WGST 400 - Capstone

Finding Discipline-Specific Background
More recent discipline-specific encyclopedias (such as 21st-Century Sociology, or Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science) often contain overviews of feminist theories current in their fields.  To locate those encyclopedias, in the Drew Catalog, search for discipline AND encyclopedia*:


Some sources that specifically focus on feminism and gender studies within particular disciplines are listed below:

Elgar Companion of Feminist Economics, 1999.


Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender, 2003


Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Essays on topics from abortion to working environments.

History of Feminist Literary Criticism, 2007.
Lengthy articles on broad topics, with lists of further reading.

Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theology, 2012. BL458 .O94 2011
Finding Articles
To find items about feminist theory, you will often need to check both an index in Women and Gender Studies, and one that focuses on a specific traditional discipline.  To determine what discipline-based index you should consult, go to Resources by Subject and choose your discipline from the list.  

A good interdisciplinary  search tool is Scholar Search (see the right-hand column of this page), which searches across Library resources, returning results from books, journals, and other sources.  After a preliminary search in Summon, use the facets in the left-hand column to focus your search by genre, date, discipline or subject terms.

Women's and Gender Studies Indexes:

Women's Studies International
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included

GenderWatch
A full text database of a mix of publications, primarily popular, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Finding Books
Search Drew Library Catalog  to look for books owned by Drew.  
Some tips:
To locate a specific book, go to Advanced Search, search the title as a phrase, and click both "title" AND "left to right":

To search for books about a topic, if appropriate, break down the topic into its component subtopics, and search each subtopic in a separate box:
‚Äč
Look at the subject headings of relevant books to identify the exact terms used to describe your topic.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results: