Chemistry

Chemistry Resources
All Items by Source

Finding Articles

Green Chemistry Restricted Resource
Journal that offers research on the development of alternative sustainable technologies, e.g. the design of greener and safer chemicals and materials, the use of sustainable resources, and the chemical aspects of renewable energy. ~from the publisher.
MEDLINE Restricted Resource
MEDLINE® (1950-present)The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.  Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.  Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles
Pharmaceutical News Index Restricted Resource

Indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

Subject coverage

  • Pharmacology
  • Healthcare research
  • Development
  • Regulatory issues

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Restricted Resource
Royal Society of Chemistry  is the world's leading Chemistry Community.  We subscribe to 24 RSC journals, with other content available through inter-library loan.

  Search scientific research content from RSC Publishing in one simple search
SEARCH:  

SciFinder Restricted Resource
 

SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties. 

(Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 


note: Drew users only. Must register for SciFinder Account: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=AD704F6A-86F3-5055-1F7B-CD47B3C216E5
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

American Chemical Society Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to journals published by the American Chemical Society.
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Proquest Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
1,145+ journals in science —  965+ full text. 1986-.
Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery, physics,chemistry and chemical engineering. Sample titles include: Green Chemistry, Molecular Biosystems,and Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics PCCP. Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Magazine, online, 1997-present.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Index/Search Tool

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is a free online resource for identifying or confirming journal titles and abbreviations of publications indexed by Chemical Abstract Service since 1907. 

Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN (information from CAS website).
ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database, searchable by chemical name or structure, providing access to 25 million+ structures, properties and associated information from RSC–the Royal Society of Chemistry.

 
Search millions of chemical structures on ChemSpider

Search for FREE below by systematic name, synonym, trade name, or registry number (or go direct for free structure searching).
 
 
Powered by ChemSpider

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
 

SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties. 

(Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 


note: Drew users only. Must register for SciFinder Account: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=AD704F6A-86F3-5055-1F7B-CD47B3C216E5
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Audio Files

Distillations Podcast Resource contains audio
Audio podcasts providing “commentary and perspective on the past, present, and future of chemistry.” From the Chemical Heritage Foundation

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Citation Styles

ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information, 3rd Ed.
Print Location: Reference QD8.5 .A25 2006 Restricted Resource
Guide provides information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts to conform to ACS standards. Detailed examples of citations are included. 

Handbooks & Guides

ACS Style Guide (electronic version) Restricted Resource
Electronic version of ACS Style Guide provides information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts to conform to ACS standards. Detailed examples of citations and references are provided.
Encyclopedia of Chromatography Restricted Resource Some full text available
A guide to specific chromatographic techniques and principles, providing a basic introduction to the science and technology of the method, as well as additional references on the theory and methodology for analysis of specific chemicals and applications in a range of industries.
Evidence-Based Herbal Medicine
Print Location: Reference RM666 .H33 E95 2002
"This reference affords the clinician an evidence-based evaluation of 65 common herbal remedies.Each entry provides a history of the herb's use;an explanation of its pharmacology;an overview of the clinical trial evidence with respect to effiacy,adverse effects,and interactions;and dosage information." (Ziment,Rotblatt M.) Print.
Handbook of Clinically Tested Herbal Remedies
Print Location: Reference RM666 .H33 H363 2004
A comprehensive handbook (two volumes of 700+ pages each) that offers information about 160 herbal products that have been thoroughly tested in clinical trials. Details of the products and the clinical trials are provided (Amazon.com). Print.
Merck Index, 14th edition
Print Location: Reference RS51 .M4 2006
Information on 12,000+ chemical compounds including organic chemicals, botanicals, cosmeceuticals, nutriceuticals, pharmaceuticals, natural products, dyes, traditional medicines.  Shows chemical and common names, empirical formula, structures for 8500 compounds, CAS registry numbers and citations to patent and chemical literature (usually first identification or synthesis info). Indexes by CAS registry number, empirical formula, common name, chemical name.  Print.
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Substances
Detailed information on the latest uses, actions, dosages, contraindications, side effects/adverse reactions, interactions, pharmacology, alerts, and references for more than 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements (Amazon.com). Electronic.
Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements, and Herbs
Print Location: Reference RM671 .A1 P48 2012
Complete descriptions of the most commonly used OTC medications, with comprehensive information about ingredients, indications, and interactions of hundreds of OTC drugs. Print.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Other resources
C&EN:Chemical & Engineering News Feed

Loading ...

SciFinder resources
Learn details about other ways to search for chemical substances using SciFinder. Link below contains quick and easy video tutorials for searching by:
  • structure,
  •  reaction, or
  • for polymers. 

LINK HERE
Resources for Analytical Chemistry
Go to this LINK for resources to support your analytical chemistry research, including links to searching spectral information.
 
ChemBioDraw
ChemBioDraw Unrestricted Resource
ChemBioDraw is a drawing tool for chemists and biologists to use to create chemical compound drawings and for searching chemical databases like SciFinder. Drew students may download software as part of Drew's site license.
Websites (By title, A-F)
Chemical Substance Information
  • CheMagic - the Virtual Model Toolkit Unrestricted Resource
    Useful tool designed to help visualize molecules while providing additional chemical data about the compound.  Typing the name of the compound of interest will result in the appropriate ball-and-stick model, as well as a space-filling model. Right-clicking on the model gives you an extensive menu of options, including the ability to export it in a variety of image formats.  Created by Dr. Otis Rothenberger, Chemistry faculty, Illinois State University (retired). 
  •  eMolecules – Searching the World’s Chemistry Unrestricted Resource
    Locate suppliers of chemicals using structure, CAS registry numbers or names. Find spectra for 500 selected compounds free.
  •   PubChem Project Unrestricted Resource
    PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. Integrated with Entrez, which is NCBI’s primary search engine, PubChem also provides compound substance data.
Environmental & Toxicity Information
  • ACToR Unrestricted Resource
    A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA. 
  • ACS Green Chemistry Institute Unrestricted Resource
    Promotes green chemistry and green engineering through news, teaching aids, and resources 
  • TOXNET Unrestricted Resource
    Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Websites (By title, G-R)
General Reference and Government Information
General Reference
  • KnowledgeDoor Unrestricted Resource
    “One click” access to physical, electronic, and thermodynamic properties of all elements.  Includes constants, conversion factors, mathematical equations, and an interactive periodic table, each linked to source citations.  

Government Information
  • Science.gov Unrestricted Resource
    A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. 
  •  Household products database Unrestricted Resource
    From National Institutes of Health and National Library of Medicine, includes a section on Personal Care that lists ingredients of brand name products with CAS registry numbers. It is also searchable by ingredient and includes links to other National Library of Medicine databases.
Historical Information and Industry News
Historical Information
  • Linus Pauling and the Nature of the Chemical Bond: A Documentary History Unrestricted Resource
    Easy to navigate website offers the biography of the chemist Linus Pauling and the history of the nature of the chemical bond. This website offers access to materials in different formats, e.g. audio, video, manuscripts and photos. Primary resources include correspondence between Pauling and other notable scientists of his time, e.g. Schrodinger and Heisenberg. Information regarding the research that led to Pauling’s 1954 Nobel Prize in Chemistry is highly browsable.From the Special Collections  & Archives Research Center at the Valley Library, Oregon State University.
  • Trailblazing: Three and a half centuries of Royal Society Publishing Unrestricted Resource
    A selection of historically significant papers by (mostly) famous scientists. Use the Timeline or Download the PDF and use the “find” function to search by scientist or keyword. 
Industry News
  • ACS Green Chemistry Institute Unrestricted Resource
    Promotes green chemistry and green engineering through news, teaching aids, and resources 
  • ChemistryViews Unrestricted Resource
    Supports content from “ChemViews Magazine”, a trade journal of ChemPubSoc Europe.   Searchable by chemical discipline or content category, with “ChemViews” articles, reviews and links to scholarly papers accessible through “News” tab.
Websites (By title, S-Z)
Student Resources