Business, Society and Culture

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ABI-Inform Restricted Resource Some full text available
Massive business and industry database, including full text of the Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Elite Restricted Resource
Indexes  important business journals, with full text for many of them.
EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.

Background

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
OxResearch Restricted Resource
Short articles discussing and analyzing "economic and political developments worldwide" in relation to the business climate.

Finding Articles

ABI-Inform Restricted Resource Some full text available
Massive business and industry database, including full text of the Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
Accounting & Tax Restricted Resource
2,300+ journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations etc. covering Accounting, Tax management, Auditing, Tax law, Financial law, Financial advising, Financial governance, Financial Risk Management.
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Business Source Elite Restricted Resource
Indexes  important business journals, with full text for many of them.
EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on national and international topics in Political Science.

Full Text Articles

Banking Information Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Industry and professional newsletters, School of Bank Marketing Papers, Stonier Theses, 360 full-text sources. Subjects: Banks & Banking industry, Banking law, Finance, Financial institutions, Financial services industry, Investments, etc.
Proquest Asian Business & Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. Includes: News and current awareness sources, Country information and statistics, People and institutions, Policy and analysis.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Supplements Business Source Elite, providing full text access to more than 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications)
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Newspapers

CBCA Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Canadian bibliographic full-text reference and current events database.  CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). 1,665+ titles indexed with 500+ periodicals and daily news sources full text.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.
New York Times Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text/page images for the New York Times, 1851 – 2007.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research
From the Univ. of Connecticut Dept. of Economics, IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics available on the Internet. Provides access to many full text research items.

Directories

ReferenceUSA Directory Restricted Resource
(Provided through NJ State Library; also available on jerseyclicks.org)
A directory of businesses large and small, many with financial data and employee data. Use the Custom search to locate records by Business Type (industry segment or NAICS code), number of employees, location, business expenditures (by type), etc.
note: Also available via Jerseyclicks.org using NJ library card number.

Dissertations

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
"Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use."

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, supply chain management, etc.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ïnternational-scope reference on economic history, with short articles on people and longer ones on “markets, industries, and labor.”

Government Information

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)
FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)

Statistics/Data

World DataBank
Extensive data from the World Bank. Sign up required, but membership is free. A free web resource.)

Web Sites

HRC – Corporate Equality Index
Human Rights Campaign's "national benchmarking tool on corporate policies and practices related to LGBT employees."
AnnualReports.com
Free annual reports.
BEA – State BEARFACTS
Quick economic and demographic data for states, from the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

BigCharts
“Stock Charts, Screeners, Interactive Charting and Research Tools”
Boston College Center for Corporate Citizenship
"Educational resource for companies trying to strengthen their relationship with communities and build sustainable strategies for addressing large societal issues."
Business USA
U.S. Government resources for Business.
CensusScope
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.
County and City Data Books
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Deposit Rates Exchange
“Compare Interest Rates for Fixed, Term, Time and CD Deposits Worldwide”
Doing Business – The World Bank Group
Reliable full text free reports by international analysts, from the World Bank.
Dow Jones Global Index Analysis
Dow Jones Global Index Analysis provides brief performance analyses for ten market sectors and six regions. The analyses are based on 50 DJ indexes.
Dow Jones Indexes
Dow Jones Indexes develops, maintains and licenses market indexes for investment products, including the Dow Jones Industrial Average, and the leading pan-European indexes, the Dow Jones STOXX Indexes.
Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes
"The Dow Jones Sustainability Indices serve as benchmarks for investors who integrate sustainability considerations into their portfolios, and provide an effective engagement platform for companies who want to adopt sustainable best practices.... RobecoSAM Indices is a business unit of RobecoSAM, an investment specialist focused exclusively on Sustainability Investing."
Economic Policy Institute
Nonpartisan think tank, focusing on needs of the American worker.
EUROPA – Economic and monetary affairs
From the European Union. Access to official European Union policy and statistics.
European Union Institutions and Bodies
Links to EU units. Collected by  Berkeley Library.
Everything International
Global business and country resources.
FAOSTAT
“Time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. “
FBI Records – The Vault
"The Vault is our new electronic reading room, containing more than 6,700 documents that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office."
FedStats
Gateway to statistics from over 100 Federal agencies
Free Management Library
Curated informational/educational resources for managers on a variety of business and managerial topics. Use the menu of topics to narrow to particular resources, or choose Broader Categories to find more. Look at How to Use It (in the About Library section) for more information.
Freedom in the 50 states
“This [2011] study comprehensively ranks the American states on their public policies that affect individual freedoms in the economic, social, and personal spheres.” From the George Mason MERCATUS Center
Gapminder: Unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view.
Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries are web-services displaying time series of development statistics for all countries, "converting boring numbers into enjoyable, animated and interactive graphics."
ILO Department of Statistics
International labor statistics from the International Labour Organisation, with links to statistical tables, free publications and more.
IMF – International Monetary Fund Data
The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty.
Data include financial stattics as well as region and country information. Check out the working papers and data by country.
Index. NYCdata
Through the Weissman Center for International Business, Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College/CUNY.
Industry Snapshots from the Economic Census
Statistics on industries, subdivided by NAICS code, based on the Economic Census done every 5 years.
IPL — Business and Economics
List of recommended links on business from a reputable virtual library. Links are organized by business subcategories
LABORSTA Internet
International Labor statistics of all kinds, from the International Labour Office.
Latest News from Business Wire
Breaking News, Press Release, PR, Public Relations, IR, Investor Relations, EDGAR filing, XBRL, regulatory filings.
Latin American Business History – Resources and Research
Oral Histories and listings of Latin American Business History related special collections from Harvard Business School.
MarketingCharts: charts and data for marketers in web and Excel format
Surveys and polls related to marketing and advertising. Useful entry points are the Most Popular Recent Charts/Stories, Major Media Categories and Article Topics, all on the right hand side of the page.
Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library (MHDL)consists of digitized collections of classic media periodicals in the public domain searchable through the interface "Lantern" (coordinated by the MHDL and Univ of Wisconsin). The MHDL is supported by donors who cover the cost of scanning loaned materials. Periodical collections include early cinema, fan magazines, global cinema, non-theatrical film, technical journals, government and law, magical lantern and lantern slide catalog, and others. 
MetroTrends
"Urban Institute’s report card on social and economic trends in urban America."
NLRB : National Labor Relations Board
The National Labor Relations Board, an independent federal agency, administers the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector.
OECD Data Lab
Economic data collected for all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development members, as well as annual reports, best practices, newsletters, projections, working documents and more.
Pop History Dig
“A collection of short stories about popular culture – its history, its people, and its power.”
Rutgers Accounting Web
“Since 1994, Rutgers Accounting Web has been the center of accounting research. ” Find lectures, digital resources and more.
SEC – EDGAR
From the Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR provides access to company filings for publicly held foreign and domestic companies.
Statistics for Specific Industries | SBA.gov
Data about specific industries collected by the U.S. Federal Government, specifically selected for small business owners...
ThomasNet
Industrial Product/Service Search.
U.S. Census Bureau – Subjects A-Z
Browse Census topics for business and labor, minority business and more.
United Nations Statistics Division
Access Social and Demographic statistics, and the Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
VOX
“VoxEU.org is a policy portal set up by the Centre for Economic Policy Research (www.CEPR.org) in conjunction with a consortium of national sites. Vox aims to promote research-based policy analysis and commentary by leading scholars. The intended audience is economists in governments, international organisations, academia and the private sector as well as journalists specializing in economics, finance and business.”
Wage Determinations OnLine
"Providing public access to federal wage determinations and other information."
Wirtz Labor Digital Library
The Wirtz Labor Digital Library contains both historically significant and current resources pertaining to labor, materials representative of the physical holdings at the Wirtz Labor Library, U.S. Department of Labor.
Women Working, 1800-1930 Resource contains images

“Women Working is a digital exploration of women’s impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University."
Digitized pages and images, manuscripts and personal papers, institutional record; cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and photographs.”


World Bank
The World Bank provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. This site provides information about individual countries, current World Bank projects, and topical issues related to the organization’s assistance, including sustainability.
World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades, so you can see, for example, how “life expectancy at birth” has improved from 1960 up through the latest year.
World Bank – Open Knowledge Repository
"The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
WWW Virtual Library Labour History
The Labour History section of the WWW Virtual Library, part of the WWW VL History Network, maintained by the International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, since October 1996.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480