Environmental Studies

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Finding Articles

Biological Abstracts Restricted Resource
Citations from over 4200 journals in biology and the life sciences, 1969-present.
Green Chemistry Restricted Resource
Journal that offers research on the development of alternative sustainable technologies, e.g. the design of greener and safer chemicals and materials, the use of sustainable resources, and the chemical aspects of renewable energy. ~from the publisher.
GreenFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )
MEDLINE Restricted Resource
MEDLINE® (1950-present)The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.  Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.  Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

Proquest Biology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Just under 400 Biology journal titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A large general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications covering a broad range of subjects. Many full text articles available. 
Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery, physics,chemistry and chemical engineering. Sample titles include: Green Chemistry, Molecular Biosystems,and Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics PCCP. Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Magazine, online, 1997-present.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Index/Search Tool

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
 

SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties. 

(Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 


note: Drew users only. Must register for SciFinder Account: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=AD704F6A-86F3-5055-1F7B-CD47B3C216E5

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Encyclopedias

eLS Restricted Resource Some full text available
Formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, "eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is an essential resource for students."
Encyclopedia of Evolution Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering evolutionary biology, including behavioral ecology and developmental biology.
Encyclopedia of Global Change Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering types of phenomena that change life on Earth. “General research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.”

Government Information

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)

Images

Photojournal: NASA's Image Access Home Page.
Provides search access to the Planetary Image Archive of NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory where images from past NASA exploration programs are stored and updated daily. Other searchable information includes the mission, spacecraft, or instrument. Select images of Earth depict geological and envrionmental changes dues to various factors. From National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Primary Sources

The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History Restricted Resource
A collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present. (~from the publisher)

Statistics/Data

Data.gov
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
NatureServe Explorer
Data source for information on plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, including rare and endangered species. Information includes scientific and common names, conservation status, distribution maps, images for thousands of species, life histories, and conservation needs. NatureServe is a non-profit organization whose mission is "to provide the scientific basis for effective conservation action". ~ from the organizations's website.

Web Sites

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Current headlines from Science news

Loading ...

Web Sites, Topics A-C
Agriculture
  • AgEcon Search Unrestricted Resource
    AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.
  • USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service Unrestricted Resource
    Agricultural topics segregated into subjects like Crops and Plants, Demographics, Charts and Maps, Environmental and others, providing information ranging from chemical usage on farms, producer demographics, and historical statistics reports (to 1936). Portal to the every-five-year Census of Agriculture. From the U.S. Dept of Agriculture.

Climate
  • Berkeley Earth Unrestricted Resource
    Global warming and related issues studied through analysis of data sets, including source data, intermediate data, and output data.  From a privately-funded group with U.C.-Berkeley science faculty participation.  
  • Climate Change Indicators in the United States Unrestricted Resource
    The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), along with other government agencies and academic institutions have compiled indicators related to the causes and effects of climate change in the EPA's report, Climate Change Indicators in the United States, available online and in print. Topics include: greenhouse gases, weather and climate, oceans, snow and ice, health&society, and ecosystems. From the U.S. EPA.
  • NCDC – Image and Publications System Unrestricted Resource
    The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
  • NOAA Climate.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Climatological data and analysis including climate predictions and historical analysis.From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
  • United Nations Climate Change Portal Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable reports (including the "Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change"), research findings, and other U.N. documents relating to global climate change.  Some documents available in other languages, e.g. Arabic, Chinese, French, and more.

Current Trends
  • Resources for the Future Unrestricted Resource
    "Resources for the Future improves environmental and natural resource policymaking worldwide through objective social science research of the highest caliber."
Websites, Topics D-F
Disaster and Toxicity information
  • ACToR Unrestricted Resource
    A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA. 
  • EM-DAT – International Disaster Database Unrestricted Resource
    "EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. " 
  • GOSIC Gulf Oil Spill Information Center Unrestricted Resource
    Think tank that champions adoption of ecological footprint instead of carbon footprint for individuals, cities, nations. Find statistics, calculators, internship and job opportunities. 
  • Resources on Oil Spills, Response, and Restoration A Selected Bibliography Unrestricted Resource
    2011 Bibliography on oil spills compiled by NOAA, with links to full text of many cited documents. 
  • TOXNET Unrestricted Resource
    Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Environmental Justice
  • EJView, from the Environmental Justice department of the US EPA Unrestricted Resource
    Formerly known as the Environmental Justice Geographic Assessment Tool, EJView is a mapping tool that allows users to create maps and generate reports using geographic filters and selected data sets. Demographic, health, environmental, and facility-level data are available for analysis as to their impact on human and environmental health within a geographic region. From the U.S. EPA.
Food: resources related to this subject
  • Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) Unrestricted Resource
    Under the the Food and Drug Administration, CFSAN’s role  is to assist in regulating, monitoring, and reporting on the safety of imported and domestic food and cosmetic products in the U.S.  Recent initiatives and other information provided under subheadings: “Ingredients, Packaging & Labeling”, “Science & Research”, “Guidance & Regulation”, and more are found here.  From the U.S. Food & Drug Administration.    
  • Fracking
  • FracFocus Unrestricted Resource
    Information about hydraulic fracturing (e.g. history of, basic practices, etc), without discussion of the risks associated with the practice.  Chemical data, including which chemicals are used and why, is voluntarily submitted by oil and gas companies. “Find a Well” function allows searches for wells active since January 2011 by state, county, operator, or by map. From the Groundwater Protection Council which is comprised of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (governors from oil and gas producing states) and select state-run groundwater regulatory agencies.
Websites, Topics G
General Reference
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library Unrestricted Resource
    Search by scientific name, title, author, subject for full text of books and papers digitized and provided by 12+ organizations, including Cambridge, Harvard, Cornell and the Smithsonian.
 
  • Encyclopedia of Earth Unrestricted Resource
    Encyclopedia of Earth is a free, searchable, electronic, collaborative, peer-reviewed reference source produced by scholars and experts that aims to cover all topics about the earth and its environment. 
 
  • Knowledge Project: Ecology Unrestricted Resource
    Topics ranging from genetics and cell biology to ecology and environmental ethics.  “Ecology” is searchable at beginner, intermediate and advanced levels, covering subcategories evolution, population ecology, conservation and restoration, ecosystem ecology, community ecology, and more.  From Nature Education, a division of Nature Publishing Group. 
 
  •  
   
  • Visible Earth Unrestricted Resource
    Images of earth searchable by geographic region, satellite, sensor, etc., related to agriculture, land surface and atmosphere. Credit NASA if using images.

Geospatial and Geology
  • Geologic Atlas of the United States Unrestricted Resource
    The Texas A&M University Libraries provides online access to the U.S. Geological Survey, 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. 
 
  • Geoplatform.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), chaired by the Secretary of the U.S. Dept of Interior, and comprised of representatives from various federal agencies. 
 
  • USGS National Geologic Lexicon Database: “Geolex” Unrestricted Resource
    Excellent search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names of geologic rock units of North America.   Additional retrievable information includes unit’s age, location, extent, type locality, and history.  From the US Geological Survey. 
 
  • USGS National Geologic Map Database Unrestricted Resource
    Indexed maps and geospatial data (1880s-present) searchable on “themes” like geology, geophysics, marine geology, and selectable by state, county, map scale, and more.  Prominent “Help” button useful for effective searching. From the Assoc of American State Geologists and the U.S. Geological Survey.

Global Issues    
  • Global Footprint Network Unrestricted Resource
    Think tank that champions adoption of ecological footprint instead of carbon footprint for individuals, cities, nations. Find statistics, calculators, internship and job opportunities. 
     
  • UNdata Unrestricted Resource
    A single entry point for UN statistical databases. World Bank Unrestricted Resource
    The World Bank provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. This site provides information about individual countries, current World Bank projects, and topical issues related to the organization’s assistance, including sustainability. 
   
  • World Heritage Centre (WHC) Unrestricted Resource
    WHC was created to encourage conservation and preservation of cultural and natural resources, both internationally and on a local basis. Website contains information about WHC’s activities and programs, including discussions about worldwide endangered sites and resources and about ongoing efforts to preserve global resources. From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). 
 
Government information  
  • Science.gov Unrestricted Resource
    A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. 
 
  • SciTech Connect Unrestricted Resource
    Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
 
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Unrestricted Resource
    Site facilitates access to technical data, regulatory material and compliance information, and the EPA policy line. Keyword and other search capabilities are provided.
   
Websites, Topics H-Z
Industry News  
  • EnviroLink Network Unrestricted Resource
    Features include a very current news section and links to Actions to Take, publications, and many types of resources, plus a search engine.
   
  • Yale Environment 360 Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable e-zine with Reports, analysis, opinions from the Yale University School of Forestry and Environmental Studies.

Marine Biology
  • NOAA National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable information about world’s oceans (including raw data, government maps, and digital historical documents) through “Ocean Archive System”.   From the National Oceanographic Data Center.
 
  • National Wetlands Inventory Unrestricted Resource
    An inventory of U.S. wetlands with accessible maps and statistical analyses of trends. Data are descriptive and downloadable by U.S. state. “Mapper” is online mapping and data display tool that shows the most current data for the National Wetlands Inventory. Other information includes latest  news about wetlands, website sections devoted to Wetlands Data, Wetlands Status and Trends,Wetlands Layer (National Spatial Data Infrastructure), and the Wetlands Mapper. From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Student Resources
   
  •  See description under General Reference.
 
  • Scitable Unrestricted Resource
    "A free science library and personal learning tool from the Nature Publishing Group." Topic sections on Cell Biology, Genetics, and Ecology, plus career advice, networking, discussion boards, blogs, etc. Users can also create online classroom and discussion groups.
   
Wetlands