ENGL 306/ESS 381 Food Justice and U.S. Literature

Finding Background Information
Your course texts are often a good place to start, but some additional information - as well as citations of recommended sources - may be useful as well:

Cambridge World History of Food, 2000
Substantive articles about the history, geography and nutrition of various types of food.

Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, 2014.
From food security to traditional agriculture, provides background on politics, history and ethics of food production, distribution, consumption and disposal.  Useful bibliographies at the ends of articles.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, 2003. Reference GT 2850.E53 2003
Lengthy articles from an anthropological perspective on national cuisines, types of food and nutrition.

 
Finding Articles
In interdisciplinary fields, you often need to check more than one index.  To do that more efficiently, if the databases you want to search are all from one publisher, you can combine your searches by selecting multiple databases at once.  Go to Academic Search Premier, and on the first search page, click on "Choose Databases," and then check the additional indexes:



Some recommended indexes:  
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
  • Greenfile
  • MLA Bibliography
  • SocIndex
Finding Government Publications
The US government is the largest publisher in the world, and state governments are also prolific.  Take advantage of these sources!  

Use Google to locate documents:
Federal:

State:


 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results: