Biology

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Finding Articles

Biological Abstracts Restricted Resource
Citations from over 4200 journals in biology and the life sciences, 1969-present.
CINAHL (Combined Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes nursing and allied health journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, practice guidelines and clinical trials.
( Some Links to full text )
GreenFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )
MEDLINE Restricted Resource
MEDLINE® (1950-present)The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.  Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.  Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles
Pharmaceutical News Index Restricted Resource

Indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

Subject coverage

  • Pharmacology
  • Healthcare research
  • Development
  • Regulatory issues

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

bioRxiv
 A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
ArXiv.org E-print Archive Some full text available
Searchable collection of over half a million open access e-prints in math & computer science, statistics, physics, and quantitative biology.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles related to health care, medicine, nursing, dentistry and veterinary medicine.
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Proquest Biology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Just under 400 Biology journal titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A large general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications covering a broad range of subjects. Many full text articles available. 
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines clinical research titles with additional consumer and health administration titles. Covers full text and indexing in major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
Proquest Health Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 800 journals and 4,500+ Doctoral Dissertations and Theses in the  field of health administration, covering Health administration, Health professions, Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business, Management, Personnel, Ethics.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 700+ journals and dissertations, plus some journals indexed only, covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, including Cytology, Nutrition, Oncology, Pediatric Care, Pharmacology, Public Health, Radiology.
Proquest Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
1,145+ journals in science —  965+ full text. 1986-.
Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery, physics,chemistry and chemical engineering. Sample titles include: Green Chemistry, Molecular Biosystems,and Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics PCCP. Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Magazine, online, 1997-present.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Index/Search Tool

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
 

SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties. 

(Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 


note: Drew users only. Must register for SciFinder Account: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=AD704F6A-86F3-5055-1F7B-CD47B3C216E5

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Dictionaries

Collins Dictionary of Biology Restricted Resource
Covers all the major fields within the science, including anatomy, biochemistry, ecology, evolutionary theory, genetics, molecular biology, physiology and taxonomy. (~from the publisher)
Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology Restricted Resource
The revised 3rd edition covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Encyclopedias

Birds of North America Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
eLS Restricted Resource Some full text available
Formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, "eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is an essential resource for students."
Encyclopedia of Evolution Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering evolutionary biology, including behavioral ecology and developmental biology.
Encyclopedia of Global Change Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering types of phenomena that change life on Earth. “General research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.”
Encyclopedia of Life
Open access, curated, collaborative encyclopedia attempting to assemble information about all identified organisms on Earth. Data for organisms (by common and scientific names) includes  an overview, ecology, life history/behavior, conservation, and relevance to humans and ecosystems, media (images, audio and videos as appropriate), maps, a bibliography, and bibliographic references and/or links, collected from databases around the world and/or contributed by members of scientific community.
Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
Detailed zoological information for animals arranged by taxonomy. Includes descriptions, habitat, behavior, evolution, biology
Plants Database
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation service. Provides information about "vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories." Entries will include scientific name, common name(s), classification, species distribution map, and other categories such as images, legal status, links, wildlife connections. Also includes topical categories such as noxious/invasive, endangered/threatened, wetlands, etc.

Handbooks & Guides

Evidence-Based Herbal Medicine
Print Location: Reference RM666 .H33 E95 2002
"This reference affords the clinician an evidence-based evaluation of 65 common herbal remedies.Each entry provides a history of the herb's use;an explanation of its pharmacology;an overview of the clinical trial evidence with respect to effiacy,adverse effects,and interactions;and dosage information." (Ziment,Rotblatt M.) Print.
Handbook of Clinically Tested Herbal Remedies
Print Location: Reference RM666 .H33 H363 2004
A comprehensive handbook (two volumes of 700+ pages each) that offers information about 160 herbal products that have been thoroughly tested in clinical trials. Details of the products and the clinical trials are provided (Amazon.com). Print.
Merck Index, 14th edition
Print Location: Reference RS51 .M4 2006
Information on 12,000+ chemical compounds including organic chemicals, botanicals, cosmeceuticals, nutriceuticals, pharmaceuticals, natural products, dyes, traditional medicines.  Shows chemical and common names, empirical formula, structures for 8500 compounds, CAS registry numbers and citations to patent and chemical literature (usually first identification or synthesis info). Indexes by CAS registry number, empirical formula, common name, chemical name.  Print.
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Substances
Detailed information on the latest uses, actions, dosages, contraindications, side effects/adverse reactions, interactions, pharmacology, alerts, and references for more than 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements (Amazon.com). Electronic.
Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements, and Herbs
Print Location: Reference RM671 .A1 P48 2012
Complete descriptions of the most commonly used OTC medications, with comprehensive information about ingredients, indications, and interactions of hundreds of OTC drugs. Print.

Images

Photojournal: NASA's Image Access Home Page.
Provides search access to the Planetary Image Archive of NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory where images from past NASA exploration programs are stored and updated daily. Other searchable information includes the mission, spacecraft, or instrument. Select images of Earth depict geological and envrionmental changes dues to various factors. From National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Statistics/Data

Data.gov
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
Integrated Digitized Biocollections (iDigBio)
Site provides access to millions of records about neontological and paleontological specimens, including  information about the specimen, when, where and by whom it was collected, the institution providing the data, and media related to the specimen, curated by museums and other institutions in the US.Search results are provided in two forms: mapped on a global map and in a record containing detailed data about the specimen. Also searchable here are DNA Banks and Genetic Resources Repositories in the U.S., PhyloJIVE (Phylogeny Javascript Information Visualiser and Explorer), Lifemapper,  and Arbor Workflows.  Funded by the National Science Foundation.
NatureServe Explorer
Data source for information on plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, including rare and endangered species. Information includes scientific and common names, conservation status, distribution maps, images for thousands of species, life histories, and conservation needs. NatureServe is a non-profit organization whose mission is "to provide the scientific basis for effective conservation action". ~ from the organizations's website.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Current headlines from Science news

Loading ...

Websites
Websites, topics A-C
Agriculture    Archaeology and Paleobiology
  • AMNH DSpace Digital Repository Unrestricted Resource
    Search for full text PDFs of results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology going back to the 1880s.​
  • eSkeletons Unrestricted Resource
    eSkeletons is an interactive environment where one can examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through an osteology database created by students and faculty from the Department of Anthropology at the University of Texas at Austin. Search by taxon, through comparative anatomy, and use the legend to decipher terms used to describe the images. 
  • Paleobiology Database Unrestricted Resource
    International researchers and institutions collaborate to organize information on the plant and animal fossil record.

Biodiversity
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library Unrestricted Resource
    Search by scientific name, title, author, subject for full text of books and papers digitized and provided by 12+ organizations, including Cambridge, Harvard, Cornell and the Smithsonian.
  • Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nations (BISON) Unrestricted Resource
    Limited information about species occurrences throughout the U.S. Searchable by scientific or popular species name or through interactive map. Other useful information can be “layered” with location, e.g. weather, soils, ecosystems and more.  From the U.S. Geological Survey.
Botany
  • Index Fungorum – Search Unrestricted Resource
    "The Index Fungorum, the global fungal nomenclator coordinated and supported by the Index Fungorum Partnership (Landcare Research-NZ and RBG Kew : Mycology), contains names of fungi (including yeasts, lichens, chromistan fungal analogues, protozoan fungal analogues and fossil forms) at all ranks."
  • Plant Information Online Unrestricted Resource
    U of Minnesota indexes plant images and text from books and journals. See Selected Links to Plant Info & Images for text and images that are freely available to users. 
Clinical research
  • Clinical Trials.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Site provides access to information on clinical studies involving human volunteers experiencing a wide range of diseases and conditions. Study results are provided by the lead person and are  updated during, or at the conclusion of the trial. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Websites, topics H-I
Historical Information
  •  
  • AMNH DSpace Digital Repository Unrestricted Resource
    Search for full text PDFs of results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology going back to the 1880s.
  • Charles Darwin’s Papers Online Unrestricted Resource
    Access the full text of Darwin’s papers, given by the Darwin family to Cambridge University.
  • Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics Unrestricted Resource
    Digitized historical documents from the collections of Harvard University on diseases and epidemics.
  • Profiles in Science Unrestricted Resource
    From the National Library of Medicine. "This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health. It makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public through modern digital technology."​
  • Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable database of PDFs of full text of 600+ volumes on various species and topics. Note that Drew University Library has these in print or microform at SuDoc SI 1.27:xxx (where xxx is the volume number).
  • Trailblazing: Three and a half centuries of Royal Society Publishing Unrestricted Resource
    A selection of historically significant papers by (mostly) famous scientists. Use the Timeline or Download the PDF and use the “find” function to search by scientist or keyword. 
  • Wallace Online Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable collection of writings of Alfred Russel Wallace, Charles Darwin’s contemporary and fellow British naturalist, known for 19th century contributions to fields of evolutionary biology and biogeography.  Possible interest to environmental sciences,  natural history, and history of scientific practices.  From Dr. John van Wyhe, University of Singapore who’s published extensively on Darwin and Wallace.

Human anatomy and physiology
  • Cell Biology Animation Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
    Tutorial and animations of cell biology by John Kyrk, a graphic artist who is a biologist.
  • DNA Learning Center Unrestricted Resource
    Resources for learning about biotechnology and DNA. Also: "Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement," "DNA from the Beginning," "Your Genes, Your Health," "DNA Interactive and myDNAi," "Inside Cancer and Inside Cancer Teacher Center," "Weed to Wonder," "Learn About Spinal Muscular Atrophy," "Genes to Cognition Online," etc. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. ​
Websites, topics D-F
Education
  • BEN portal Unrestricted Resource
    National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway for biological sciences education. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Endangered and Invasive Species 
  • IUCN Red List of Threatened Species Unrestricted Resource
    Find the status, geographic distribution, habitat, population, and assessment criteria for 60,000 species from all over the world using this search tool from the respected International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources.
  • National Invasive Species Information Center (USDA) Unrestricted Resource
    Invasive species information clearinghouse searchable by location, species, and more. Excellent “I want to...” section will answer most questions.  From the National Agriculture Library.
  • Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS) - USGS Unrestricted Resource
    Real-time data about occurrence and distribution of nonindigenous aquatic organisms in the U.S., focus on freshwater organisms and fishes.  Searchable by species, state/county, and more. From United States Geological Survey, U.S. Dept of the Interior.
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Unrestricted Resource
    Selective use of overflowing site will provide information about Fish and Aquatic Conservation (particularly Aquatic Invasive Species, with some details about populations, but not comprehensive and no photos), Endangered Species (detailed information about population locations, critical habitat, conservation plans, and more, but oddly no photos), and the Coastal Program (promotes and supports efforts to protect and remediate vulnerable coastal ecosystems). From the U.S. Dept of the Interior. 
  • World Heritage Centre (WHC) Unrestricted Resource
    WHC was created to encourage conservation and preservation of cultural and natural resources, both internationally and on a local basis. Website contains information about WHC’s activities and programs, including discussions about worldwide endangered sites and resources and about ongoing efforts to preserve global resources. From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
Environmental 
  • ACToR Unrestricted Resource
    A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA.
  • NCDC – Image and Publications System Unrestricted Resource
    The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. 
  • Pew Environment Group Unrestricted Resource
    Reports and news on the environment from the Pew Trust.
  • TOXNET Unrestricted Resource
    Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Ethics
Websites, topics G
General reference
  • Biosciences– WWW Virtual Library Unrestricted Resource
    Comprehensive list of biology resources arranged by subject areas. Medicine and Veterinary Medicine links are included.
  • E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers Unrestricted Resource
    Full text of articles in science (especially physics) and technology.  
  • Encyclopedia of Earth Unrestricted Resource
    Encyclopedia of Earth is a free, searchable, electronic, collaborative, peer-reviewed reference source produced by scholars and experts that aims to cover all topics about the earth and its environment.
  • lanl.arXiv.org e-Print archive mirror Unrestricted Resource
    Open access to 865,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics, owned and funded by Cornell University with partial funding from NSF.  
  • Martindale’s The Reference Desk Unrestricted Resource
    Links to online resources on a wide variety of topics-- choose the science from the list.
  • NCBI Unrestricted Resource
    A national resource for molecular biology information, the National Center for Biotechnology Information creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information 
  • Scitable Unrestricted Resource
    "A free science library and personal learning tool from the Nature Publishing Group." Topic sections on Cell Biology, Genetics, and Ecology, plus career advice, networking, discussion boards, blogs, etc. Users can also create online classroom and discussion groups.
Geospatial information
  • Geologic Atlas of the United States Unrestricted Resource
    The Texas A&M University Libraries provides online access to the U.S. Geological Survey, 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945.
  • Geoplatform.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) 
  • USGS National Geologic Lexicon Database: “Geolex” Unrestricted Resource
    Excellent search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names of geologic rock units of North America.   Additional retrievable information includes unit’s age, location, extent, type locality, and history.  From the US Geological Survey.USGS National Geologic Map Database Unrestricted Resource
    Indexed maps and geospatial data (1880s-present) searchable on “themes” like geology, geophysics, marine geology, and selectable by state, county, map scale, and more.  Prominent “Help” button useful for effective searching. From the Assoc of American State Geologists and the U.S. Geological Survey.
Government Information
  • Data.gov Unrestricted Resource
    "Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
  • OECD Data Lab Unrestricted Resource
    Economic data collected for all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development members, as well as annual reports, best practices, newsletters, projections, working documents and more. 
  • SciTech Connect Unrestricted Resource
    Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
  • Science.gov Unrestricted Resource
    A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
  • Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable database of PDFs of full text of 600+ volumes on various species and topics. Note that Drew University Library has these in print or microform at SuDoc SI 1.27:xxx (where xxx is the volume number).
  • USGS Science Resources for Undergraduate Education Unrestricted Resource
    Selected government sites of interest to biology and environmental studies majors, including geography, geology, and water.
Websites, topics L - M
Laboratory related Marine biology Medical subjects   
Websites, topics N - Z
Neuroscience
  • Neuroscience Information Framework Unrestricted Resource
    Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Health and Human Services, and NIH Blueprint, this site offers neuroscience specific searching of primary literature (with links to full text when available), websites, and the hidden web.
Ornithology
  • All about birds Unrestricted Resource
    Useful resource that offers a Bird Guide, Bird Cams, Birding Basics, and more. Bird Guide is searchable by popular or scientific name, shape or taxonomy.  Information by species Includes identification, natural history, sounds, videos and a link to The Birds of North America Online. From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.
Primates
  • Primate Info Net Unrestricted Resource
    From the Wisconsin National Primate Center, the site is curated by the Lawrence Jacobsen Library staff and is "...designed to cover the broad field of primatology, providing original content and links to resources about nonhuman primates in research, education and conservation." ~from the website
Student resources

Taxonomy