Theatre

All Items by Source

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
FIAF Restricted Resource
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.
Film Index International Restricted Resource
Film studies index produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
International Index to the Performing Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
IIPA covers all aspects of the performing arts from 1864 onward; some full text is available.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
 

Indexes to magazines and books of the 19th century (1800-1899), with some full text.


ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
Reader's Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Indexes popular topics in older issues of popular journals. Covers 1890 through 1983.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.

Index/Search Tool

American Film Institute Restricted Resource
American Film Institute Catalog
INTER-PLAY
Valuable resource for tracking down print copies of a particular play “hidden” in sources often not searchable in catalogs. “Contains . . . citations to plays, many of which are not included in the standard printed play indexes.”

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

Videos

BBC Shakespeare on Video Restricted Resource
The complete collection of all 37 BBC productions of Shakespeare’s plays, in streaming video.
MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.
Theatre in Video Restricted Resource Some full text available
Streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world’s leading plays, plus over 100 film documentaries

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Dance Restricted Resource Some full text available
“With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covering theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.”
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering aspects, genres, and theories of theater and performance: “dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions.”

Web Sites

Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
By Ken McCoy, Ph.D. Provides comprehensive links to World Wide Web resources, listservs, newsgroups, journals, and indexes.
CESAR – Calendrier Electronique des Spectacles sous l’Ancien Régime
Links to theatrical entertainment in France during the 17th and 18th centuries.
Doollee.com
“The free online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956,” by Julian Oddy. Searchable by title, playwright, and number of male and female characters.
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database)
“The official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.”
INTER-PLAY
Valuable resource for tracking down print copies of a particular play “hidden” in sources often not searchable in catalogs. “Contains . . . citations to plays, many of which are not included in the standard printed play indexes.”
Jack Woolcott’s Theatre History on the Web
Well-organized directory of international theater research sites. Links are available for Area Studies (Classical, Elizabethan, 20th Century), Cultural Sites (Theatre Resources, Organizations), and Centers, Museums, and Libraries.
Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library (MHDL)consists of digitized collections of classic media periodicals in the public domain searchable through the interface "Lantern" (coordinated by the MHDL and Univ of Wisconsin). The MHDL is supported by donors who cover the cost of scanning loaned materials. Periodical collections include early cinema, fan magazines, global cinema, non-theatrical film, technical journals, government and law, magical lantern and lantern slide catalog, and others. 
MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.
Modernist Journals Project
 A joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa to  make "primary source material from 1890 to 1922 freely available for scholars and students of modernism."
Modernist Magazines Project
"A scholarly resource and comprehensive critical and cultural history of modernist magazines in the period 1880-1945. So-called 'little magazines' were small, independent publishing ventures committed to new and experimental work."
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is a valuable source of documentation on the history of theatre, housed in the UIUC Rare Book and Special Collections Library. It is a rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
Playwriting Seminars
“The Playwriting Seminars” -Significant resource for aspiring playwrights; providing guidance on writing successfully for the regional theater. Well-organized pages oriented toward the practical details which make a play viable in these venues. By Richard Toscan at Va. Commonwealth
note: Use the links at the top of the page to access some of the content from the original Playwriting 1.0.
Religion Dispatches
"Religion Dispatches is a daily online magazine that publishes a mix of expert opinion, in-depth reporting, and provocative updates from the intersection of religion, politics and culture."
StageWork
From The Royal National Theatre of Britain, this web site is a thorough tour of theatrical production. In addition to explorations of the background, sources and themes of recent productions, the site features many performance and interview videos, exploring all aspects of the theatre from marketing and design to directing and rehearsal. Other highlights include a video tour of the National Theatre and a video interview with Sir Ian McKellan with interactive features. This site was commissioned by Culture Online, part of UK’s Department for Culture, Media and Sport, and won a British Academy of Film and Television Arts award.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: