Psychology

All Items by Source

Core Databases

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.

Finding Articles

EBSCOhost Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Mobile Device Link for databases. Smartphone access to Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, PsycInfo, and ATLA Religion Database.
Education Research Complete
Education Research database searches education-related publications. Full text of many journals as well as some books and conference papers.
ERIC Restricted Resource openURL
Selective index of journal articles in Education and reports in Education from 1966 to the present.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress Restricted Resource
From the National Center for PTSD, including "citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations."
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

PsycArticles Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text access to over 100 key American Psychological Association (APA) journals.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Index/Search Tool

Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Restricted Resource Some full text available
More medicine/medical focused, but still relevant for psychology. Lots of full text is available

Journals/Magazines

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of a mix of publications, primarily popular, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Citation Styles

APA Formatting and Style Guide– Purdue OWL
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to using the American Psychological Association citation format.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: Reference Counter BF 76.7.P83 2010
Style and citation manual guide to the APA style, used extensively in the social and behavior sciences and education.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Government Information

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)

Handbooks & Guides

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Print Location: Ref RC 455.2 C4D536 2000 Reference Counter RC 455.2 C4D536 2000
"The  American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders."

Statistics/Data

FastStats – Mental Health
Provides statistics on mental health disorders within the United States, from the Centers for Disease Control.

Web Sites

American Psychological Association
Psychology's major association.
APA Style
Reference formats recommended by the American Psychological Association.
Association for Psychological Science – Psychology Links
Contains an up-to-date list of links as well as access to some of its current publications.
Disability.gov
Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
Encyclopedia of Psychology – Psychology Websites
Functions as a virtual library in the field, and is particularly good for information on eminent theorists. Jacksonville State University.
Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals: Eighth Edition
Updated edition of a respected guide on the care and use of terrestrial and aquatic animals in laboratory settings.
National Center for PTSD
From  the US Department of Veterans Affairs
National Institute of Mental Health
Provides information on mental disorders, prevalence statistics, clinical trials, scientific meetings and new developments in mental health.
National Library of Medicine- Health Information
Link to MEDLINE, MEDLINEplus and research resources for information on AIDS, cancer, bioethics, the history of medicine, mental health disorders, and more.
Neuroscience Information Framework
Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Health and Human Services, and NIH Blueprint, this site offers neuroscience specific searching of primary literature (with links to full text when available), websites, and the hidden web.
NIDA – National Institute on Drug Abuse
Provides research level information on drug abuse and addiction. Special topics, prevalence statistics on drug usage and drug fact sheets are particularly useful. National Institute on Drug Abuse.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
Drug use information and statistcs in the United States, from Health and Human Services.
WHO – Health topics
International statistics and information on mental health worldwide.
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results:
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.