ITAL 308 From Book to Screen

Locating Background Information
Specialized encyclopedias offer overviews and frequently have bibliographies of recommended reading.

Dictionary of Italian Literature, 1996.


Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies, 2007. Reference PQ 4006.E536 2007

Literature Resource Center
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.

Chambers Film Factfinder, 2006.


Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Locating Articles
You'll have to distinguish between popular sources, often reviews of movies as they come out or are re-issued, and more scholarly or academic sources.  Indexs of material on film often mix the two types of sources, popular and scholarly.

Generally, start with Scholar Search .  This search tool looks in the full text of material available through Drew Library.  Supplement it with ProQuest

For reviews of films:

LexisNexis Academic
This database provides full text of articles in Italian language newspaperss, and is not well-covered in ScholarSearch.  It has multiple internal divisions - make sure you're in the right one!



Then go to "Advanced Options," and select Italian


MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
Provides text of reviews.  More evaluative information than IMDB.

For academic articles:

MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

MLA Bibliography

International Index to the Performing Arts
IIPA covers all aspects of the performing arts from 1864 onward; some full text is available.  A mix of trade and academic journal

FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.
Locating Books
Use Keyword (rather than Advanced) in the Drew Catalog, and search the name of the author or director.  This will pick up books with chapters or essays about your author/director, while using Advanced will retrieve only those items that are all about the particular person.

For more resources, check WorldCat, the combined catalog of 10,000 libraries.  If Drew does not own the items you identify, request them through Interlibrary Loan (embedded in WorldCat) - that will take 2 days to 2 weeks, so plan ahead!
Citing Sources
MLA (Modern Language Association) or Chicago styles are the most commonly accepted formats in the languages.  A useful guide to MLA style is MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue.  OWL also has a guide to Chicago style.  Paper copies of both manuals are available at the Research Helpdesk in the Library.

EndnoteWeb 
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.  
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.