ESL Public Speaking

General Help Tools
A few tools that may come in handy:
Drew Resources for More Reliable Information
Everyone's encountered bad information, like bad fish or other products, once in a while. But you can protect yourself by looking for information in more reputable sources (just like shopping at the most reputable retailers!).
Here are some resources for finding information available to you through Drew's library:

 

SUMMON

The library tries to provide access to the best books, journal articles, newspapers and other sources. SUMMON is a took for searching across almost all those resources, Google-style. You can exclude newspaper articles or restrict just to scholarly journal articles or books. Selecting descriptions of sources and emailing them to yourself also gives you the option to get a citation* for each one to put in your bibliography. It's on the top of the Research Resources page.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier lets you look for information in a subset of journals and newspapers, including some that Drew doesn't own directly-- to get full text of those, you can use Interlibrary Loan. It doesn't use Google-type searching; you'll need to connect terms with AND. (You can restrict to scholarly articles; and can email yourself the citation.
Look under List of Resources by Title -> A or List of Resources by Subject -> General to find this one.

Credo Reference
You really just want to look up a quick fact or get a general overview of a topic? Look at the reference books here.
Under  List of Resources by Title -> C or List of Resources by Subject -> General.
Getting full text of articles

Click directly to the full text if available (as pdf or html) or click on  to find the full text in another database.The Article Linker guide provides additional instructions for finding full text, either online or in print/microfilm format within the library.

If the   button doesn't provide access to the full text, you can request the article via InterLibraryLoan.


The first time you request an article or book via InterLibraryLoan, you  will  be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan;  books can take longer.

Drew's New York Times Subscription
You can sign up for free online access to the New York Times through Drew Library's subscription:
http://nytimes.com/pass using your Drew email address.
When in doubt, Ask a Librarian
Trained research librarians at the Research Helpdesk can teach you how to search and suggest resources for you to use.
Stop by the Research helpdesk Monday through Thursday 9-5 and 6-10pm, Friday 9-5, and Sunday 6-10. Or:
Email: reference@drew.edu
Phone: 973-408-3588
Text: 973-241-5275 (973-241-5ASK), or
Chat on the library web page.
Evaluating Sources
Some Questions to ask:
  • Where did this information come from?
  • Is the author an expert in the subject?
  • Does the author/publication cite its sources?
  • Does the author or the publisher have an 'axe to grind,' i.e. a bias?
  • Is the source (author and/or publication) positively regarded? 
  • Is the information out of date?
  • Is this the information I need?
More suggestions:
"Evaluating Sources" from Perdue's Online Writing Lab
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.