Economics

All Items by Source

Core Databases

EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.

Finding Articles

ABI-Inform Restricted Resource Some full text available
Massive business and industry database, including full text of the Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
Accounting & Tax Restricted Resource
2,300+ journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations etc. covering Accounting, Tax management, Auditing, Tax law, Financial law, Financial advising, Financial governance, Financial Risk Management.
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Business Source Elite Restricted Resource
Indexes  important business journals, with full text for many of them.
EBSCOhost Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Mobile Device Link for databases. Smartphone access to Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, PsycInfo, and ATLA Religion Database.
EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on national and international topics in Political Science.

Full Text Articles

Banking Information Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Industry and professional newsletters, School of Bank Marketing Papers, Stonier Theses, 360 full-text sources. Subjects: Banks & Banking industry, Banking law, Finance, Financial institutions, Financial services industry, Investments, etc.
Proquest Asian Business & Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. Includes: News and current awareness sources, Country information and statistics, People and institutions, Policy and analysis.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Supplements Business Source Elite, providing full text access to more than 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications)
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Newspapers

CBCA Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Canadian bibliographic full-text reference and current events database.  CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). 1,665+ titles indexed with 500+ periodicals and daily news sources full text.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research
From the Univ. of Connecticut Dept. of Economics, IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics available on the Internet. Provides access to many full text research items.

Dictionaries

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Print Location: HB61 .N49 2008
Considered the definititive, authoritative source for scholarly, signed articles in economics.

Dissertations

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
"Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use."

Encyclopedias

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ïnternational-scope reference on economic history, with short articles on people and longer ones on “markets, industries, and labor.”
Wharton Financial Institutions Center
From the Wharton Financial Institutions Center, associated with the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. The research focus is on primary research on financial institutions.

Government Information

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)

Statistics/Data

Data.gov
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
European Union Open Data Portal
"The European Union Open Data Portal is the single point of access to a growing range of data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union (EU). Data are free for you to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes."
Social Explorer Restricted Resource Resource contains images

Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.


Statistical Abstract of the United States Restricted Resource
A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States.  Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest.  Updated monthly.
World DataBank
Extensive data from the World Bank. Sign up required, but membership is free. A free web resource.)

Web Sites

Avalon Project
“The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. “
AgEcon Search
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.
BBC News | Inside Europe
Historical/organizational overview of the European Union. By BBC News. Offers time line of formation of the EU. Provides information on EU agencies, defines EU terminology, and features up to date discussions on relevant events and issues.
BEA – State BEARFACTS
Quick economic and demographic data for states, from the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

BIC - Bank Information Center
"The Bank Information Center (BIC) partners with civil society in developing and transition countries to influence the World Bank and other international financial institutions (IFIs) to promote social and economic justice and ecological sustainability. BIC is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization that advocates for the protection of rights, participation, transparency, and public accountability in the governance and operations of the World Bank Group and regional development banks."
BRB Free Public Records
The “most comprehensive directory of free public record sites, reference material, and public record vendors available.”

Brookings Institution
"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals: Strengthen American democracy; Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.”

Campbell R. Harvey’s Hypertextual Finance Glossary
Financial Glossary by Duke Professor Campbell Harvey.
Census Bureau Home Page
Offers a variety of data access tools, provides access to County Business Patterns, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Occupation by Race and Sex, USA Counties, International Trade Data, etc.
CensusScope
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.
Countries (EIA) with Country Analysis Briefs
From the Energy Information Administration, specialized country and regional energy-related information and data
Country Risk and Economic Research
"158 country evaluations, drawn up on the basis of macroeconomic, financial and political data, are made freely available."
County and City Data Books
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Deposit Rates Exchange
“Compare Interest Rates for Fixed, Term, Time and CD Deposits Worldwide”
Directory of Development Organizations.
Comprehensive directory of development organizations: “(1) international organizations; (2) government institutions; (3) private sector support organizations (including fairtrade); (4) finance institutions; (5) training and research centres; (6) civil society organizations; (7) development consulting firms (including references to job opportunities and vacancy announcements); (8) information providers (development newsletters/journals); and, (9) grantmakers."
Doing Business – The World Bank Group
Reliable full text free reports by international analysts, from the World Bank.
Dow Jones Global Index Analysis
Dow Jones Global Index Analysis provides brief performance analyses for ten market sectors and six regions. The analyses are based on 50 DJ indexes.
Economic Policy Institute
Nonpartisan think tank, focusing on needs of the American worker.
EM-DAT – International Disaster Database
"EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. "
EUROPA – Economic and monetary affairs
From the European Union. Access to official European Union policy and statistics.
European Union Institutions and Bodies
Links to EU units. Collected by  Berkeley Library.
EuroStat
All sorts of statistics about and from the European Union. Make your own data reports using their statistics database.
Everything International
Global business and country resources.
Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission Report
The report of the commission appointed to determine the causes of the financial crisis of 2008.
Foreign Exchange Rates Historical Search
Foreign Exchange Rates Historical – From the Federal Reserve Bank of New York
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
Archival economic and monetary data from the Federal Reserve.
Freedom in the 50 states
“This [2011] study comprehensively ranks the American states on their public policies that affect individual freedoms in the economic, social, and personal spheres.” From the George Mason MERCATUS Center
FTC – Bureau of Economics: Working Papers
Federal Trade Commission economics working papers.
Gapminder: Unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view.
Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries are web-services displaying time series of development statistics for all countries, "converting boring numbers into enjoyable, animated and interactive graphics."
Great American Business Leaders of the Twentieth Century
From Harvard School, a database to "identify and chronicle the lives of 20th century men and women whose business leadership shaped the ways that people live, work, and interact. "
HUD User
Reports and data compiled by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).
ILR Catherwood Digital Collections
Scholarship of Cornell ILR’s faculty and researchers and collections of digital material selected by the reference librarians and archivists at Catherwood library.
IMF – International Monetary Fund Data
The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty.
Data include financial stattics as well as region and country information. Check out the working papers and data by country.
Industry Snapshots from the Economic Census
Statistics on industries, subdivided by NAICS code, based on the Economic Census done every 5 years.
LABORSTA Internet
International Labor statistics of all kinds, from the International Labour Office.
MetroTrends
"Urban Institute’s report card on social and economic trends in urban America."
National Priorities Project
"National Priorities Project (NPP) makes our complex federal budget transparent and accessible so people can exercise their right and responsibility to oversee and influence how their tax dollars are spent."
OECD Better Life Index
"This Index allows you to compare well-being across countries, based on 11 topics the OECD has identified as essential, in the areas of material living conditions and quality of life."
OECD iLibrary
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development; locate data by theme, country, etc.
Office of United States Trade Representation
"The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) is responsible for developing and coordinating U.S. international trade, commodity, and direct investment policy, and overseeing negotiations with other countries."
Open Development
From the OECD
PAGE ONE Economics
"The back story on front page stories."
Penn World Tables
"The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2007." From Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences (CHASS) center at the University of Toronto.
PolicyArchive
"Digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research," from the Center for Governmental Studies
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
By an international group of scholars, a directory/database for scholary communication in economics. Both published and unpublished sources, along with contacts information, links, and a working paper archive.
Resources for the Future
"Resources for the Future improves environmental and natural resource policymaking worldwide through objective social science research of the highest caliber."
RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet
List of more than 1,000 sources organized by category. Under the auspices of the American Economic Association.
State Fact Sheets – USDA Economic Research Service
"State fact sheets provide information on population, income, education, employment, federal funds, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports, for each State in the United States. Links to county-level data are included when available."
State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
Through HUD. "The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs."
States Perform
“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
Statistics for Specific Industries | SBA.gov
Data about specific industries collected by the U.S. Federal Government, specifically selected for small business owners...
Study Finance
Fundamental of applied finance, in chapter format.
Tax Policy Center
"Analysis of current and emerging tax policy issues" from the Brookings institution and the Urban Institute.
TED: The Editors Desk

"Each business day, The Editor's Desk:

  • brings fresh information from all over the Bureau of Labor Statistics right to your computer screen or smartphone
  • highlights intriguing BLS data that you might otherwise have missed
  • focuses on one or two specific points of a report rather than presenting a general summary
  • provides links to further analysis at the bottom of each story"

Trade Monitoring Database - from the WTO
Trade Monitoring Database.
UBS dictionary of banking
Provided by UBS financial services.
UNdata
A single entry point for UN statistical databases.
USAspending.gov
“Have you ever wondered where Federal contracting dollars and grant awards go? Or perhaps you would just like to know, as a citizen, what the Government is really doing with your money.”
VOX
“VoxEU.org is a policy portal set up by the Centre for Economic Policy Research (www.CEPR.org) in conjunction with a consortium of national sites. Vox aims to promote research-based policy analysis and commentary by leading scholars. The intended audience is economists in governments, international organisations, academia and the private sector as well as journalists specializing in economics, finance and business.”
West Coast Poverty Center
"A hub for research, education, and policy analysis leading to greater understanding of the causes and consequences of poverty and effective approaches to reducing it in the west coast states."
Wirtz Labor Digital Library
The Wirtz Labor Digital Library contains both historically significant and current resources pertaining to labor, materials representative of the physical holdings at the Wirtz Labor Library, U.S. Department of Labor.
Women Working, 1800-1930 Resource contains images

“Women Working is a digital exploration of women’s impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University."
Digitized pages and images, manuscripts and personal papers, institutional record; cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and photographs.”


World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades, so you can see, for example, how “life expectancy at birth” has improved from 1960 up through the latest year.
World Bank – Open Knowledge Repository
"The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
World Development Report Online
From the World Bank.
World Development Report: Development and Climate Change
Full text of the 2010 World Development Report: Development and Climate Change from the World Bank
WTO Statistics Database
  • The Trade Profiles provide predefined information leaflets on the trade situation of members, observers and other selected economies;
  • The Tariff Profiles provide information on the market access situation of members, observers and other selected economies;
  • The Services Profiles provide detailed statistics on key infrastructure services (transportation, telecommunications, finance and insurance) for selected economies;
  • The Time Series section allows an interactive data retrieval of international trade statistics.

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480