ESS 400 Capstone Seminar

Search Protocols
  • To search multiple words as a phrase, use quotation marks:  "environmental literacy"
  • To connect synonyms, use OR:  "carbon footprint" OR " carbon dioxide mitigation"
  • To search for terms beginning with a common root, use a truncation symbol, usually an asterisk:  sustainab*
Journal Articles
Academic Search Premier
ProQuest Research Library
Two broad, general databases that index a range of publications, including popular magazines, trade journals and peer-reviewed sources.

Business Source Elite
Indexes  important business journals, with full text for many of them.

Education Research Complete
Education Research database searches education-related publications. Full text of many journals as well as some books and conference papers.

GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )

ScienceDirect
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.

 
Books and Dissertations
Drew Library Catalog
Catalog of Drew's library holdings: books, ebooks, serial titles, government documents, some websites.

Dissertations and Theses
  Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.  Recent dissertations are often most helpful for their bibliographies.

Worldcat
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
Reports and Government Documents
Use Google to search for your topic, and restrict the search to governmental or organizational sites:
  • "environmental health" site:.gov
  • "carbon footprint" OR "carbon dioxide mitigation" site:.org
Does Drew Own It?
For articles:
When you have found them within a database, click on  to find the full text, if it is not available within the database.

When you have a citation, either search for the article title and author in Summon, OR check the Journal List Search for the title of the journal.

For books:
Check the Drew Library Catalog If Drew does not own or have access to the item, request it through Interlibrary Loan.  If you are currently searching a database, when you click on , there will be an option for Interlibrary Loan.  Click on that, and your item will be pasted into the Interlibrary Loan form.
Citing Sources
MLA Handbook, 2016. Reference Counter LB 2369 .G53 2016
The most recent edition of the MLA format, with some significant changes from previous editions.

For summaries of formats, check:

MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.

 EndnoteWeb
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.  For help in using, check Drew's guide.  Be aware that EndNote does not yet have the 2016 MLA format available.
General Environmental Studies Resources
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.