DSEM: The Origin of Life

Finding Background Information
Reference materials
Consult Drew Library's variety of reference sources, including online dictionaries, encyclopedias and other subject-relevant resources with a sample listed below:
Online
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of Encyclopaedia Britannica, with links to recommended web sites.

Astronomy Encyclopedia Restricted Resource
Includes encyclopedia entries authenticated by a team of respected academics, color illustrations, photographs, artworks, and tables, and Star Maps created by the Dutch celestial cartographer, Wil Tirion.

Encyclopedia of the Solar System Restricted Resource
This work includes over fifty chapters authored by experts who review fundamental topics as well as explore new models, theories, and discussions.

 
Books, journals, and magazines to browse
The Library has access to a number of books, journals, and magazines that focus on astronomy, astrobiology, prebiotic chemistry, and the origins of life, which may be useful to browse. Access to some are restricted, meaning Drew login is required. Browse ebrary for electronic books or search the catalog for print and electronic titles related to your topic. 

>E -Books. 
Saraceno, Paolo. Beyond the Stars : Our Origins and the Search for Life in the Universe. Singapore, SGP: World Scientific Publishing Company, 2012. ProQuest ebrary.
 
Lurquin, Paul F.. Origins of Life and the Universe. New York, NY, USA: Columbia University Press, 2003. ProQuest ebrary. 

>Government Documents
U.S. Congress. House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology. Astrobiology: Search for Biosignatures in our Solar System and Beyond. Dec 2013


>Journals

>Magazines
  • Astrobiology Magazine Unrestricted Resource
    A NASA-sponsored “popular” online science magazine offering current topics in astrobiology. Content updated daily with topics ranging from solar system exploration. cosmic evolution, robotics, and more..  Features include multimedia content (podcasts, videos, images, etc) and “Astrocomics”.   
  • Astrobiology: Life in the Universe Unrestricted Resource
    The official Web site of the NASA Astrobiology Program provides up-to-date information including journal publications and news articles about astrobiology, inlcuding events, missions, public education initiatives, and public outreach activities related to astrobiology. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Finding Additional Information
Search Drew Library for additional scholarly sources

Scholar Search Restricted Resource
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

Worldcat Restricted Resource
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
Citation help and other resources
Electronic citation managment
EndnoteWeb Unrestricted Resource
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
(Beware: No citation software is perfect--check your work!)  Instructions for EndNote Web

Reference Books 
Lipson, Charles. Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Print .PN171 .F56 L56 2004

Personal Librarian
Margery Ashmun is your Personal Librarian - available for help with formatting citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.

Drew's Center for Academic Excellence Unrestricted Resource
Get help with forming a thesis, structuring an argument, and all things related to writing a paper at the Center for Writing Excellence housed in the Center for Academic Excellence (CAE) on the main floor of the Library. The CAE also offers the Math and Science Resource Center, as well as individual peer subject tutoring ... Services are free to all Drew students, faculty, and staff. Make an appointment online at their webpage for one-on-one help. Go to link in title to find out more. (~Drew's website)

Drew University's plagiarism policy
Take time to familiarize yourself with Drew's policy on plagiarism.  CLICK HERE for a link to the "Academic Integrity" section of Drew's Student Handbook which contains a description of the plagiarism policy.
Questions?
Just ask! Margery Ashmun is your Personal Librarian - available for help in finding resources, selecting reliable sources of information, and formatting citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.

Call

Email

Visit

Chat

Text

Margery Ashmun,

973-408-3483

 

Research Help Desk

973-408-3588

mashmun@drew.edu

 

reference@drew.edu

Make an appointment with Margery Ashmun or come to the Research Help desk in the Library when desk is staffed.

 

Research Help Hours:

9:00AM- 5:00PM, Monday-Friday;

6:00PM-10:00PM, Sunday-Thursday.

Use the chat message box on the

Research Resources page when the Research Help Desk is staffed.

Text:

973-241-5275 (973-241-5ASK)

when the Research Help Desk is staffed.


SLIDES