HIST 400 Spring 2016

Reference Materials
Have a topic in mind, but need additional background information? Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographies are an excellent place to start. In addition to providing a general overview on a topic, these resource will provide invaluble bibliographies, which point you to additional resources.

Print reference works and indexes are primarly found in the "D," "Ref D," and "900" sections of the library - but it's easier to find these in the catalog!  Some useful reference materials may include:
Ref CB5 .D52 - Dictionary of the history of ideas
Ref D5 .M55 2007 - Evidence Explained. Citing History Sources from Artifacts to Cyberspace

Ref D13 .H75 2000 - Fifty key thinkers on history
Ref D13 .M86 2000 - The Routledge companion to historical studies
Ref D13 .R49 1986 - Dictionary of concepts in history
Ref D14 .E53 1999 - Encyclopedia of historians and historical writing
Ref D14 .G74 1989  - Great historians from antiquity to 1800 : an international dictionary
Ref D14 .G75 1991 - Great historians of the modern age : an international dictionary
Ref D16.2 .P715 2007 - The Information Literate Historian

Ref D1625 .M32 2002 - Historical research : a guide
Ref PE1625 .O87  Oxford English Dictionary

Drew also subscribes to a number of electronic reference materials, including:

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford English Dictionary

Chicago Manual of Style

Credo Reference

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Databases
America : History and life - Indexes North American history. (guide)

Historical Abstracts - Indexes non-North American history since 1450. (guide)

JSTOR - Provides earlier issues of over 300 scholarly journals. Coverage ranges from the turn of the century to the mid-90's.

Project Muse - Nonprofit collaboration of peer-reviewed academic journals.

Google Scholar - Great resource for finding citation, and when looking for older articles.

SUMMON - Still not finding what you need? Search all our databases at once!

Many more History databases and resouces can be found on the Library History Resources Page.
Finding Books
Places to Look
History is a monograph (book) heavy discipline - you will definately need books to write your paper! Relevant books can be found in a number of places.  To start, begin by searching our new Catalog. Those of you used to the old catalog can find it Here. With over 1,000,000 volumes in the University Library, we likely have something that fits your project.   If you need still more books, search WorldCat. Containing the combined catalogs of over 72,000 libraries - over 2 Billion individual items in total! - WorldCat is an excellent resource. See a book you like? Order it through InterLibraryLoan (ILL)


 
 
Boolean Search
Boolean Search Terms
AND  - Results will contain both words [anywhere, not always next to eachother].
OR - Results will contain at least one word. Example: Britain or "United Kingdom".
Quotation Marks - Search for phrase. A search for "New Jersey" is not the same as a search for New Jersey.
Parentheses - Like in math, it searches here first. Example: Salary and (Teacher or Educator).
Star / Asterisk - Use to capture variations of the same word. Example: Wom* will include "women," "woman," "womens," "womanhood" etc. WARNING: Be mindful that you can get unintended results. "wom*" will also turn up search results for "wombs," "womanizers," and "wombats."

Common Words - Avoid these words. Examples: That, which, the, a, an.
AND NOT - Omits from search. Example: Kings and medieval and not France
NEAR - Will find the two search terms within 16 terms of one another. Example: Medieval and (King near England).

Searching with Boolean
Searching a catalog can be tricky, so we use Boolean Search Logic. 
Steps to using Boolean

1) Break your idea into nouns. "What was Thomas Jefferson's views on the French Revolution?"
The three key nouns are 1) Thomas Jefferson 2) views/opinions 3) French Revolution.

2) Rephrase it in boolean. Focus on tangible nouns first. "Thomas Jefferson" and "French Revolution". Start with an "anywhere" keyword search.

3) Narrow search results by adding to the search:  
"Thomas Jefferson" and "French Revolution" and (opinions or views)

4) Narrow search with Title searches. A book about Jefferson and the French Revolution will probably have those in the title! If you are still getting too many search results, try searching for these  (and other) keywords in the "title" option.

5) Once you find a book on your topic, you can find even more using Subject or Term searches. The French Revolution is officially cataloged as "
France--History--Revolution, 1789-1799". Knowing this, you can find all our books on the topic. Jefferson also has an official catagory: "Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826"  If you search for both, you can find all book covering both topics! This works especially well in WorldCat.  

The above approach works with WorldCat, our Catalog, and article/database searches!

The trick to Boolean is to recognize that it is mathematical, not linguistic. George Boole (yes, that was really his name) was a mathimatician, and his logical is like a calculus equation: A + (B - C) = Ans.  Or, in our case: "Thomas Jefferson" and "French Revolution" = Books about Jefferson and the French Revolution.
Primary Sources of Note
Drew has an incredible amount of primary source resources: in our stacks, in our databases, in our Federal Depository, in Archives and Special Collections, and in our unique United Methodist Collection.  For a detailed listing of potentually useful primary sources, see the relevant section of the full History Resources Guide.  

Digital Newspapers include:  America’s Newspapers (1690-1922); 19th Century Masterfile (Index to magazines of books of the 19th century); African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (major Africa-American newspapers 1837-1860); The Civil War Newspaper Perspective (Northern and Southern newspapers 1860-1865); Irish Newspapers Archives (1738-present).

Additional online newspapers, journals, and magazines databases include: 
RASP: Resources for Research: Periodicals - scanned 18th, 19th and 20th Century periodicals online.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - from the Library of Congress.
The HathiTrust is a large archival database. You can find newspapers or journals/magazines there. Browse thePublic Collections.
The Internet Archive is another large archival database worth looking into. This archive is phenomenal for its music, video (including old news reels) and audio materials (including news reports).
 
Newspapers and Magazines in Print and Microfilm include: 
American Magazine (1906 -present); American Mercury (1924 -present); Atlantic Monthly (1857 - 1932); Ebony (1954-present); Fortune (1930 -present); Harper's (1913 -present); Life (1936 -present); New Republic (1914 -present); New Yorker (1940 -present); Newsweek (1936 -present); Publisher's Weekly (1957-present); Saturday Evening Post (1939-present); Scribner's Magazine (1887-1937); Time Magazine (1924-present); Christian Science Monitor (Microfilm 1960 - 1993, Index: r Ref A121 C 46 1960-1969); Village Voice (Microfilm 1970-2006); Wall Street Journal (Microfilm 1970-1993); Washington Post (Microfilm 1986-2006, also online in LexisNexis). Drew also owns the American Periodicals (collection of magazines, 1741-1800) on microfilm. The index can be found at Ref 051 A512 H789a.   
Full Journal List

Government Documents and Publications
Drew is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program. As a result, it houses a large collection of materials published by the federal government, including Congress, the White House, the military departments, and other government agencies. The collection - with over 400,000 items - contains materials and documents from the Revolutionary War to the present. More than just boring reports, these include original documents relating to every major historical event in US History: every war, social movement, legislative action, Supreme Court ruling, etc. Ask the Government Documents Librarian (Rick Mikulski - rmikulski@drew.edu) for additional information, or explore A-Level of the library yourself! The collection is organized by department (see guide), but some popular sections are C3 (US Census); CR (Civil Rights), D (Defense), NAS (NASA), PR (White House) and Y (Congressional Reports).

Microfilm Collection
Drew has a number of historical document collections on microfilm. These include:

Early English Books  1641-1700
Wing Collection - more early English books.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Surveillance of Radicals in the U.S. 1917-1941
Abolition and Emancipation
American Periodical Series - The 18th Century

In the Catalog!
Drew has been collecting books since the 19th century! Many of those works are now historical documents in and of themselves.  From the 1860s Narrative of the Second Artic Expedition to The Papers of Alexander Hamiltion, use the Drew Library book catalog to find historical documents from the 19th century (do this by narrowing the "date" search field in the uppe right-hand side!).

University Archives, Special Collections, and United Methodist Center
Drew is fortunate to house a number of unique historical collections. Those of you interested in the history of Drew and the area can contact the University Archivst, Dr. Matthew Beland. Despite its small size, Drew has been connected with a number of major US historical events (including protests in the 1960s).  The Drew Univeristy United Methodist Center also houses a variety of unique collections. Email the research staff at the Methodist Center for additional information - or just walk in! It is open to the public).

Other Digital Resources
Google Books has digitized a lot of primary resources. Coverage is haphazard, but worth a try, especially for materials out of copyright (prior to 1923).

Internet Archive has digitized many historical documents, books, reports and more.

Hathi Trust a multi-library collaborative effort to digitize out of copyright materials

dmoz Open Directory Project - an eclectic compilation of resources, including access to some source documents. History related topics are found under Arts > Humanities > History. "The Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors."

Websites focused on specialized historical issues, topics or individuals are listed on the following subject pages for History, American Studies, African American Studies.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480

Contact Information
I often staff the Library Reference Desk, but meetings in my office are ideal. You can schedule an appointment during my formal office hours Tuesday 9am-1pm, but walk-ins are welcome at any time during the week.   Appointments by email are perhaps most advantageous. Make an appointment by containing me at rmikulski@drew.edu or 973.408.3480