English

All Items by Source

Core Databases

MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Background

Contemporary Authors Restricted Resource
Biographies and criticism of authors, playwrights, journalists, and scriptwriters published in English from 1900 to today.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Literary Reference Center Restricted Resource
Contains full text from reference works and literary journals including plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, author interviews, and classic texts.
Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Drama Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism sets. Collects critical writing about literary works/authors.
Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, 2004 Restricted Resource Some full text available
350 essays on American literary history from the 1600s to the present; essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, major works, literary movements, periods, and themes.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, 2006 Restricted Resource Some full text available
History of literature in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin)– individual authors and particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.

Finding Articles

America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
International Medieval Bibliography Online Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly articles, essays and reviews published from 1967 to the present on the Middle Ages, from a variety of disciplines.
(Click ENTER DATABASES button on main page)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Restricted Resource
Indexes linguistics and related literature.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
 

Indexes to magazines and books of the 19th century (1800-1899), with some full text.


Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
SAGE online journals Restricted Resource
Online journal source.
Women Writers Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
230+ sources from pre-Victorian women.

Videos

BBC Shakespeare on Video Restricted Resource
The complete collection of all 37 BBC productions of Shakespeare’s plays, in streaming video.
Theatre in Video Restricted Resource Some full text available
Streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world’s leading plays, plus over 100 film documentaries

Citation Styles

MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Reference Counter LB 2369.G53 2009
Offical Style manual and citation manual of the Modern Language Association, used extensively by writers and professors in the literature and arts areas.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Print Location: Reference Counter PN 147.G444 2008

Dictionaries

Middle English Dictionary
A comprehensive analysis of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. (Free website.)
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford encyclopedia covering the 5th to the 15th century.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering children’s literature, international in scope.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Rhetoric Restricted Resource
Classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications on the art of persuasion.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia covering the social, political and religious changes of the Reformation and the sixteenth century.

Web Sites

18thConnect: Eighteenth-Century Scholarship Online
Full-text searching of open and proprietary scholarly research on 18th-century literature and culture. 
18thConnect: Eighteenth-Century Scholarship Online
Full-text searching of open and proprietary scholarly research on 18th-century literature and culture. 
Bartleby.com Great Books Online
A collection of reference works including poetry and quotation indexes, full-text for the Bible and Shakespeare, dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Broadside Verses Collection – Enoch Pratt Free Library
“The Broadside Verses provide a unique look into life in 19th century America, especially life in Maryland between 1860 and 1865, when the country was in turmoil, and immediately after the Civil War. Most of these verses have a political message, but others – advertisements, love songs, temperance songs, ballads about life and death – show what life was like for Marylanders and other Americans after the Civil War, providing insight into the American character and personality.”
Comparative Literature Gateway – Directory of Online Resources
Geared towards high school and college students; skip over the advertising links.
Dartmouth Dante Project
Over 70 commentaries on the Divine Comedy.
Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls
Stanford’s Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection consists of over 8,000 individual items, and includes long runs of the major dime novel series.
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Searchable listing of sources published in Britain and North America between 1473 and 1800.
HathiTrust
A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Online medieval and medieval related texts, divided by category. J. Halsall, editor.
Internet Public Library: Literature
A selective listing of sites related to literary criticism. The audience is general, but the material is solid.
Literary Resources on the Net
An extensive set of links maintained by Dr. Jack Lynch, English professor at Rutgers.
Modernist Journals Project
 A joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa to  make "primary source material from 1890 to 1922 freely available for scholars and students of modernism."
Modernist Magazines Project
"A scholarly resource and comprehensive critical and cultural history of modernist magazines in the period 1880-1945. So-called 'little magazines' were small, independent publishing ventures committed to new and experimental work."
OEN Bibliography Database
The Old English Newsletter Database serves as an index to scholarly material in Anglo-Saxon studies. Free registration required.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
“The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization."
Poetry Foundation
A collection of poems and criticism, from the organization that publishes the magazine Poetry.
Project Gutenberg
A collection of over 42,000 books, including novels, essays and poetry, all free because they are in the “public domain”– i.e. their copyright is expired.
Victorian Literary Studies Archive: Hyper-Concordance
Concordances for a reasonably wide range of English-language authors, although strongest in the nineteenth century.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481