ENGL 400 Senior Capstone in English

Summaries and Definitions
Check these for background and quick definitions, to answer factual questions or to get a quick overview of a topic:

General:

Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.

Literary Theory:

Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory, 2002

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory, 1993. PN81 .E43 1993

Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory, 2011.
Reference PN81.E435 2011
Fairly lengthy articles, with bibliography

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism, 2005. Reference PN81.J554 2005

Key Concepts in Postcolonial LIterature


Literature and Authors:

New Literary History of America, 2009
From Harvard UP, a collection of essays with brief bibliographies.  Check the table of contents:  essays are arranged by time period.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, 2004
350 essays on American literary history from the 1600s to the present; essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, major works, literary movements, periods, and themes.

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, 2006
History of literature in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin)– individual authors and particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.

Historical Background:

Dictionary of American History, 2003. Reference E174.D52 2003
Articles, often extensive, on U.S. history.

Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850. 2004
Summaries of ideas, events and people of Europe and North America, with bibliographies of recommended sources.

Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era, 2004. Reference DA 550 .E527 2004
A four-volume work, with fairly lengthy articles and helpful bibliographies.

Reader's Guide to British History, 2003.
Reference DA34.R43 2003
Overviews of conditions, issues and events, with recommended further readings.
Articles and essays
Start with MLA bibliography, which is the primary index in literary criticism.  After that, if necessary, check others according to your topic.

MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.

America History and Life
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.

Women's Studies International
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included

Two additional resources that provide access to a very wide range of material:

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.

Scholar Search
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

 
Books and dissertations
Drew Library Catalog
Catalog of Drew's library holdings: books, ebooks, serial titles, government documents, some websites.

Dissertations and Theses
  Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.

Worldcat
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
Does Drew Own It?
For articles:
When you have found them within a database, click on to find the full text, if it is not available within the database.

When you have a citation, either search for the article title and author in Summon, OR check the Journal List Search for the title of the journal.

For books:
Check the Drew Library Catalog If Drew does not own or have access to the item, request it through Interlibrary Loan.  If you are currently searching a database, when you click on , there will be an option for Interlibrary Loan.  Click on that, and your item will be pasted into the Interlibrary Loan form.

 
Citation Manual
The Modern Language Association published two guides that include sections on formatting notes and bibliographies:

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Reference Counter LB 2369.G53 2009
Offical Style manual and citation manual of the Modern Language Association, used extensively by writers and professors in the literature and arts areas.Less complete than the Style Manual, but more user-friendly.  There is a 2016 edition which will be available shortly.

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing Reference Counter PN 147.G444 2008


For summaries of formats, check:
MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.

EndnoteWeb
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.  For help in using, check Drew's guide.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.