- The three key databases for secondary scholarly historical research are: America History and Life; Historical Abstracts and JStor. However, since the study of history is a multidisciplinary endeavor, it is necessary to use resources listed on relevant Subject pages.
- Go to an alphabetical list of available databases from the Drew Library.
- Google Scholar
- The Drew Library has numerous diaries, papers, etc of historic figures. Search the catalog.
- Websites listed on the History Subject page provide access to hundreds of primary sources on a array of topics, time periods, geographic areas.
- The Drew Library has hundreds of 18th, 19th and early 20th Century journals archived in print and microfiche. Readers' Guide Full Text and Retrospective (linked from the A-Z Databases by Title) indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 onward; full text is available for selected periodicals from 1994 to the present.19th Century Masterfile indexes 19th Century British magazines, some of which Drew owns in print.
- Also consider Drew's archival Government Documents collection shelved on A-level in the Library.
- The Library maintains a University Archive and is the home to numerous special collections.
- The Methodist Archives is a unique repository of source materials, many of which can be used for social history research.
These databases link from the A-Z Databases by Title page:
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century - Complete texts of six African-American newspapers from the North, ranging from 1837 to 1860. Scroll down past PA Gazette to see the database.
- America's Newspapers - America's Historical Newspapers provides full text access to more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
- Black Studies Center - provides full text access to The Daily Defender and the Chicago Defender (newspapers), scholarly materials, interviews with famous African Americans and more.
- The Civil War Newspaper Perspective - Contains the full text of selected articles from Northern and Southern newspapers, Nov. 1860-April 1865.
- Irish Newspapers.
- New York Times Historical - Searchable full text/page images for the New York Times, 1851 - 2003. (guide).
- Readers' Guide Full Text and Retrospective - indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 onward; full text is available for selected periodicals from 1994 to the present.
- Nineteenth Century Master File - Indexes to magazines of the 19th century (1800-1899).
- Ref AI3 .P7 - Poole's index to periodical literature (indexes 19th Century journals)
- Ref AI3 .W45- The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals: 1824-1900
There are several primary resource series in the microform room (map) including:
- Early English Books 1641-1700
- Wing Collection - more early English books.
- U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Surveillance of Radicals in the U.S. 1917-1941
- Abolition and Emancipation
- American Periodical Series - The 18th Century
These public websites provide full text access to 18th and 19th century journals:
- RASP: Resources for Research: Periodicals - scanned 18th, 19th and 20th Century periodicals online.
- Making of America Project - Cornell
- Making of America Project - University of Michigan
- Serials from the University of Pennsylvania
Also consider large gateway sites such as:
- Google Books has digitized a lot of primary resources. Coverage is haphazard, but worth a try, especially for materials out of copyright (prior to 1923).
- Internet Archive has digitized many historical documents, books, reports and more. Also contains loads of archival moving images, music and much more!
- Hathi Trust a multi-library collaborative effort to digitize out of copyright materials
- dmoz Open Directory Project - an eclectic compilation of resources, including access to some source documents. History related topics are found under Arts > Humanities > History. "The Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors."
Local New Jersey resources
- New Jersey State Archives (Trenton) - wonderful resource for New Jersey research
- New York Public Library (numerous locations) - has many special collections
- State Library (Trenton)
- Rutgers, the State University allows walk-ins to use their many online resources in the library (Alexander Library, New Brunswick). TheRutgers Law Library in Newark also allows the non-Rutgers community to use their resources.
- Graduate students are eligible for lockers and carrels within the library. See Eligibility Guidelines.
- Vale Reciprocal Borrowing is a cooperative onsite borrowing agreement among participating VALE member colleges and universities.
- Drew doesn't own the book(s) or provide access to the article(s) you need? Request resources from other libraries through our InterLibrary Loan form.ILL policies and FAQs.
In addition to doing a Keyword search in the Drew catalog, try the Exact search page and search Subjects related to you topic. Click directly to list of books, or browse a sublist of topics.
Browse the stacks by Dewey classification:
o 910 - Geography and travel (914 - European geography and travel; 917 - U.S. geography and travel
o 920 - Biography, genealogy, insignia
o 930 - History of the ancient world to ca. 499
o 940 - General history of Europe (further broken up by country, e.g. France 940's)
o 950 - General hisotry of Asia Far East
o 960 - General history of Africa
o 970 - General history of North America (America - 973's)
o 980 - General history of South America
o 990 - General history of other areas
Newer history books will be classified in the Library's LC collection. Browse the stacks by LC classification:
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481
- Searching World Cat - access over 10,000 library catalogs worldwide
- How to search JSTOR
- Historical Newspapers Training Video - Use to search New York Times Historical databases- sections 3 through 9 of the video are most helpful
- Does Drew own a specific journal?
- Requesting an article through the ILLiad system
- Requesting a book through the ILLiad system
- Requesting an article directly from a database
- Requesting a book directly through Worldcat