Pan-African Studies

All Items by Source

Core Databases

America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.

Background

Defining Moments: The Harlem Renaissance
Print Location: NS 512.3 .A35 H55
An introductory volume on this era, collecting a "narrative overview," followed by biographies of 10 of the prominent figures, and finally some primary sources from authors such as Langston Hughes, W.E.B. Dubois, and Dorothy West.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Print Location: REFERENCE PS 153 .N5 A24 20013
Covers the makers of "music, sculpture, poems and novels" of the Harlem Renaissance, as well as the places, organizations and people who influenced it. Signed articles with bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance (Routledge)
Print Location: REFERENCE NX512.3 .A35 E53 2004
Longer profiles of people and works of the Harlem Renaissance. Signed articles with bibliographies.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature
Print Location: REFERENCE PS 153 .N5 G73 2005
Covers African-American writers, literary movements, and important places in African-American literary history, such as Harlem and the Harlem Renaissance.
Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion
Print Location: PS 153 .N5 H245 2003
Entries on the general aspects of the Harlem Renaissance (vol. 1) and literary-critical entries on writers of the Harlem Renaissance, each including material by the author as well as critical essays from other sources.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.
Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Cross-searchable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The HistoryMakers® Videos and full transcripts for interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
 

Indexes to magazines and books of the 19th century (1800-1899), with some full text.


PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
Reader's Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Indexes popular topics in older issues of popular journals. Covers 1890 through 1983.
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.

Literary Criticism

Contemporary Authors Restricted Resource
Biographies and criticism of authors, playwrights, journalists, and scriptwriters published in English from 1900 to today.

Index/Search Tool

Library of Congress Databases & E-Resources
Free databases offered by the Library of Congress.

Journals/Magazines

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of a mix of publications, primarily popular, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Newspapers

New York Times Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text/page images for the New York Times, 1851 – 2007.

Videos

HistoryMakers Restricted Resource
Videos and full transcripts for interview with 100 contemporary African Americans


 
note: Videos and full transcripts for interview with 100 contemporary African Americans
MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Encyclopedias

Black Women in America Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Biographical and subject reference on African-American women in American history.


Oxford African American Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, Africana, content from the African American National Biography project, Encyclopedia of African American Art & Architecture, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, articles from other reference works, bibliographies, timelines, maps, images, primary source documents, links to Internet resources.
Salem History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of Modern Scandals and The Decades (America in the Nineties, etc), dictionary/encyclopedia of historical trend topics.

Government Information

Data.gov
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary source material and historic periodicals including African American Newspapers, Civil War materials, eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
African American Historical Serials Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete texts of six African-American newspapers from the North, ranging from 1837 to 1860.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains the full text of selected articles from Northern and Southern American newspapers, Nov. 1860-April 1865.

Statistics/Data

American Factfinder Some full text available
Demographic and other statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. Free U.S. Government Website.

Web Sites

Avalon Project
“The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. “
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
From the NYPL's Digital Schomburg collection.
African Studies Internet Resources
A collection of links specifically on Africa, compiled by Columbia University.
African-American Mosaic Exhibition
Primary Sources on African American History: Exhibits and digital material from the Library of Congress’s collections.
American Black Journal
"Documenting Detroit & American History from African-American Perspectives." From Detroit Public Television.
American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
Links to numerous primary documents, audio recordings, images and more. Browse by topic of search by keyword.

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
Samples of slave narratives compiled by journalists between 1936 to 1938 funded by the WPA.
Black Abolitionist Archive
“The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files. “
City Mayors – Mayors Running the World’s Cities
News and information site from the City Mayors Foundation.
Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
"The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories across the United States."
Commission on Presidential Debates
The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) was established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners. Its primary purpose is to sponsor and produce debates for the United States presidential and vice presidential candidates and to undertake research and educational activities relating to the debates. The organization, which is a nonprofit, nonpartisan , 501(c)(3) corporation, sponsored all the presidential debates in 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2008.
County and City Data Books
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Digital Harlem: Everyday Life 1915-1930
“The Digital Harlem website presents information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City’s Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930.”
Digital History (U.S.)
A collaborative effort to provide digital access to secondary and primary materials in U.S. history.
Digital Library of American Slavery
“The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.”
Documenting the American South
DocSouth provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. From the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
EuroDocs
“These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
These open access sources are readily available to all — without fees or subscriptions.”
Famous Firsts by African Americans
List of firsts by African Americans.
FBI Records – The Vault
"The Vault is our new electronic reading room, containing more than 6,700 documents that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office."
Free at Last? Slavery in Pittsburgh in the 18th and 19th Centuries
From the University of Pittsburgh, based on the exhibition created by Robert Hill and exhibited at the Heinz History Center from October 25, 2008 to April 5, 2009.
Freedom in the 50 states
“This [2011] study comprehensively ranks the American states on their public policies that affect individual freedoms in the economic, social, and personal spheres.” From the George Mason MERCATUS Center
Freedom Summer Digital Collection
Mississippi Freedom Summer Project 1964
Friend of Man

"Friend of Man is one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements. The periodical is of special significance because with the exception of religion, scholars know little about the resources of social movements in rural areas such as Central New York, where Friend of Man was published.

Cornell is truly fortunate to have a close to complete set of Friend of Man, 283 issues, published from 1836 - 1842."


Harlem History
Images and text collected and digitized by Columbia University.
HathiTrust
A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
Historical Census Browser
“In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. In a few cases, the census data were augmented with information from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Council of Churches of Christ.”
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
An excellent compilation of free full text access to important documents from the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Documents date from the 1950's onward.
History News Network – from George Mason University
"The concept behind HNN is simple: We provide historians with a national platform so that they can help shape public debates about vital issues in the news. Every Monday we feature a dozen new articles on the latest news and trends. In our ten years we have published more than 5,000 original articles. Most are written by PhDs."
Internet Archive
3 million out of copyright texts, music, video and more!
Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists Resource contains images Resource contains audio
“The Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists is a compact but highly complex, multi-layered compilation of documents, sound recordings, and visual images.”
JFK Presidential Library and Museum – Digital Archives
The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum collects, preserves, and makes available primary-source materials, in all formats, pertaining to the life and times of John F. Kennedy, the 35th President of the United States. The Library’s holdings include the papers of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Rose Kennedy, as well as close to 400 other collections: those of Kennedy family members, Kennedy administration officials and associates, and pertinent individuals, authors, and institutions.
King Center Digital Archive
“Established in 1968 by Mrs. Coretta Scott King, The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (“The King Center”) has been a global destination, resource center and community institution for over a quarter century. “
Library System – Howard University: Guides: African Americans (Internet Links)
Howard University’s compilation of web sites related to African Americans. As well as including sites on history, culture, and literature, they also list sources on demographics, health, and science.
Library – Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Provides full text access to a selection of intelligence documents. The Historical Collection and Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room contain historical documents.
Lowcountry Digital Library
“Primary sources from private and educational/cultural institutions focused on South Carolina history and culture.”
National Archives
Exhaustive index to archives housed by the National Archives in Washington DC. Some fulltext online access available.
New Jersey State Archives: Imaged Collections Resource contains images
"Over 7,100 images from our photograph and manuscript collections are presented below and in our Documentary Treasures area. Consult the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of these and other images available from the New Jersey State Archives."
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship)
NINES "is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first."
Nuremberg Trial Project

"The Harvard Law School Library ... documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT)." Includes "trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers."


Political Graveyard: Search
“A database of political history and cemeteries, with brief biographical entries for 224,230 U.S. political figures, living and dead, from the 1700s to the present.”
Primary Sources- Sondiata and Mansa Musa on the Web
Primary Sources on medieval West African History.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Digital Schomburg- Material from New York Public Library’s premiere collection on African American history and literature.
Slavery & Abolition in the US
Select Publications of the 1800s that “digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery.” Run by Dickinson College & Millersville University
Southern Education Foundation – publications
“The Southern Education Foundation (SEF) works to advance creative solutions to ensure fairness and excellence in education for all.” Publications date back to the 1950′s.
States Perform
“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
Texas Slavery Project
The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850.
World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
Links to resources in Criminal Justice.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480