WRTG 113 - Writing Studio - Multilingual (Kimball)

What is EasyBib?
EasyBib is a free, computerized citation formatting tool to assist you in making bibliographies for your papers. If you have an authorized account on EasyBib, you can also keep 'projects' where you collect the citations (information about books, journal articles and other sources) you plan to use in a paper, create versions of them in the correct 'citation format', and incorporate them into Google Documents.
EasyBib account
If you don't already have an account with EasyBib* go to Register at https://edu.easybib.com/auth/coupon 
and enter the coupon code 
drewuniv

In the form that comes up, enter your
  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Drew email address
  • a new password (don't use your Drew password)
  • the same password again
  • choose Student for Position
  • your level in college (College--Other) from the drop-down
*Or have an account from a high school or middle school.
** If you DO already have an EasyBib Account,  upgrade your existing accounts by logging in at https://edu.easybib.com/auth/login, and then entering the school coupon code.

Once you've created your account, you can use Sign in with Google to connect it to your Drew Google account.
Projects in EasyBib
After logging into EasyBib, click on the New Project button and fill in the information on the project you are working on.
Be sure to choose the Citation Style your instructor wants you to use.
  • To put sources into your project, click on Bibliography in the Project, and proceed as usual.
  • To edit a citation, go to Bibliography and click on  Edit in the citation you want to change.
  • To remove a citation from your project, go to Bibliography and click the check mark next to the citation(s) you want to remove. Click on with checked, and choose Delete checked citations.
Putting Citations into EasyBib
To create a citation in EasyBib:
  • On the Bibliography page, click the tab the type of citation you're working with:
    • Website (for items that appear only on the Public Web)
    • Video/film (for movies, youtube videos, etc)
    • Book (for printed and e-books)
    • Journal article (for journal articles you find on the web or in print)
    • etc.
  • In the lower corner of the search window, you can then click on Manual Cite to get a fill-in-the-blank box for your citation.
  • You can also put in the title, ISBN (for a book), or DOI (for a journal article) in the search box and see if EasyBib can find the citation.
  • When you find the citation and click "Proceed to the Final Step" you'll be prompted to fill in any missing information for the citation.
Getting Bibliography Out of EasyBib
To use your Bibliography, go to the project and click on Bibliography.
Click on the Export button and choose one of the options: I prefer Copy and Paste which lets you then copy the bibliography into any document you are working on, whether it's Word, Google Docs, or an email.

Other choices will let you export directly to a certain type of document.
Analyzing your Bibliography
EasyBib also allows you to go into the Bibliography part of a project and select Analyze to have it graph the types of resources you are using.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

What is...
  • A URL?
    A URL is a web page's address. It useally begins with http:// or https://
  • An ISBN?
    An ISBN is a unique number that corresponds to a particular edition of a print or electronic book. They first came into use in the 1970s, so books from before then likely will not have an ISBN. ISBNs can be found on the back of the Title Page and often on the book label on the back of the book.
  • A DOI?
    Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) are unique numbers assigned to particular journal articles. They are relatively recent, only coming into widespread use in the 2000s.
Book Search
Search Library Catalog:
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results: