ENGL 356 American Empires

Background Information
For finding background information or getting a quick overview, check:

Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature, 2006 Ref PN849 .C3 E53 2006

Encyclopedia of North American Indians, 1996. Ref E76.2 .E53 1996
Articles on key events, policies and nations, with selected bibliographies. Watch the copyright date!

Southeast Asia : a historical encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor, 2004. Ref DS524 .S68 2004

Key Concepts in Postcolonial LIterature

 
Journal Articles and Books
For literary criticism:

MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

For information on history and conditions:

Ethnic Newswatch
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.

America History and Life
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.

For resources linking theoretical approaches with specific authors or works:

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.

JSTOR
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.

Project Muse
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Scholar Search
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results: