Anthropology

All Items by Source

Core Databases

Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.

Finding Articles

AATA Online: Abstracts of Conservation Literature
A specialized database focusing on Archaeology, art, material culture, technology and artifacts, and conservation. (Free website; Requires free registration.)
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on national and international topics in Political Science.

Full Text Articles

Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
Anthrosource Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Full text of 33 anthropological journals published by the American Anthropological Association.


Anthrosource Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Full text of 33 anthropological journals published by the American Anthropological Association.


Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Dictionaries

Cambridge historical dictionary of disease Restricted Resource
Descriptions of diseases, history of diagnosis and treatment.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: Reference BL31 .E46 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Major reference work in religion and related subjects.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering “Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.”

Web Sites

AAA Style Guide
Style guide for Anthropology. (PDF)
American Black Journal
"Documenting Detroit & American History from African-American Perspectives." From Detroit Public Television.
AMNH DSpace Digital Repository
Search for full text PDFs of results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology going back to the 1880s.
Anthropology Tutorials
Palomar College’s introductory guide to cultural and biological anthropology.
Anthropology – Academic Info
Extensive listing of sites related to cultural, physical and biological anthropology, as well as archaeology, linguistics and evolution.
Archaeology Data Service
ArchSearch searches over a million archaeology records; Archives searches journals (including vols 1-50 of Medieval Archaeology full text), grey literature, websites, etc.; and under Teaching and Learning you can find items such as the Archaeology Image Data Bank.
County and City Data Books
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to “the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region.”
Doris Duke Collection
“Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes.”
World Heritage Centre
"The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty called the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage , adopted by UNESCO in 1972."

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481