Drew Alumni Online Library - Sciences

Book Search
Search Library Catalog:
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results:
Online resources, environmental topics A-C
Agriculture
  • AgEcon Search Unrestricted Resource
    AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.
   
  • USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service Unrestricted Resource
    Agricultural topics segregated into subjects like Crops and Plants, Demographics, Charts and Maps, Environmental and others, providing information ranging from chemical usage on farms, producer demographics, and historical statistics reports (to 1936). Portal to the every-five-year Census of Agriculture. From the U.S. Dept of Agriculture.

Climate
  • Berkeley Earth Unrestricted Resource
    Global warming and related issues studied through analysis of data sets, including source data, intermediate data, and output data.  From a privately-funded group with U.C.-Berkeley science faculty participation.  
 
  • NCDC – Image and Publications System Unrestricted Resource
    The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
 
  • NOAA Climate.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Climatological data and analysis including climate predictions and historical analysis.From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
 
  • United Nations Climate Change Portal Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable reports (including the "Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change"), research findings, and other U.N. documents relating to global climate change.  Some documents available in other languages, e.g. Arabic, Chinese, French, and more.

Current Trends  
  • Resources for the Future Unrestricted Resource
    "Resources for the Future improves environmental and natural resource policymaking worldwide through objective social science research of the highest caliber."
Online resources, environmental topics Ge-
General Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Earth Unrestricted Resource
    Encyclopedia of Earth is a free, searchable, electronic, collaborative, peer-reviewed reference source produced by scholars and experts that aims to cover all topics about the earth and its environment. 
 
  • Knowledge Project: Ecology Unrestricted Resource
    Topics ranging from genetics and cell biology to ecology and environmental ethics.  “Ecology” is searchable at beginner, intermediate and advanced levels, covering subcategories evolution, population ecology, conservation and restoration, ecosystem ecology, community ecology, and more.  From Nature Education, a division of Nature Publishing Group. 
 
  •  
   
  • Visible Earth Unrestricted Resource
    Images of earth searchable by geographic region, satellite, sensor, etc., related to agriculture, land surface and atmosphere. Credit NASA if using images.

Geospatial and Geology
  • Geologic Atlas of the United States Unrestricted Resource
    The Texas A&M University Libraries provides online access to the U.S. Geological Survey, 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. 
 
  • Geoplatform.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), chaired by the Secretary of the U.S. Dept of Interior, and comprised of representatives from various federal agencies. 
 
  • USGS National Geologic Lexicon Database: “Geolex” Unrestricted Resource
    Excellent search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names of geologic rock units of North America.   Additional retrievable information includes unit’s age, location, extent, type locality, and history.  From the US Geological Survey. 
 
  • USGS National Geologic Map Database Unrestricted Resource
    Indexed maps and geospatial data (1880s-present) searchable on “themes” like geology, geophysics, marine geology, and selectable by state, county, map scale, and more.  Prominent “Help” button useful for effective searching. From the Assoc of American State Geologists and the U.S. Geological Survey.
Online resources, environmental topics D-F
Disaster and Toxicity information
  • ACToR Unrestricted Resource
    A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA. 
  • EM-DAT – International Disaster Database Unrestricted Resource
    "EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. " 
  • GOSIC Gulf Oil Spill Information Center Unrestricted Resource
    Think tank that champions adoption of ecological footprint instead of carbon footprint for individuals, cities, nations. Find statistics, calculators, internship and job opportunities. 
  • Resources on Oil Spills, Response, and Restoration A Selected Bibliography Unrestricted Resource
    2011 Bibliography on oil spills compiled by NOAA, with links to full text of many cited documents. 
  • TOXNET Unrestricted Resource
    Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Environmental Justice
  • EJView, from the Environmental Justice department of the US EPA Unrestricted Resource
    Formerly known as the Environmental Justice Geographic Assessment Tool, EJView is a mapping tool that allows users to create maps and generate reports using geographic filters and selected data sets. Demographic, health, environmental, and facility-level data are available for analysis as to their impact on human and environmental health within a geographic region. From the U.S. EPA.
Food: resources related to this subject
  • Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) Unrestricted Resource
    Under the the Food and Drug Administration, CFSAN’s role  is to assist in regulating, monitoring, and reporting on the safety of imported and domestic food and cosmetic products in the U.S.  Recent initiatives and other information provided under subheadings: “Ingredients, Packaging & Labeling”, “Science & Research”, “Guidance & Regulation”, and more are found here.  From the U.S. Food & Drug Administration.    
Fracking
  • FracFocus Unrestricted Resource
    Information about hydraulic fracturing (e.g. history of, basic practices, etc), without discussion of the risks associated with the practice.  Chemical data, including which chemicals are used and why, is voluntarily submitted by oil and gas companies. “Find a Well” function allows searches for wells active since January 2011 by state, county, operator, or by map. From the Groundwater Protection Council which is comprised of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (governors from oil and gas producing states) and select state-run groundwater regulatory agencies.
Online resources, environmental topics Gl-
Global Issues
  • European Union Institutions and Bodies Unrestricted Resource
    Links to EU units. Collected by  Berkeley Library. 
  • FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes Unrestricted Resource
    Info on more than 30,000 fish species.  
  • Global Footprint Network Unrestricted Resource
    Think tank that champions adoption of ecological footprint instead of carbon footprint for individuals, cities, nations. Find statistics, calculators, internship and job opportunities.  
  • Leveling the Carbon Playing Field Unrestricted Resource
    Report from the Peterson Institute for International Economics and World Resources institute, May, 2008.  
  • UNdata Unrestricted Resource
    A single entry point for UN statistical databases. 
  • World Bank Unrestricted Resource
    The World Bank provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. This site provides information about individual countries, current World Bank projects, and topical issues related to the organization’s assistance, including sustainability.  
  • World Bank – Open Knowledge Repository Unrestricted Resource
    "The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."  
  • World Heritage Centre (WHC) Unrestricted Resource
    WHC was created to encourage conservation and preservation of cultural and natural resources, both internationally and on a local basis. Website contains information about WHC’s activities and programs, including discussions about worldwide endangered sites and resources and about ongoing efforts to preserve global resources. From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).  
  • World Resources Institute Unrestricted Resource
    Access documents and other resources of this environmental think tank.

Government information
Online resources, environmental topics I-Z
Industry News  
  • EnviroLink Network Unrestricted Resource
    Features include a very current news section and links to Actions to Take, publications, and many types of resources, plus a search engine.
   
  • Yale Environment 360 Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable e-zine with Reports, analysis, opinions from the Yale University School of Forestry and Environmental Studies.

Marine Biology
  • NOAA National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable information about world’s oceans (including raw data, government maps, and digital historical documents) through “Ocean Archive System”.   From the National Oceanographic Data Center.
 
  • National Wetlands Inventory Unrestricted Resource
    An inventory of U.S. wetlands with accessible maps and statistical analyses of trends. Data are descriptive and downloadable by U.S. state. “Mapper” is online mapping and data display tool that shows the most current data for the National Wetlands Inventory. Other information includes latest  news about wetlands, website sections devoted to Wetlands Data, Wetlands Status and Trends,Wetlands Layer (National Spatial Data Infrastructure), and the Wetlands Mapper. From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Other Resources
  • Scitable Unrestricted Resource
    "A free science library and personal learning tool from the Nature Publishing Group." Topic sections on Cell Biology, Genetics, and Ecology, plus career advice, networking, discussion boards, blogs, etc. Users can also create online classroom and discussion groups.  
Wetlands
 
Online resources, natural sciences,topics A-C
Agriculture    Archaeology and Paleobiology
  • AMNH DSpace Digital Repository Unrestricted Resource
    Search for full text PDFs of results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology going back to the 1880s.​
  • eSkeletons Unrestricted Resource
    eSkeletons is an interactive environment where one can examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through an osteology database created by students and faculty from the Department of Anthropology at the University of Texas at Austin. Search by taxon, through comparative anatomy, and use the legend to decipher terms used to describe the images. 
  • Paleobiology Database Unrestricted Resource
    International researchers and institutions collaborate to organize information on the plant and animal fossil record.

Biodiversity
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library Unrestricted Resource
    Search by scientific name, title, author, subject for full text of books and papers digitized and provided by 12+ organizations, including Cambridge, Harvard, Cornell and the Smithsonian.
  • Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nations (BISON) Unrestricted Resource
    Limited information about species occurrences throughout the U.S. Searchable by scientific or popular species name or through interactive map. Other useful information can be “layered” with location, e.g. weather, soils, ecosystems and more.  From the U.S. Geological Survey.
Botany
  • Index Fungorum – Search Unrestricted Resource
    "The Index Fungorum, the global fungal nomenclator coordinated and supported by the Index Fungorum Partnership (Landcare Research-NZ and RBG Kew : Mycology), contains names of fungi (including yeasts, lichens, chromistan fungal analogues, protozoan fungal analogues and fossil forms) at all ranks."
  • Plant Information Online Unrestricted Resource
    U of Minnesota indexes plant images and text from books and journals. See Selected Links to Plant Info & Images for text and images that are freely available to users. 
Clinical research
  • Clinical Trials.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Site provides access to information on clinical studies involving human volunteers experiencing a wide range of diseases and conditions. Study results are provided by the lead person and are  updated during, or at the conclusion of the trial. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Online resources, topics H-I
Historical Information
  • AMNH DSpace Digital Repository Unrestricted Resource
    Search for full text PDFs of results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology going back to the 1880s.
  • Charles Darwin’s Papers Online Unrestricted Resource
    Access the full text of Darwin’s papers, given by the Darwin family to Cambridge University.
  • Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics Unrestricted Resource
    Digitized historical documents from the collections of Harvard University on diseases and epidemics.
  • Profiles in Science Unrestricted Resource
    From the National Library of Medicine. "This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health. It makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public through modern digital technology."​
  • Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable database of PDFs of full text of 600+ volumes on various species and topics. Note that Drew University Library has these in print or microform at SuDoc SI 1.27:xxx (where xxx is the volume number).
  • Trailblazing: Three and a half centuries of Royal Society Publishing Unrestricted Resource
    A selection of historically significant papers by (mostly) famous scientists. Use the Timeline or Download the PDF and use the “find” function to search by scientist or keyword. 
  • Wallace Online Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable collection of writings of Alfred Russel Wallace, Charles Darwin’s contemporary and fellow British naturalist, known for 19th century contributions to fields of evolutionary biology and biogeography.  Possible interest to environmental sciences,  natural history, and history of scientific practices.  From Dr. John van Wyhe, University of Singapore who’s published extensively on Darwin and Wallace.

Human anatomy and physiology
  • Cell Biology Animation Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
    Tutorial and animations of cell biology by John Kyrk, a graphic artist who is a biologist.
  • DNA Learning Center Unrestricted Resource
    Resources for learning about biotechnology and DNA. Also: "Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement," "DNA from the Beginning," "Your Genes, Your Health," "DNA Interactive and myDNAi," "Inside Cancer and Inside Cancer Teacher Center," "Weed to Wonder," "Learn About Spinal Muscular Atrophy," "Genes to Cognition Online," etc. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. ​
Online resources, topics L - M
Laboratory related Marine biology Medical subjects 
Online resources, natural sciences,topics D-F
Education
  • BEN portal Unrestricted Resource
    National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway for biological sciences education. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Endangered and Invasive Species 
  • IUCN Red List of Threatened Species Unrestricted Resource
    Find the status, geographic distribution, habitat, population, and assessment criteria for 60,000 species from all over the world using this search tool from the respected International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources.
  • National Invasive Species Information Center (USDA) Unrestricted Resource
    Invasive species information clearinghouse searchable by location, species, and more. Excellent “I want to...” section will answer most questions.  From the National Agriculture Library.
  • Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS) - USGS Unrestricted Resource
    Real-time data about occurrence and distribution of nonindigenous aquatic organisms in the U.S., focus on freshwater organisms and fishes.  Searchable by species, state/county, and more. From United States Geological Survey, U.S. Dept of the Interior.
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Unrestricted Resource
    Selective use of overflowing site will provide information about Fish and Aquatic Conservation (particularly Aquatic Invasive Species, with some details about populations, but not comprehensive and no photos), Endangered Species (detailed information about population locations, critical habitat, conservation plans, and more, but oddly no photos), and the Coastal Program (promotes and supports efforts to protect and remediate vulnerable coastal ecosystems). From the U.S. Dept of the Interior. 
  • World Heritage Centre (WHC) Unrestricted Resource
    WHC was created to encourage conservation and preservation of cultural and natural resources, both internationally and on a local basis. Website contains information about WHC’s activities and programs, including discussions about worldwide endangered sites and resources and about ongoing efforts to preserve global resources. From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
Environmental 
  • ACToR Unrestricted Resource
    A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA.
  • NCDC – Image and Publications System Unrestricted Resource
    The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. 
  • Pew Environment Group Unrestricted Resource
    Reports and news on the environment from the Pew Trust.
  • TOXNET Unrestricted Resource
    Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Ethics
Online resources, natural sciences, topics G
General reference
  • Biosciences– WWW Virtual Library Unrestricted Resource
    Comprehensive list of biology resources arranged by subject areas. Medicine and Veterinary Medicine links are included.
  • E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers Unrestricted Resource
    Full text of articles in science (especially physics) and technology.  
  • lanl.arXiv.org e-Print archive mirror Unrestricted Resource
    Open access to 865,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics, owned and funded by Cornell University with partial funding from NSF.  
  • Martindale’s The Reference Desk Unrestricted Resource
    Links to online resources on a wide variety of topics-- choose the science from the list.
  • NCBI Unrestricted Resource
    A national resource for molecular biology information, the National Center for Biotechnology Information creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information 
  • Scitable Unrestricted Resource
    "A free science library and personal learning tool from the Nature Publishing Group." Topic sections on Cell Biology, Genetics, and Ecology, plus career advice, networking, discussion boards, blogs, etc. Users can also create online classroom and discussion groups.
Geospatial information
  • Geologic Atlas of the United States Unrestricted Resource
    The Texas A&M University Libraries provides online access to the U.S. Geological Survey, 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945.
  • Geoplatform.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) 
  • USGS National Geologic Lexicon Database: “Geolex” Unrestricted Resource
    Excellent search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names of geologic rock units of North America.   Additional retrievable information includes unit’s age, location, extent, type locality, and history.  From the US Geological Survey.USGS National Geologic Map Database Unrestricted Resource
    Indexed maps and geospatial data (1880s-present) searchable on “themes” like geology, geophysics, marine geology, and selectable by state, county, map scale, and more.  Prominent “Help” button useful for effective searching. From the Assoc of American State Geologists and the U.S. Geological Survey.
Government Information
  • Data.gov Unrestricted Resource
    "Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
  • OECD Data Lab Unrestricted Resource
    Economic data collected for all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development members, as well as annual reports, best practices, newsletters, projections, working documents and more. 
  • SciTech Connect Unrestricted Resource
    Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
  • Science.gov Unrestricted Resource
    A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
  • Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable database of PDFs of full text of 600+ volumes on various species and topics. Note that Drew University Library has these in print or microform at SuDoc SI 1.27:xxx (where xxx is the volume number).
  • USGS Science Resources for Undergraduate Education Unrestricted Resource
    Selected government sites of interest to biology and environmental studies majors, including geography, geology, and water.
Online resources, topics N - Z
Neuroscience
  • Neuroscience Information Framework Unrestricted Resource
    Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Health and Human Services, and NIH Blueprint, this site offers neuroscience specific searching of primary literature (with links to full text when available), websites, and the hidden web.
Ornithology
  • All about birds Unrestricted Resource
    Useful resource that offers a Bird Guide, Bird Cams, Birding Basics, and more. Bird Guide is searchable by popular or scientific name, shape or taxonomy.  Information by species Includes identification, natural history, sounds, videos and a link to The Birds of North America Online. From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.
Primates
  • Primate Info Net Unrestricted Resource
    From the Wisconsin National Primate Center, the site is curated by the Lawrence Jacobsen Library staff and is "...designed to cover the broad field of primatology, providing original content and links to resources about nonhuman primates in research, education and conservation." ~from the website
Other resources
Taxonomy