MAT Resources for Teachers of Science

Education-specific Resources

Education Research Complete

This database of education journals includes full text of over a thousand journals and some books. Some journals are indexed but not included full text: click on the "Search for Article" button to look for the full text elsewhere. Use "Subject Terms" to narrow your search.

ERIC

This database allows you to search for both journal articles and "ERIC documents"-- non-journal articles and papers submitted to the ERIC database. Many ERIC documents are full text inside the database, but for journal articles, click on the "Search for Article" button to look for the full text elsewhere. Use the Advanced Search to limit to particular grade levels, audiences or types of article.

More online resources for Education

Science-specific Resources

Academic Search Premier

This general-purpose database of journal articles-- many of them full text-- is a great place to start your research in any Science Topic. Be careful, though-- it covers a lot of specialized scholarly journals. You can limit to Scholarly journals, or specify magazine and newspaper articles if looking for resources for your students. If the full text isn't available in the database, click on the "Search for Article" button to look for the full text elsewhere.

ProQuest Research Library

This is another general purpose database. It covers many of the same journals and magazines, but with a different spin-- and includes many that aren't in Academic Search. Here, too, you can limit to Scholarly journals. If the full text isn't available in the database, click on the "Search for Article" button to look for the full text elsewhere.

Subject databases:

Finding Books

Drew Library catalog

Drew's book resources on social studies topics are many and varied. The online catalog allows you to search for books by keyword, or scan by exact subject heading.

Worldcat

Looking for a specific book or wider coverage than Drew has? Use Worldcat to search across the catalogs of many libraries, then use "Borrow this Item from another Library" to request the book through our Interlibrary Loan service.

Web Resources
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.