DSEM Growing Up Gendered

Finding Background Information
Encyclopedias can often give helpful overviews or definitions - if you run across a term you don't know, or if you want some quick background on a topic, check here.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society Reference HQ 1115.E54 2009
Background information on a wide range of topics, with recommended readings for further exploration.

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender, 2003

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Essays on topics from abortion to working environments.

 
Finding Additional Information
If you need additional information beyond a fast definition or an overview, check either for books or for journal or magazine articles.

Drew Library Catalog
Catalog of Drew's library holdings: books, ebooks, serial titles, government documents, some websites.

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

For information from a Gender Studies perspective, you may want to check more focused databases, such as:

Women's Studies International
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included

GenderWatch
A full text database of a mix of publications, primarily popular, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Finding Information on Films
Where you look will depend on what you need to know.  Here are some suggestions.

IMDB: Internet Movie Database
Popular directory of information about films and actors including plot synopses, reviews and credits.

MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
Provides text of reviews.  More evaluative information than IMDB.

FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.
Your Personal Librarian
Jody Caldwell is your Personal Librarian - available for help in finding resources, selecting reliable sources of information, and formatting your citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.