ENGL 210 Writing in the Discipline of English

Finding Articles
Core Database:

MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Other Useful Sources:

Historical Context:

America History and Life
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.

International Medieval Bibliography Online
Indexes scholarly articles, essays and reviews published from 1967 to the present on the Middle Ages, from a variety of disciplines. (Click ENTER DATABASES button on main page)

Films:

 FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.

MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
Provides text of reviews.  More evaluative information than IMDB.

Medical Information on Diseases:

Merck Manual (Online)
An online medical reference with two options for content delivery: (1) a professional version that provides more advanced information for healthcare professionals and students or (2) a consumer version that offers easier-to-interpret content for readers who may be patients or caregivers. The professional version segments information into "Medical Topics", "Drug Information", "News & Commentary", "Procedures & Exams", and more. Topics are often covered in brief, usually with links to the supporting scholarly research in peer-reviewed journals that require a subscription.



Other:

Scholar Search
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
Google Scholar
Summaries and Definitions
Check these for background and quick definitions, to answer factual questions or to get a quick overview of a topic:

General:

Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.

Literary Theory:

Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory, 2002

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory, 1993. PN81 .E43 1993

Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory, 2011.
Reference PN81.E435 2011
Fairly lengthy articles, with bibliography

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism, 2005. Reference PN81.J554 2005

Key Concepts in Postcolonial LIterature


Literature and Authors:

Literature Criticism Online
Online version of Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Drama Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism sets. Collects critical writing about literary works/authors.

Literature Resource Center
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.

New Literary History of America, 2009
From Harvard UP, a collection of essays with brief bibliographies.  Check the table of contents:  essays are arranged by time period.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, 2004
350 essays on American literary history from the 1600s to the present; essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, major works, literary movements, periods, and themes.

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, 2006
History of literature in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin)– individual authors and particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.

Historical Background:

Dictionary of American History, 2003. Reference E174.D52 2003
Articles, often extensive, on U.S. history.

Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850. 2004
Summaries of ideas, events and people of Europe and North America, with bibliographies of recommended sources.

Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era, 2004. Reference DA 550 .E527 2004
A four-volume work, with fairly lengthy articles and helpful bibliographies.

Reader's Guide to British History, 2003.
Reference DA34.R43 2003
Overviews of conditions, issues and events, with recommended further readings.
Databases and Indexes
Sources such as articles, essays and books tend to answer deeper, less superficial questions.  Retrieve them using the following tools:

Core:

MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Supplemental:

America History and Life
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.

FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.

Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.

International Medieval Bibliography Online
Indexes scholarly articles, essays and reviews published from 1967 to the present on the Middle Ages, from a variety of disciplines. (Click ENTER DATABASES button on main page)

Scholar Search
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

Women's Studies International
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included

Books:
To find books, check the Drew Library Catalog. For criticism of a specific author, select "subject" and enter your author's name in quotation marks, last name first:



Worldcat
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
 
Citation Formating
The standard guide is
MLA Handbook, 2016 Reference Counter LB 2369.G53 2016

A user-friendly guide to the 8th edition of MLA is MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue

EndnoteWeb
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing. However, the current version is still using the 7th edition of MLA Handbook.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.