DSEM Rotten English: How Race Matters in Language

Background Information and Definitions
For reliable information, check the following:

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics, 2001.
Articles on such topics as code-mixing, bilingualism, language change, etc., with helpful bibliographies.

Dictionary of sociolinguistics, 2004.
VERY brief definitions, good if you're lost in jargon.

Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Color of Words: An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the U.S. Reference E184 .A1 H466 1997
Definitions related to ethnic studies, as well as definitions of derogatory terms.
 
Finding Articles
Start with a general database such as:

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

ProQuest Research Library
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.

For more focused results, use a subject-specific database:

MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly material on literature, film, and linguistics.
Retrieving Full Text
If the entry has a link to a pdf or an html, you can click on that and retrieve the article from within the index.  But we might have access through another database.

If the article does not have a pdf or html link, click on Find it @ Drew:


This will take you to a page that indicates whether we have it, and where:
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results: