ENGL 364 Literature of Disease

Finding Background
Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine, 1993. Reference R 131 .C
Historical descriptions of the diagnosis and treatment of disease, with selective bibliographies of recommended readings.

Merck Manual (Online)
An online medical reference with two options for content delivery: (1) a professional version that provides more advanced information for healthcare professionals and students or (2) a consumer version that offers easier-to-interpret content for readers who may be patients or caregivers. The professional version segments information into "Medical Topics", "Drug Information", "News & Commentary", "Procedures & Exams", and more. Topics are often covered in brief, usually with links to the supporting scholarly research in peer-reviewed journals that require a subscription.

 
Finding Articles
Core Database:

MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Other Useful Sources:

Historical Context:

America History and Life
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.

International Medieval Bibliography Online
Indexes scholarly articles, essays and reviews published from 1967 to the present on the Middle Ages, from a variety of disciplines. (Click ENTER DATABASES button on main page)

Films:

 FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.

MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
Provides text of reviews.  More evaluative information than IMDB.

Medical Information on Diseases:

Merck Manual (Online)
An online medical reference with two options for content delivery: (1) a professional version that provides more advanced information for healthcare professionals and students or (2) a consumer version that offers easier-to-interpret content for readers who may be patients or caregivers. The professional version segments information into "Medical Topics", "Drug Information", "News & Commentary", "Procedures & Exams", and more. Topics are often covered in brief, usually with links to the supporting scholarly research in peer-reviewed journals that require a subscription.



Other:

Scholar Search
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
Google Scholar
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results:
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.