Education

All Items by Source

Core Databases

Education Research Complete
Education Research database searches education-related publications. Full text of many journals as well as some books and conference papers.
ERIC Restricted Resource openURL
Selective index of journal articles in Education and reports in Education from 1966 to the present.

Finding Articles

Education Research Complete
Education Research database searches education-related publications. Full text of many journals as well as some books and conference papers.
ERIC Restricted Resource openURL
Selective index of journal articles in Education and reports in Education from 1966 to the present.
Jerseyclicks.Org Some full text available
Databases available to residents of NJ with their library card number as login. No Login required on Drew Campus. These databases are also available in the schools.
"New Jersey's statewide portal for searching the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library, the New Jersey Library Network, and funds from the Library Services and Technology Act."
Proquest Career and Technical Education Restricted Resource
Source for vocational information.
Proquest Education Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for about 600 education publications, plus indexing for about 300 more.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Aimed at educators, librarians and education researchers. Covers 280 peer-reviewed, abstracted and indexed journals. (From the NJ State Libraries)

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.
Teaching Channel Resource contains audio
Streaming videos of real teachers in classrooms demonstrating teaching practices, techniques, tips and activities, directed to the K-12 classroom. Blogs and discussion groups online also. Free registration allows you to download videos and/or comment. Teaching Channel is a nonprofit group which also airs a PBS show on teaching.

Dictionaries

edSpeak
Print Location: Reference LB15 .R285 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Glossary of education terms, phrases, buzzwords and jargon.

Handbooks & Guides

Common Core Initiative: Read the Standards
Texts of the Common Core standards for English/Language Arts/Literacy and for Mathematics, as well as some resources from the Common Core Standards Initiative.
International Handbook of Educational Evaluation Restricted Resource Some full text available
A handbook discussing principles, history, and practice of both student and program assessment in education.

Organizations

Learning Resource Centers of New Jersey
The NJ Learning Resource Centers provide educators with a variety of professional development programs as well as a circulating library of instructional and professional materials. Search the catalogs of the individual LRCs to find out if they have materials useful for you. (Member fee of $2/year)

Statistics/Data

Condition of Education
Federally sponsored statistics collection on U.S. Education.

Web Sites

Foundation Center
The primary resource for grant seekers. Use the foundation finder to locate foundations, fill out common grant applications, etc.
Mapping History
Provides "interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics." from the University of Oregon.
Nature of Science and the Scientific Method
An excellent overview of the basic concepts of science/scientific method for teachers. By Christine V. McLelland, for The Geological Society of America, August 2006. (PDF)
BEN portal
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway for biological sciences education. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Ben’s Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Resource for children and teachers/parents on the United States Government.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education
Updated guidelines for using copyrighted media in the classroom under the ‘fair use’ rights, as well as educational materials and videos about copyright.
Doing Biology
Case-based science education text “about the history and nature of science, about science in practice-about doing biology.” Each of the 17 chapters is a guided inquiry (with biographical details) of specific instances in biology. By scientists Joel Hagen, Douglas Allchin, and Fred Singers.
ERIC Resources Information Center Some full text available
ERIC indexing to journal and report literature, available to the general public. Full text of some reports.
FREE — Teaching Resources and Lesson Plans from the Federal Government
Federal Registry for Educational Excellence: find curriculum and lesson plan sources.
Get the Math
This video and interactive site provides an intriguing introduction to the use of algebra in the real world. Includes videos and interactive challenges for students as well as teacher materials. Topics include Hip-Hop Music, Fashion, Basketball, Videogames, Restaurants, and Special Effects.
Produced by The Moody’s Foundation, WNET and American Public Television.
Index of Learning Theories and Models
Definitions and descriptions of theories and models of how people learn.
Martindale’s The Reference Desk
Links to online resources on a wide variety of topics-- choose the science from the list.
Math Forum @ Drexel University
Information and resources for K-16 math teachers from Drexel University, with partial funding from NSF.

National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ)
Reports and news on teacher education and quality.
National Writing Project – Improving the Teaching of Writing in the Nation’s Schools
Federally funded program on the teaching of writing and professional development for teachers of writing. Research projects and reports.
NOVA ScienceNow Education
Teacher’s guides, organized by subject, to “NOVA resources for bringing science, technology, and engineering to life in educational settings.”
OER Commons
This “Open Educational Resources” commons collects and organizes educational materials and resources that are free to use and openly license. Classified by grade level, subject area, and material type, and includes both subject teaching and classroom management materials.
Online Poetry Classroom
Resources on using poetry in the classroom. “For Educators – Poets.org – Poetry, Poems, Bios & More.”; from the Academy of American Poets.
PBS Teachers: STEM Education Resource Center
Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Resources for Grades PreK-12. Use the tabs at the top to narrow by grade level.
Southern Education Foundation – publications
“The Southern Education Foundation (SEF) works to advance creative solutions to ensure fairness and excellence in education for all.” Publications date back to the 1950′s.
States Perform
“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
Teaching as Leadership
From Teach for America. Tips and rubric for teaching, including a ‘diagnostic’ leading to how-to guides and information on common pitfalls. (Many files in PDF)
U.S. News : Education
From U.S. News & World Report, their special section on Education. Useful for finding out the U.S. News college, graduate school, online and high school rankings, as well as some education-related advice and news. (Remember to view rankings skeptically, though.)
Usable Knowledge from Harvard Graduate School of Education
“Research for Education Leaders, Teachers, Principals, School Policy Makers”
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results:
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675