CHEM 395 Research in Chemistry

Core Search Tools
SciFinder Restricted Resource
  SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties.  (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 
  • Go HERE for Video Tutorials and tips for using SciFinder.
  • Scifinder, AKA Chemical Abstracts, is the core database for chemistry.
  • First time users of SciFinder need to register for an account. Use a Drew networked computer and follow the directions for registering. Go HERE for detailed instructions.
  • Most chemical substances are assigned a (semi-)unique Chemical Abstracts Registry Number which is used not only in Scifinder but in many other chemical contexts. This can be used to track a substance.
  • Indexes all of Chemical Abstracts and Medline. Search using natural language, molecular formula, or substance. Searches can be refined.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • TIPS & TRICKS for using PubMed-- Go HERE.

Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it. Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
  • NOTE:
    Selecting All Databases searches Science Citation Index, Biological Abstracts and Medline. The result will indicate the database from which it was retrieved.Citations can be saved directly to EndNote Web from these databases.
  • Interdisciplinary searching of citations (not full text, not subject headings) for science topics; particularly useful in biochemical research.
Databases
Below are links to other database that may be helpful to you as you do your research. Many are familiar to you from earlier science classes. 

American Chemical Society Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Older ACS content is available in the Library in print form. Check the Journal List to see availability.
 
Google Scholar

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.

Students have ready access to a core group of journals to which Drew University subscribes. For unsubscribed content, students may request articles through Library Chat  (Mon-Fri 9-5PM, Sun - Thurs 6-10PM) and/or  use the Interlibrary Loan system (illiad.drew.edu). Students will receive articles electronically; via email from Library Chat and/or through ILLiad from InterLibrary Loan.  
  • Go to link for detailed instructions about obtaining articles from ScienceDirect. LINK HERE.
  • Searching tip:
Limit to Journals. In the dropdown to the right of your search term, focus your search by limiting to Title, Abstract, Keyword.
sci direct

Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource
The non-profit Wikipedia foundation provides this free online reference source which contains over 4.5 million articles. Content is edited by users and is rapidly changing - which can lead to inaccurate and/or outright wrong information.  Use with caution and utilize "talk" feature to assess validity. 
  • " Talk" feature is one tool that helps user to assess information
wikipedia
 
  • The "talk" page provides one tool for assessing quality of Wikipedia article. The category of the article tells the user the accuracy of the information.
  • Go to this LINK for Wikipedia Quality Scale for articles. Go here to see what the rating means.    
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Citation Searching & Alerts
One way to keep up with the newest literature on the subject is to find out what the most important previously published papers are, and then see where those papers are being cited, i.e. included in the references of other papers. There are several ways to go about this: Web of Science, Google Scholar, and PubMed all have citation searching capability. 

Both Google Scholar & Web of Science allow you to create alerts for your searches or for citations, which will email you when new articles fitting your search or referencing a particular citation are added to their databases.

Web of Science Citations:

Find the article you are wanting to track in Web of Science and pull up the entry:
Finding Citation information in the Webof Science Entry
You'll need to create a login for Web of Science (which also works for Endnoteweb) to use the "Create alert" function, but once you've logged in, you can click that button to be send email when an article is cited or when new items would be retrieved by a search.

Google Scholar
Looking at any record in Google Scholar also shows you the "Cited References" link:

Clicking on that link will let you see a list of items indexed by Google Scholar as having the item in their bibliography..

You can opt to enter more keywords here and check Search within citing articles to narrow down your results


Google Alerts

Whenever doing a search in Google Scholar, you will be offered the option to create an alert where Google will email you if more items matching your search are retrieved later. Look for the  option in the lower left column of your search results.
Clicking on  brings up a new page:

The "Alert query" shows you what you are searching for.

Enter your email address and click "Create Alert".

Google will email you when more material is indexed that matches your search.

Citation help
Citation style guides
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information, 3rd Ed.
Reference QD8.5 .A25 2006
Guide provides information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts to conform to ACS standards. Detailed examples of citations are included. 

ACS Style Guide (electronic version) Restricted Resource
Electronic version of ACS Style Guide provides information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts to conform to ACS standards. Detailed examples of citations and references are provided.

Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide Unrestricted Resource
A handy reference sheet to check your Council of Science Editors (CSE) citation style for accuracy. (8th Edition)

Electronic citation managment
EndnoteWeb Unrestricted Resource
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
(Beware: No citation software is perfect--check your work!)  
Instructions for EndNote Web
Other free or open source citation software include Mendeley, Zotero, and ReadCube.

Reference Books 
Lipson, Charles. Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Print .PN171 .F56 L56 2004

Reference Librarians
Contact Margery Ashmun or the Reference Librarian at the Library's Research Help Desk for assistance with formatting citations.  

Drew University's plagiarism policy
Take time to familiarize yourself with Drew's policy on plagiarism.  CLICK HERE for a link to the "Academic Integrity" section of Drew's Student Handbook which contains a description of the plagiarism policy.
Questions?
Just ask!
 

Call

Email

Visit

Chat

Text

Margery Ashmun,

973-408-3483

 

Research Help Desk

973-408-3588

mashmun@drew.edu

 

reference@drew.edu

Make an appointment with Margery Ashmun or come to the Research Help desk in the Library when desk is staffed.

 

Research Help Hours:

9:00AM- 5:00PM, Monday-Friday;

6:00PM-10:00PM, Sunday-Thursday.

Use the chat message box on the

Research Resources page when the Research Help Desk is staffed.

Text:

973-241-5275 (973-241-5ASK)

when the Research Help Desk is staffed.




SLIDES