MAT, Resources for Teachers of English

Education Resources
Education Research Complete

This database of education journals includes full text of over a thousand journals and some books. Some journals are indexed but not included full text: click on the "Search for Article" button to look for the full text elsewhere. Use "Subject Terms" to narrow your search

ERIC

This database allows you to search for both journal articles and "ERIC documents"-- non-journal articles and papers submitted to the ERIC database. Many ERIC documents are full text inside the database, but for journal articles, click on the "Search for Article" button to look for the full text elsewhere. Use the Advanced Search to limit to particular grade levels, audiences or types of article.

Teacher Reference Center
Aimed at educators, librarians and education researchers. Covers 280 peer-reviewed, abstracted and indexed journals. (From the NJ State Libraries)

More online resources for education

Literature-specific Resources

MLA Bibliography

The MLA-- Modern Language Association- Bibliography is the grande dame of literary and language research tools. This database is useful for finding literature criticism and some material on the teaching of English. Unfortunately, the MLA Bibliography doesn't include abstracts (short descriptions) of the content of the articles and books it points to, nor does it include full text, though full text available through other 'Ebsco' databases may pop up. Watch out for Ph.D. dissertations.

Literature Resource Center

This first-stop resource for literature includes Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies. Best searched by author name or work title. Use the tabs at the top of your search results to see different types of articles. However, stay away from the "Multimedia" category-- it can turn up really random results.

Literature Criticism Online

Online version of Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Drama Criticismand Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism sets. Collects critical writing about literary works/authors.

More online resources for English

Reference Books
Videos

Theatre:
  • BBC Shakespeare on Video
    The complete collection of all 37 BBC productions of Shakespeare’s plays, in streaming video.
  • Theatre in Video
    Streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world’s leading plays, plus over 100 film documentaries
Documentaries: Teaching Tips:
Finding Books

Drew Library Catalog

Drew's book resources on social studies topics are many and varied. The online catalog allows you to search for books by keyword, or scan by exact subject heading. Our resources tend more toward literature than education, though, so try Worldcat for more information.

Worldcat

Looking for a specific book or wider coverage than Drew has? Use Worldcat to search across the catalogs of many libraries, then use "Borrow this Item from another Library" to request the book through our Interlibrary Loan service.

Credo Reference
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Journal Resources

English Journal

From the National Council of Teachers of English: directed at High School Teachers. For Middle School/Junior High teachers, try Voices from the Middle.

College English

Also from the National Council of Teachers of English.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.