DSEM Latino/a Hollywood

Finding Background Information
If you run across an unfamiliar term, concept, or person, often checking an encyclopedia or dictionary is a quick way to get some information.  As well as general encyclopedias, or sources available on the open web, you might check a more specialized encyclopedia.  Some examples are:

Dictionary of Media Studies, 2006.
Very brief definitions of terms.

Latino American cinema, 2012 Reference PN1995.9 .L37 B38 2012
Information on individuals, films, and concepts, with primary (although not exclusive) focus on the U.S.

Multicultural Films, 2005 Reference PN1995.9 .M56 W45 2005
Brief analyses of major films prior to 2005.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Finding Additional Information
If you need additional information beyond a fast definition or an overview, check either for books or for journal or magazine articles:

Scholar Search
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

Drew Library Catalog
Catalog of Drew's library holdings: books, ebooks, serial titles, government documents, some websites.

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

For reviews of specific films, consult:

FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.

MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
Provides text of reviews.  More evaluative information than IMDB.

For issues pertaining to specific ethnic groups, check:

Ethnic Newswatch
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
On the first page of the database, scroll down to select the ethnic group.


 
Your Personal Librarian
Jody Caldwell is your Personal Librarian - available for help in finding resources, selecting reliable sources of information, and formatting your citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.