BIO 150 Ecology and Evolution

Helpful information
Information about identifying scholarly articles can be found HERE. ~from Drew University Library
Databases
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it. Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
  • Citation Searching in Web of Science Unrestricted Resource
    Citation searching is a way to "look forward" from the starting point of a particular article. You may use this strategy instead of keyword searching to find more articles on the same (or similar) topics. 
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
  • How to access ScienceDirect articles Unrestricted Resource
    Detailed instructions about obtaining articles from ScienceDirect. Drew students can get "pay-per-download" ScienceDirect articles through the Library, either by Inter-Library Loan or using Library Chat. 
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A large general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications covering a broad range of subjects. Many full text articles available. 

Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching. Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
  • Searching Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
    Useful information about searching Google Scholar. Its strengths, weaknesses, features, and benefits can be found here. 
Citation help
Electronic citation managment
EndnoteWeb Unrestricted Resource
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
(Beware: No citation software is perfect--check your work!)  Instructions for EndNote Web
  • Go HERE to look for upcoming EndNote Workshops at the Library.
Websites 
Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide Unrestricted Resource
A handy reference sheet to check your Council of Science Editors (CSE) citation style for accuracy. (8th Edition)

Scientific Style and Format Restricted Resource
An authoritative reference for in all areas of science and related fields, including style instructions,  publishing procedures and citation practices. Includes citation quick guide. 

Reference Books 
Print

Lipson, Charles. Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Print .PN171 .F56 L56 2004

Drew University's plagiarism policy
Take time to familiarize yourself with Drew's policy on plagiarism.  CLICK HERE for a link to the "Academic Integrity" section of Drew's Student Handbook which contains a description of the plagiarism policy.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Get full text
Full text available 
Click directly to the full text if available in a database, or click on      to find the full text in another database.The Article Linker guide provides additional instructions for finding full text, either online or in print/microfilm format within the library.

Full text not available
Don't give up!  There are other ways to get the information you are seeking. 

InterLibrary Loan Unrestricted Resource
Request a book, article or other resource from a library other than Drew University's by logging on and completing request form. Registration required.
Questions?
Just ask!
 

Call

Email

Visit

Chat

Text

Margery Ashmun,

973-408-3483

 

Research Help Desk

973-408-3588

mashmun@drew.edu

 

reference@drew.edu

Make an appointment with Margery Ashmun or come to the Research Help desk in the Library when desk is staffed.

 

Research Help Hours:

9:00AM- 5:00PM, Monday-Friday;

6:00PM-10:00PM, Sunday-Thursday.

Use the chat message box on the

Research Resources page when the Research Help Desk is staffed.

Text:

973-241-5275 (973-241-5ASK)

when the Research Help Desk is staffed.



SLIDES