Speeches by Delegates/Heads of State
United Nations Voting Records
Key UN Issues
Researching UN Issues - Using UN resources
Finding Scholarly Articles
- A list of United Nations ambassadors, delegates and supporting diplomatic staff by country can be found at deleGATE, the UN's member states portal. Once on the deleGATE page, opt for the Member States and Permanent Observers link to find your country (left hand side of the page). The Member States index at deleGATE provides additional information.
- Information about delegates is available online from 1993 onward on the ODS database. Go to ODS Advanced, type in the following document symbol number in the symbol search box: st/sg/ser.a/ and type in the phrase "permanent missions to the united nations" in thewords of the title search box. Archived digital versions of the Permanent Missions to the United Nations can be found in this database; limit your search by year for best results
- UNBISnet provides a database of speeches delivered at the various bodies of the United nations, including the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Countil and the Trusteeship Council.
- Scroll down to Index to Speeches and opt for New Keyword Search.
- From this page, you can search by a speaker's name, a country or organization of origin, topics, speech dates and more. Choose your options from the drop down menus in the search boxes. Be careful to call your country by the official name: for example Russia is Russian Federation.
- To find speeches given in the General Assembly, limit your search to General Assembly in the Limits box.
- Index to Proceedings for the General Assembly_ from the 63rd Session (2008-2009) onward is available in pdf format fromhttp://www.un.org/depts/dhl/deplib/docs/ITP/list.htm#GA. Download the pdf version and use the "find" function to search for delegates/heads of State. Earlier online versions of _Proceedings can be found at ODS Advanced. The document symbol for these speeches will look like this: A/63/PV. numbers. Here the A represents the General Assembly, the 63 refers to the Assembly session, and the PV refers to verbatim record. Usually, the following number is a low number, like a .5 or .16. Type the document number into the _Symbol box in the ODS Advanced database to pull up the full text of the document. You can search within the full text PDF, again using the find or binocular icon, to search for your head of State/delegate within the document (either search for his/her name or the name of your country.) Helpful tip: sometimes heads of States give speeches at the opening session of the General Assembly (and other venues, like the Security Council). At the end of the listing for your country (Part II of the _Index to Proceedings), see if there is a section for President or Prime Minister or some such designation where speeches by heads of States would be listed.The Drew Library has Index to Proceedings of the General Assembly (Ref United Nations collection - located on A-level in the Learning Center, compact shelving Ref JX 1977.A44 session/part) which indexes speeches at the General Assembly for each session by corporate name/country; by speaker; and by subject.Part II lists speeches by country/people. This print resource is very easy to use and more reliable than UNBISNET. Drew Library owns these publications from the 8th Session through the 63rd Session.
- Most UN Resolutions are adopted without a recorded vote. Only those votes that are recorded indicate how a country voted. TheResolutions and Decisions Adopted by the General Assembly during a stated session is a compilation of votes taken during a specific GA session. The document lists how countries voted when a roll call vote was actually taken for a specific resolution. This document can be found on ODS Advanced. In the search box labeled Words of the title, type in the following phrase: "resolutions and decisions adopted by the general assembly during its" and search. Notice that the number 49 will appear in most of the UN document symbols in the resulting list of documents. You can also use the document symbol to search for this document in the ODS Advanced search:
- Use the binocular icon to search for your country (make sure you use the proper name: example - Russian Federation, not Russia).
- The Voting Records option in UNBISnet - this option provides “the full text of voting records for all resolutions which were adopted - either without a vote or by roll-call or recorded vote - by the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-).” Most records provide only a summary of the vote (i.e.the number of yeas and nays).
- Public Law 79-264 requires that the U.S. State Department report to Congress U.S. participation in the United Nations; the report includes a voting record for the U.S. The reports and voting record are available online from 1999 through 2010 from the State Department. A comparison of how the U.S. voted on key issues to votes by other countries is also available in these. U.S. participation in the United Nations is also available from the State Department.
- Reports of more recent votes in the United Nations can be found at the UN's Press Releases advanced site. Search globally for recent votes, or by organization (e.g. General Assembly, etc) in the "Select" drop down box at the bottom of the Press Release page. In the "Keyword(s) in headline" box type in vote. You can change dates "Date" box. Click "Find" to search.
Human rights/ peace and security issues/ sustainable development/economic development/health issues/special issues
- Ratification of Human Rights concerns by countries can be found at Human Rights in the World.
- The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress are available online from 1999 to the most current report. Print copies are available at the Drew library: 1986 through 1993 on A-level: Y 4.F 76/1-15: (YR) and 1994 onward: Y 4.IN 8/16-15: (YR).
- University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
- European Court of Human Rights HUDOC - free online access to the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights, the European
- Human Rights Index of United Nations Documents - provides access to human rights information found in United Nations documents, related to countries and/or specific rights.
- Ref JC571 .A44- Amnesty International Report. See also Amnesty International. Ref JC571 .F66 - Freedom in the World and online atfreedomhouse.org.
- "The Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC) is the body of independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child by its State parties." http://www.refworld.org/publisher/CRC.html
- Small Arms Survey - Country Case Studies.
- Small Arms Survey - publications Disarmament publications - from the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs. Browse theDisarmament Yearbook Database http://disarmament.un.org/vote.nsf to see how countries voted on specific disarmament (organized by GA session).
- Small Arms and Light Weapons.
- Peacekeeping Guide from the United Nations
- UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Division of Sustainable Development - National Information.
- ECOLEX - A Gateway to Environmental Law
- International Monetary Fund Country Information
- World Bank - Country Data
- Millennium Goals
- Economic Commission for Africa
- Economic Commission for Latin America
- Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
- Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
- Economic Commission for Europe
Health profiles for countriesQuestion of Palestine - "The United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine (UNISPAL) was established and is being developed by the Division for Palestinian Rights in response to successive General Assembly mandates. The main collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace."
World Heritage Centre - "Heritage is our legacy from the past, what we live with today, and what we pass on to future generations. Our cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of life and inspiration. Places as unique and diverse as the wilds of East Africa’s Serengeti, thePyramids of Egypt, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and the Baroque cathedrals of Latin America make up our world’s heritage."
- The United Nations Member States site provides country data: http://www.un.org/en/members/index.shtml
- The Europa World Year Book - Ref Counter JN1 .E85. The most concise, comprehensive way to get quick information on countries.
- UNData - Searches across multiple databases. Also provides detailed country data. Updated data available.
- The CIA's World Factbook provides a lot of information about countries and international organizations.
- The UNPAN's (United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance) Public Administration Country Profile page provides links to the government, constitution and public laws for most countries.
- Country information from deleGATE.
- Nations of the World from the Law Library of Congress, provides many useful links to official government sites, legal guides and general resources for countries worldwide.
- Foreign Information About Countries, from the University of Colorado Libraries.
- Countries of the World - All sorts of unexpected information about countries, dating from 1989.
- Comparative International Statistics, from the US Census.
- NationMaster - pulls data about countries from a variety of economic and political resources.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets - From the US Department of State.
- World Bank eAtlas of Global Development -The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades, so you can see, for example, how “life expectancy at birth” has improved from 1960 up through the latest year.
- World Bank – Open Knowledge Repository
- WHO – Health topics -International statistics and information on mental health worldwide.
- IMF eLibrary Data -The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty. Search by dataset or data topic.
- News and Periodical Resources on the Web. From the Library of Congress, a list of online free news services from around the world.
- The database Proquest LexisNexis (Drew community only access) provides access to over 40 international newspapers.
- From the default search page, click on "Search by Content Type". Opt for All News, Broadcast Transcripts or Foreign Language News.
- The NGO Database "contains information about the organizations that have Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations ECOSOC."
- Search this database by Field of Activity (general topic) or by a specific NGO name.
- Try the DPI/NGO (UN Department of Public Information, Non Governmental Organization) website.
- The Non-Governmental Organization Research Guide from Duke University helps you find NGO's by issues.
- Learn more about the relationship between NGOs and the NGLS, the United Nations at the UN-Non Governmental Liaison Service.
- The NGOs links page lists NGOs alpabetically and by topic.
- Once you have identified specific NGOs, search Academic Search Premier, ProQuest and LexisNexis Academic for scholarly articles and news stories on these organizations (databases available to Drew community from the A-Z Databases by Title).
The best places to begin:
- Perhaps the best place to start is: the alphabetical list page of the United Nations System Directory.
- The alphabetical list page allows you to search by topic. Open up the CEB option at the bottom of the page for thematic access to websites, documents, and more.
- ODS offers keyword search access to UN official documents, but works best if you search using the classification symbols for specific types of UN documents (see the section on "United Nations voting records" above).
- UNBISnet - perhaps more user friendly than ODS.
- United Nations - Groups UN resources by the major functions of the United Nations: Peace and Security; Development; Human Rights; Humanitarian Affairs; International Law
A single entry point for UN statistical databases.
- UN News Centre
- List of all United Nations searchable databases.
- A nice browseable list of many UN and UN related websites is available from the State Department.
- UN Conferences - links to past conferences (1994 - 2008) available from this site (scroll down).
- UN Treaty Collections
- United Nations Acronyms and Short Forms explained.
- The Yearbook of the United Nations (Ref United Nations collection - located on A-level in the Learning Center, compact shelving Ref JZ4947 .Y43 yr) provides coverage of UN issues by year. The most current print edition of the Yearbook is shelved by the Reference Desk (Ref Counter).
- United Nations Multimedia - News articles, radio, television and more.
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations - Ref KZ4968 .M66
- Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics - Ref JZ 1160. E53 2005
- Great Debates at the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues, 1945-2000. - Ref KZ4968 .G67 2001
- United Nations Today (yr) - Ref JZ 4970.U658
- United Nations Handbook (yr) - Ref JX 1977.2.N5U55
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights - Ref JC 571.E673 2009
For specific issues:
- Since specific UN bodies/committees/conferences focus on particular topics, it is important to identify those entities which are most relevant to you topic. The Organization of the UN gives an overview of the organization of the United Nations and provides access to numerous bodies and organizations.
- The following subscription databases are relevant for United Nations research: Columbia International Affairs Online (CAIO); LexisNexis;World News; Worldwide Political Science, ScienceDirect, Academic Search Premier, Sociological Abstracts, EconLit, Proquest Political Science (databases available to Drew community from the A-Z Databases by Title page).
- See also International Law.
Scholarly resources - recommended database. Linked from A-Z Databases by Title
- Academic Search Premier - opt for scholarly journals.
- Proquest Research Library - opt for scholarly journals.
- Proquest Political Science
- Columbia International Affairs Online - think tank and other public policy organization papers and articles.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - premier database for political science research.
- Sociological Abstracts
- Ethnic News Watch - great for non U.S. viewpoints on issues.
- For specific subject resources see: Electronic Resources by Subject.
- Many books on the United Nations are shelved on E-level under the classification number 341.23
- In addition to doing a Keyword search in the Drew catalog, try the Exact search page.
Use the "search for" drop down box and select Subjects.
Search for country names (e.g. iran) or topics (e.g. economic development, peacekeeping, etc)
Click directly to a list of books, or browse a sub-list of topics.
- World Cat (access from Electronic Resources by Title). This database searches catalogs of over 20,000 libraries worldwide. Searching is clunky, but this database provides great access to monographic (book) scholarship. Books not available at Drew can be requested throughInterLibraryLoan directly from book records found in WorldCat.
A quick guide is available online from Newsbank .
News Bias Explored - From the University of Michigan provides some good examples of how to identify media bias, useful activities regarding word choice and links to other sources dealing with news bias.
UN document symbols are very useful for searching, and for understanding documents pulled up from searches. The primary or first letter(s) of the symbol indicated the organ which produces the document (examples: A/- = General Assembly; UNEP/- = United Nations Environmental Programme); Secondary and tertiary symbols indicate if a subset of the larger organs have produced the document (examples: -/AC..../- = ad hoc committee; -/WG.../- = working group). Additional components indicate the nature of the document (examples: -/CRP..... = conference room paper; -/SR..... = summary records of meeting). The final symbol or component reflects modifications of the original text (examples: -/Add... = addendum; -/Summary.....= summarized version).
EXAMPLE: General Assembly, World Conference on Human Rights, Preparatory Committee, document no. 63, addendum no. 4 = A/CONF.157/PC/63/Add.4
(adapted from Basics of UN Document Symbols)
FOR MORE EXAMPLES AND MORE EXTENSIVE EXPLANATIONS SEE: Document Symbols : United Nations Documentation
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480