American Studies

All Items by Source

Core Databases

America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Cross-searchable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The HistoryMakers® Videos and full transcripts for interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
 

Indexes to magazines and books of the 19th century (1800-1899), with some full text.


Reader's Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Indexes popular topics in older issues of popular journals. Covers 1890 through 1983.
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.

Index/Search Tool

Library of Congress Databases & E-Resources
Free databases offered by the Library of Congress.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.
New York Times Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text/page images for the New York Times, 1851 – 2007.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Print Location: Reference BL2520 .E52 Restricted Resource Some full text available
“Explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. “
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States; organized around seven time periods that correspond to key eras in American history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Salem History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of Modern Scandals and The Decades (America in the Nineties, etc), dictionary/encyclopedia of historical trend topics.

Government Information

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)
Proquest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexing and text of a variety of sources pertaining to US government, including many Congressional publications. Coverage extends back 7 to 20 years.

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary source material and historic periodicals including African American Newspapers, Civil War materials, eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
African American Historical Serials Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete texts of six African-American newspapers from the North, ranging from 1837 to 1860.
America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
1690-1922 including Early American Newspapers Series 1, Series 2 and Series 3. Search full text & view scanned pages.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains the full text of selected articles from Northern and Southern American newspapers, Nov. 1860-April 1865.
Pennsylvania Gazette Restricted Resource Some full text available
Text and images from one of the major and longest-running newspapers of 18th century America. Covers 1728-1800, with additional excerpts from The Pennsylvania Packet after 1766. ( Choose Pennsylvania Gazette from the menu when connected. )

Statistics/Data

Statistical Abstract of the United States Restricted Resource
A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States.  Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest.  Updated monthly.

Web Sites

Avalon Project
“The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. “
Online Books by United States Senate Committee on the Judiciary
Online Books by United States Senate Committee on the Judiciary.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. Links to many online archives.
1940 Census Records
"The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions."
19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies
Extensive collection of primary sources from the late 18th century to early 20th on topics ranging from prominent individuals to African-American women and Native Americans. Section on visual culture accesses extensive collections of maps, photographs and cartoons, and other pieces of visual culture.
A New Nation Votes
Election results from early elections.
American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications

Online access to many of the founding Fathers’ writings, from the Library of Congress.


American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
Links to numerous primary documents, audio recordings, images and more. Browse by topic of search by keyword.

American President: Resource on the U.S. Presidents
From the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, an excellent reference source for US presidents, with biographical and professional information and loads of links to more resources.

American Studies @ The University of Virginia
A host of links concerning Ethnicity, Gender, Literature, Popular Culture, and other topics relating to American culture. U. of Virginia.
Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project
"The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project documents the female experience in the U.S. Armed Forces through letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts, and oral histories. It contains more than 500 individual collections which includes 300 oral histories. Housed and maintained in the University Archives in Jackson Library, the materials are a research collection for scholars of military history as well as women's studies."
Black Abolitionist Archive
“The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files. “
Bracero Archive
"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964."
Broadside Verses Collection – Enoch Pratt Free Library
“The Broadside Verses provide a unique look into life in 19th century America, especially life in Maryland between 1860 and 1865, when the country was in turmoil, and immediately after the Civil War. Most of these verses have a political message, but others – advertisements, love songs, temperance songs, ballads about life and death – show what life was like for Marylanders and other Americans after the Civil War, providing insight into the American character and personality.”
Calisphere – A World of Digital Resources
Documents related to California history. From the University of California.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Some full text available
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
City Mayors – Mayors Running the World’s Cities
News and information site from the City Mayors Foundation.
Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
"The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories across the United States."
Collections Search Center, Smithsonian Institution
Search the catalogs of the Smithsonian; some of the records contain "online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources."
Commission on Presidential Debates
The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) was established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners. Its primary purpose is to sponsor and produce debates for the United States presidential and vice presidential candidates and to undertake research and educational activities relating to the debates. The organization, which is a nonprofit, nonpartisan , 501(c)(3) corporation, sponsored all the presidential debates in 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2008.
Constitution Project
"The Constitution Project brings together policy experts and legal practitioners from across the political spectrum to foster consensus-based solutions to the most difficult constitutional challenges of our time." Issues covered include "Checks and Balances," "Counterterrorism," "Criminal Discovery," "Data Collection and Privacy," the death penalty, "Government Surveillance and Searches," immigration, right to counsel, sentencing, and "Transparency and Accountability."
County and City Data Books
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Court Listener
This site was created by Michael Lissner as part of a masters thesis at the University of California, Berkeley School of Information. Michael was advised by Assistant Professor, Brian Carver. The goal of the site is to create a free and competitive real time alert tool for the U.S. judicial system.
“At present, the site has daily information regarding all precedential opinions issued by the 13 federal circuit courts and the Supreme Court of the United States. Each day, we also have the non-precedential opinions from all of the Circuit courts except the D.C. Circuit. “
Digital Harlem: Everyday Life 1915-1930
“The Digital Harlem website presents information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City’s Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930.”
Digital History (U.S.)
A collaborative effort to provide digital access to secondary and primary materials in U.S. history.
Digital Library of American Slavery
“The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.”
Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to “the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region.”
Dirksen Congressional Center: [Historical Collections] Everett M. Dirksen, Newsletters: Congressional Front, 1933-46
"From his first week in office in the House of Representatives through 1946, Congressman Everett Dirksen personally composed and typed weekly newsletters (while Congress was in session) to his constituents in central Illinois. Congressional Front, as it was called, covered the personalities, politics, and policies of Congress and the federal government."
Documenting the American South
DocSouth provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. From the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Doris Duke Collection
“Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes.”
Early Americas Digital Archive
Electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to around 1820. Maryland Institute for Technology supports EADA.
Encyclopedia of Cleveland History
A joint effort by Case Western Reserve University and the Western Reserve Historical Society.
Encyclopedia Virginia
A publication of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities.
EuroDocs
“These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
These open access sources are readily available to all — without fees or subscriptions.”
Famous Firsts by African Americans
List of firsts by African Americans.
FBI Records – The Vault
"The Vault is our new electronic reading room, containing more than 6,700 documents that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office."
FedFlix : Free Movies : Download & Streaming : Internet Archive
"The best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors." All videos are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever. Joint project between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org.
Free at Last? Slavery in Pittsburgh in the 18th and 19th Centuries
From the University of Pittsburgh, based on the exhibition created by Robert Hill and exhibited at the Heinz History Center from October 25, 2008 to April 5, 2009.
Freedom in the 50 states
“This [2011] study comprehensively ranks the American states on their public policies that affect individual freedoms in the economic, social, and personal spheres.” From the George Mason MERCATUS Center
Freedom Summer Digital Collection
Mississippi Freedom Summer Project 1964
Friend of Man

"Friend of Man is one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements. The periodical is of special significance because with the exception of religion, scholars know little about the resources of social movements in rural areas such as Central New York, where Friend of Man was published.

Cornell is truly fortunate to have a close to complete set of Friend of Man, 283 issues, published from 1836 - 1842."


G. Robert Vincent Voice Library Resource contains audio
"A collection of over 40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 100,000 persons from all walks of life."
Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum
Includes both textual, audio, video and artifact collections related to the Ford era.
Grateful Dead Archive Online
From the University of California Santa Cruz Library et al.
Harlem History
Images and text collected and digitized by Columbia University.
HathiTrust
A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
Historical Census Browser
“In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. In a few cases, the census data were augmented with information from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Council of Churches of Christ.”
History News Network – from George Mason University
"The concept behind HNN is simple: We provide historians with a national platform so that they can help shape public debates about vital issues in the news. Every Monday we feature a dozen new articles on the latest news and trends. In our ten years we have published more than 5,000 original articles. Most are written by PhDs."
Immigration to the US, 1789-1930
“Immigration to the US, 1789-1930 is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard’s libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. For Internet users worldwide, Immigration to the US provides unparalleled, free and open digital access to a significant selection of unique source materials—more than 410,000 pages, 100 individually cataloged maps, and 7,800 photographs.”
Internet Archive
3 million out of copyright texts, music, video and more!
Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists Resource contains images Resource contains audio
“The Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists is a compact but highly complex, multi-layered compilation of documents, sound recordings, and visual images.”
JFK Presidential Library and Museum – Digital Archives
The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum collects, preserves, and makes available primary-source materials, in all formats, pertaining to the life and times of John F. Kennedy, the 35th President of the United States. The Library’s holdings include the papers of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Rose Kennedy, as well as close to 400 other collections: those of Kennedy family members, Kennedy administration officials and associates, and pertinent individuals, authors, and institutions.
Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Digitally reproduced seven volume compilation of US Treaties, laws and executive orders relating to Native American tribes; an invaluable source for research on Native American history. Also check out other history sites at Oklahoma State U.
King Center Digital Archive
“Established in 1968 by Mrs. Coretta Scott King, The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (“The King Center”) has been a global destination, resource center and community institution for over a quarter century. “
LGBT Religious Archives Network
Rich gateway to archival resources documenting religious life and history of LGBT persons.
Library – Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Provides full text access to a selection of intelligence documents. The Historical Collection and Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room contain historical documents.
Lincolniana at Brown
Digitized materials from the Lincoln collection at Brown University
Lowcountry Digital Library
“Primary sources from private and educational/cultural institutions focused on South Carolina history and culture.”
Making of America
A " digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. " Full text with some indexing of books and journals from between 1840-1900 in Cornell University’s collection.
Map Collection: University of Chicago Library
Includes Chicago maps as well as links to internet cartography and digital cartography sites.
Mapping the Measure of America
A product of the Social Science Research council; mapping data used in the Human Development Index.
McCarthy Hearings 1953-54

"S. Prt. 107-84 -- Executive Sessions of the Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations of the Committee on Government Operations (McCarthy Hearings 1953-54).  Closed according to Senate rules for 50 years, these hearings are now available to researchers and the public.

This five-volume collection of Senate hearings is available online (in PDF format).  Volumes 1-4 cover the 1953 hearings, and 1954 hearings are found in volume 5."


MetaLib Search
Search across multiple government databases.
MetroTrends
"Urban Institute’s report card on social and economic trends in urban America."
National Archives
Exhaustive index to archives housed by the National Archives in Washington DC. Some fulltext online access available.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service: NCJRS
Topical index to National Criminal Justice documents, information.
National Indian Law Library
From the Native American Rights Fund. Indian Law News bulletins, access to Tribal Laws, online research guides.
National League of Cities
“The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. Working in partnership with the 49 state municipal leagues, NLC serves as a resource to and an advocate for the more than 19,000 cities, villages and towns it represents.”
National Security Archive
“An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. “
New Jersey State Archives: Imaged Collections Resource contains images
"Over 7,100 images from our photograph and manuscript collections are presented below and in our Documentary Treasures area. Consult the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of these and other images available from the New Jersey State Archives."
New York Heritage
NewYorkHeritage.org is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and others who are interested in the Empire State’s history.
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship)
NINES "is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first."
Nuremberg Trial Project

"The Harvard Law School Library ... documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT)." Includes "trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers."


Ohio History
Resources on the history of the state of Ohio from the Ohio Historical Society.
Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
Early War Department papers lost due to fire have been reassembled by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Invaluable source materials for research.
Peace Corps Digital Library
"A searchable collection of official agency materials, and imagery and stories contributed by the Peace Corps community."
Political Graveyard: Search
“A database of political history and cemeteries, with brief biographical entries for 224,230 U.S. political figures, living and dead, from the 1700s to the present.”
Pop History Dig
“A collection of short stories about popular culture – its history, its people, and its power.”
Rotunda – Founders Early Access
Online access to early American documents.
Sid Lapidus Collection on Liberty and the American Revolution
Digitized collection of approx. 180 primary source materials on ” the intellectual origins of the American Revolution; the Revolution itself; the early years of the republic; the resulting spread of democratic ideas in the Atlantic world; and the effort to abolish the slave trade in both Great Britain and the United States.” Part of the Princeton University Digital Library.
Slavery & Abolition in the US
Select Publications of the 1800s that “digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery.” Run by Dickinson College & Millersville University
Southern Education Foundation – publications
“The Southern Education Foundation (SEF) works to advance creative solutions to ensure fairness and excellence in education for all.” Publications date back to the 1950′s.
Special Committee on Un-American Activities (1938-1944)
"These are the records of the hearings of the Dies Committee, set up by the US House of Representatives to monitor "Un-American activities" and foreign propaganda before and during the Second World War....The records ran to 17 volumes of testimonial hearings, plus 7 volumes of executive hearings, plus various appendixes. Below, we have links to most of the volumes, mostly at the Internet Archive, but some at other locations. For each volume, we show the dates of the hearings. There may be some date overlap between volumes in some cases."
States Perform
“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
Texas Slavery Project
The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850.
Theodore Roosevelt Center at Dickinson State University
"Creating a presidential digital library that will serve as a repository for all Roosevelt-related documents, photographs, and ephemera, providing instant access via the internet in a well-organized, comprehensible manner. “
Veterans History Project
The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans.
Vietnam Center and Archive, Texas Tech University
Digitized collections and oral histories, as well as subject guides and FAQs.
Women Working, 1800-1930 Resource contains images

“Women Working is a digital exploration of women’s impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University."
Digitized pages and images, manuscripts and personal papers, institutional record; cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and photographs.”


World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
Links to resources in Criminal Justice.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480