Classical Studies

All Items by Source

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.

Index/Search Tool

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A fulltext database of literary and philosophical works in Greek, spanning the time of Homer to the fall of Byzantium.
note: Users will need to register for a free account to access the full corpus.

Bibliographies

AATA Online: Abstracts of Conservation Literature
A specialized database focusing on Archaeology, art, material culture, technology and artifacts, and conservation. (Free website; Requires free registration.)
L’Année Philologique Restricted Resource Some full text available
Large and very deep database covering many aspects of Classical Antiquity; sources are in several languages. No full text. Also useful for Bible and Ancient Christianity; covers ancient authors and modern interpretations.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Ancient History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
( For advanced functionality, register and login. )

Web Sites

Archaeology Data Service
ArchSearch searches over a million archaeology records; Archives searches journals (including vols 1-50 of Medieval Archaeology full text), grey literature, websites, etc.; and under Teaching and Learning you can find items such as the Archaeology Image Data Bank.
Archaeology WWW Links – Classical Archaeology
A site by the Archaeological Institute of America with a useful battery of links to current digs, museums, and reconstructions.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Reviews of books related to the classical Greek and Roman period.
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
A Digital Library of Latin Literature.
Diotima: Women & Gender in the Ancient World
Diotima; as described, “Materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world.”
Guide to Classics Resources (at Drew)
By J. Lenz. This site contains a broad array of specialized and general links to all areas of Classical history, archaeology, literature, religion, and texts.
Internet Classics Archive
Large database of classical texts, fully searchable.
Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
An English-Latin, Latin-English dictionary from University of Notre Dame.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
“The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization."
Perseus Digital Library Some full text available Resource contains images
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Searchable texts, images, maps, some secondary materials.
Voice of the Shuttle: Classical Studies
Gateway site for classical language, literature, culture, and history.
Woodhouse’s English-Greek Dictionary
Searchable dictionary (English-Greek Dictionary: Vocabulary of the Attic Language by S. C. WOODHOUSE, 1910) hosted by the University of Chicago.

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: