Computer Science

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
note: To access articles, click on 
Proquest Computing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Computing related resources– 450+ titles indexed, 350+ in full text. Subject areas include Computer Science, Information Systems, Computer Security, Database Design, Software Development, Web Commerce: LANs, WANs, Intranets & Internet.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
Business Source Elite Restricted Resource
Indexes  important business journals, with full text for many of them.
MathSciNet Restricted Resource
Provides full text access, 1940-present, of Mathematical Reviews and bibliographic data in Current Mathematical Publications.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
note: To access articles, click on 
ArXiv.org E-print Archive Some full text available
Searchable collection of over half a million open access e-prints in math & computer science, statistics, physics, and quantitative biology.
Proquest Computing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Computing related resources– 450+ titles indexed, 350+ in full text. Subject areas include Computer Science, Information Systems, Computer Security, Database Design, Software Development, Web Commerce: LANs, WANs, Intranets & Internet.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Citation Styles

ACM Journals Style Guide
Complete style guides are available as .Zip files, but the standard citation style format is explained on the lower half of this web page.

Dictionaries

BCS glossary of computing and ICT Restricted Resource
Presents over 3,000 terms related to computing and information technology. Specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used. (In Credo Reference)

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Computer Science Restricted Resource
4th edition, 2004– through the ACM .

Web Sites

CiteSeer
“A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.”

CodeAcademy
An interactive site (free account signup is required) for learning and practicing the basics of Web coding languages including Javascript, PHP, Ruby, and Python, as well as web developer skills. You can practice these coding skills within the interface, without having to connect to a practice server.
Computer Science Bibliographies
Computer Science Bibliographies maintains a searchable collection of over one million references to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports, grouped by subject.
Computer Science Technical Reports
Access to a large collection of downloadable reports, including some PhD. theses, fully indexed by all words.
Computer Science: A Guide to Web Resources
Provides many excellent resources for researchers at all levels: Starting Points, Algorithms, Bibliographies/Technical Reports, Meetings and Conferences, Dictionaries, and much more. Compiled by SUNY Albany Library.

Computing Now
A news magazine and academic Internet Portal from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society.

DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
“Offers bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings,” articles, links to home pages of computer scientists. By Michael Ley, at Germany’s University of Trier.

EDUCAUSE: Campus Policies
Topic primer and links to computer-related policies from types of organizations (colleges and universities, municipalities, corporations, etc.). as well as policy related presentations, podcasts, etc. Searchable or browseable by organization name or policy type (acceptable use, privacy, security, etc). (EDUCAUSE)
Google Code University
Informative resources and tutorials for programmers and programmers in training. Resources on XML, Python, Linux, , C++, Java, web security, algorithms, and distributed systems.

IEEE Global History Network
Sources on the history of developments in computer science and electrical engineering.
lanl.arXiv.org e-Print archive mirror
Open access to 865,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics, owned and funded by Cornell University with partial funding from NSF.

MIT OpenCourseWare: Introduction to Computer Science and Programming
Free access to the spring 2011 version of MIT Professor John Guttag’s popular “Introduction to Computer Science and Programming.” For students with little programming experince, it teaches how to “write small programs that allow them to accomplish useful goals.” Includes lecture & recitation videos, handouts and slides, homework problems, self-assessment tools and collections of supplemental links.

Programmers’ Heaven
Gateway to over 17,859 links of value to programmers and developers. In addition to its main sections (languages, applications, platforms, and web development), it provides news, message boards, and mailing lists.

SciTech Connect
Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

TechXtra: Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing
Math and computer science articles, books, websites, industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, research, theses & dissertations, teaching and learning resources.

The Web Index
"Designed and produced by the World Wide Web Foundation, the Web Index is the world’s first multi-dimensional measure of the Web’s growth, utility and impact on people and nations."
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results:
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675