ENGL 206/ESS 281 Nature Writing

Finding Background Information
Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society, 2007. Reference HM 856.E53 2007


Environmental Literature, 1999 Reference GE35.E58 1999
Identifies authors, works, and themes.

New Jersey Environmental Digital Library
An "open repository of digital research and educational materials... digital information on New Jersey's environment."
Finding Articles
In interdisciplinary fields, you often need to check more than one index.  To do that more efficiently, if the databases you want to search are all from one publisher, you can combine your searches by selecting multiple databases at once.  Go to Academic Search Premier, and on the first search page, click on "Choose Databases," and then check the additional indexes:



Some recommended indexes:  
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Greenfile
  • MLA

Academic Search Premier 
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

GreenFILE 
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )
You can also do a simultaneous search

Scholar Search 
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google!   Includes websites and some books.

Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) 
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it. Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching. Most useful for species and specific environments.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.