrict just to peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles or books. Selecting descriptions of sources and emailing them to yourself also gives you the option to get a citation* for each one to put in your bibliography. It's on the top of the Research Resources page.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a database that lets you look for information in a subset of journals and newspapers, including some that Drew doesn't own directly-- to get full text of those, you can use Interlibrary Loan. It doesn't use Google-type searching; you'll need to connect terms with AND:

Yuo can restrict your search to scholarly articles, and email yourself the citation.
Look under List of Resources by Title -> A or List of Resources by Subject -> General to find this one.

Drew Library Catalog

To find books and other material - DVDs, government documents, etc. - owned by Drew University, search the Library Catalog.
 
Finding full text
If you are searching in Scholar Search or some other databases, you will see both books and articles.

Some articles will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan; but for many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:



When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:
Find it @Drew

Books will show you either the link to the ebook or the call number for the printed book:
Evaluating Your Sources
Before you use a source, you should check to see if it seems credible and relevant to your topic. Use the title, abstract, publication and author information to see if a source looks promising, then read the text carefully, considering whether it is appropriate for your paper.

For instance, when searching for sources for an academic paper, you're usually looking for:
  • Works by scholars or experts (authorities)-- for instance, for a literature paper, writers who are have advanced degrees in literature. For a paper about sustainable development in South America, you might be looking for an expert in sustainable development.
  • Works that have been carefully vetted, for instance, in a peer reviewed journal (you can limit your search to 'peer reviewed/scholarly journals')
    • The type of publication the source appears in matters. Newspapers and Magazines are less likely to be accepted; scholarly books, however, are often acceptable. Reference books such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are generally used only to verify facts or background information. 
  • Works that are current with the scholarship in the field -- are they up to date, and factually, do they line up with other scholarly works on the topic? (As Daniel Patrick Moynihan said, 'Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts.')
  • Works that cite the sources where they got their own information: if there's no bibliography or references, view it with extreme suspicion.
  • Works that do analysis rather than expressing an opinion, and which are objective in their approach. ("Impact of Community Organization on Environmental Conservation in New Jersey" would likely be an analysis; "The ten best ways to run a community organization" is more likely to be an opinion.) Some book reviews may be scholarly, but even scholarly ones are also to be used sparingly and with care. 
  • And most importantly, works which are relevant to the topic you're working on. Even if it has all the right keywords and is scholarly, if the book or article has nothing to do with your topic, it's not going to help you. If it's an article in Art History Today on community development, it's likely off topic!
  • There are other factors to consider as well. 
It's up to you to decide whether a source is useful; but your professor and the librarians can help you.
Online Newspaper Subscriptions
New York Times:

Your instructor may ask you to read specific articles in the online New York times.
You can sign up for free online access to the New York Times through Drew Library's subscription:
http://nytimes.com/pass using your Drew email address.

Washington Post:

The Washington Post offers free online content subscriptions to anyone with a .edu, .gov, or .mil email address. Follow these instructions to sign up:
http://help.washingtonpost.com/link/portal/15067/15080/Article/628/How-do-I-activate-my-gov-mil-edu-free-subscription
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.