DSEM: The power of light

Finding Background Information
Reference materials
Consult Drew Library's variety of reference sources, including online dictionaries, encyclopedias and other subject-relevant resources with a sample listed below:

Online
D’Zmura, Michael. "Color Perception, Psychology of." Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science, L. Nadel, Wiley, 2005. Credo Reference. LINK HERE.

"Spectral Classification of Stars." Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics, David Leverington, Cambridge University Press, 2013. Credo Reference. LINK HERE

The American Heritage Student Science Dictionary Restricted Resource
This 2014 revised and updated edition offers over 4,500 A-Z entries, full-color photographs and drawings, and full-page tables and charts (~from the publisher).Good comprehensive source for a range of science topics, with many entries containing illustrations that clarify content.

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of Encyclopaedia Britannica, with links to recommended web sites.

Collins Dictionary of Biology Restricted Resource
Covers all the major fields within the science, including anatomy, biochemistry, ecology, evolutionary theory, genetics, molecular biology, physiology and taxonomy. (~from the publisher)Good source for information about topics like photosynthesis and other light reactions, 

 
Books and journals to browse
The Library has access to a number of books, journals, and magazines that focus on optics, photonics, and biophotonics (the study of light) which may be useful to browse. Access to some are restricted, meaning Drew login is required.

>Books

Browse ebrary to find electronic books on your topic of interest or use the Library catalog to search for print and electronic titles of interest. 
Book cover
Life Under the Sun  
Ensminger, Peter A.. Life Under the Sun. New Haven, CT, USA: Yale University Press, 2001. ProQuest ebrary. 
 
Book cover
Light and Life  
Gross, Michael. Light and Life. Oxford, GBR: Oxford University Press, UK, 2003. ProQuest ebrary. 
 
Book cover
SLOW LIGHT : INVISIBILITY, TELEPORTATION, AND OTHER MYSTERIES OF LIGHT
Perkowitz, Sidney. Slow Light : Invisibility, Teleportation and Other Mysteries of Light. Singapore, SGP: World Scientific Publishing Co., 2011. ProQuest ebrary. 
 
Book cover
The Optics of Life : A Biologist's Guide to Light in Nature  
Johnsen, Sonke. Optics of Life : A Biologist's Guide to Light in Nature. Princeton, NJ, USA: Princeton University Press, 2011.  ProQuest ebrary.  
 
>Journals
Use Drew's Scholar Search for search for journal articles related to your DSEM topic.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Finding Additional Information
Search Drew Library for additional scholarly sources

Scholar Search Restricted Resource
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

Worldcat Restricted Resource
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
Citation help and other resources
EndnoteWeb Unrestricted Resource
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
(Beware: No citation software is perfect--check your work!)  Instructions for EndNote Web

Reference Books 
Lipson, Charles. Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Print .PN171 .F56 L56 2004

Personal Librarian
Margery Ashmun is your Personal Librarian - available for help with formatting citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.

Drew's Center for Academic Excellence Unrestricted Resource
Get help with forming a thesis, structuring an argument, and all things related to writing a paper at the Center for Writing Excellence housed in the Center for Academic Excellence (CAE) on the main floor of the Library. The CAE also offers the Math and Science Resource Center, as well as individual peer subject tutoring ... Services are free to all Drew students, faculty, and staff. Make an appointment online at their webpage for one-on-one help. Go to link in title to find out more. (~Drew's website)

Drew University's plagiarism policy
Take time to familiarize yourself with Drew's policy on plagiarism.  CLICK HERE for a link to the "Academic Integrity" section of Drew's Student Handbook which contains a description of the plagiarism policy.





 
Questions?
Just ask! Margery Ashmun is your Personal Librarian - available for help in finding resources, selecting reliable sources of information, and formatting citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.

Call

Email

Visit

Chat

Text

Margery Ashmun,

973-408-3483

 

Research Help Desk

973-408-3588

mashmun@drew.edu

 

reference@drew.edu

Make an appointment with Margery Ashmun or come to the Research Help desk in the Library when desk is staffed.

 

Research Help Hours:

9:00AM- 5:00PM, Monday-Friday;

6:00PM-10:00PM, Sunday-Thursday.

Use the chat message box on the

Research Resources page when the Research Help Desk is staffed.

Text:

973-241-5275 (973-241-5ASK)

when the Research Help Desk is staffed.