DSEM Eataly: Food in Italian Culture

Encyclopedias
Use these for background information:

Cambridge World History of Food, 2000
Substantive articles about the history, geography and nutrition of various types of food.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture, 2000. Reference DG450 .E53 2000
Articles on class, entertainment, etc.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, 2003. Reference GT 2850.E53 2003
Lengthy articles from an anthropological perspective on national cuisines, types of food and nutrition.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, 2004. Reference GT 31.G74 2004

Regions of Italy: A Reference Guide to History and Culture, 2001

 
Dictionaries
For brief definitions, check:

Dictionary of food: International food and cooking terms from A-Z
Techniques, terms, and ingredients
Finding Resources on a Topic
There are a number of places to check.  Scholar Search searches what's owned or accessible at Drew, including full text when available.  Enter your search terms, and then use the left-hand sidebar to narrow your search:




As well as search tools like Google or ScholarSearch, check databases:

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

ProQuest Research Library
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.

Drew Library Catalog
Catalog of Drew's library holdings: books, ebooks, serial titles, government documents, some websites.
Evaluating Sources
Once you've identified a source, you will need to evaluate it!  Is it relevant?  And once you've decided that a source pertains to your topic, you'll also need to analyze it on the basis of:
  • Currency
  • Reliability
  • Authority
  • Perspective
You have a guide to distinguishing between popular and academic/scholarly articles that might be helpful.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.