SPAN 310 Identity, Performance and Self-Representation in the Spanish-Speaking World

Background
When you need quick information or background material, start with a relevant subject encyclopedia such as:

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature, 2000.

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003, 2004.
Entries on authors, genres, and literary movements in South and Central America.

Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory, 2011.
Reference PN81.E435 2011

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture, 1999. Reference DP 233.5.E65

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2008 Reference F1406 .E53 2008

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature, 2002.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.

Pop Culture Latin America! 2005.
Often providing national analyses of media, art, music, etc.

Spanish Culture and Society, 2002. Reference DP 233.5.S73

 
Articles
Try Summon, which searches material available through Drew Library databases, indexes and the print collection.  If you retrieve too much, or if you have trouble focusing the results of the search, try searching subject-specific Library indexes. Some possibilities are:

MLA Bibliography

Search the author/director as "Primary Subject Author:"


Ethnic Newswatch

FIAF
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.

Historical Abstracts

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Index and full text to scholarly and popular music journals, some as far back as 1874.

International Index to the Performing Arts
IIPA covers all aspects of the performing arts from 1864 onward; some full text is available.
Books
To locate books at Drew, start with the Drew Library Catalog.  If you're looking for sources about an author, enter the author's name, last name first, and select "Subject":


If you are looking for sources about a topic other than a specific author, look for your topic anywhere.

When you look at the results, check the subject terms for suggestions of other phrases to search:
Citing Sources
The standard format for Spanish is MLA.  The Online Writing Center at Purdue has an excellent guide to using MLA, and there is a complete guide at the Research Helpdesk in the Library.

EndNote Web will help you format your bibliography, organize your sources, and insert references within your paper.  
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.